We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Arusha Hotel for 2 nights, on our way too and from our safari. The hotel is very beautiful and have recently added a new section with more modern rooms. Our 1st visit we stayed was in the original part of the hotel. We would recommend staying in the original part of the hotel, the newer rooms are more modern but the drain in the shower wouldn't drain so there was water flooding all over the bathroom floor and into our room. Other than that the food was not bad. Not somewhere I would want to stay for a long period of time but for a couple nights it was good.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the original hotel, better quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IdiotsAbroad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 420 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Arusha Hotel is most famous for John Wayne staying there when he made the movie Atari.It has the old colonial, wood features with large chairs, fireplaces etc.
It is well situated in town, as the Clocktower indicating the centre of Africa was right outside the door in the middle of the round about. Hotel staff are extremely pleasant and professional. The pool ( al little dated) and fitness room are nice features.
Breakfast on the outside balcony was lovely, dinner was excellent. There are many small restaurants in and around the hotel. Markets are nearby but one has to be prepared to fight off the salespeople as you try to navigate the streets. The Hotel itself has several gift shops, coffee shops and a high end jewellery store right in the Lodge.
The gardens andpaths are lovely for walking.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel is on a noisy street that is very busy early in the morning, so requesting an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This beautiful hotel has been in business for over 100 years and seems to only be getting better. The staff were superb. The restaurant and bar are very clean and relaxing with a view of the well manicured grounds. There is even a garden where they grow fresh herbs and vegetables for their restaurant. The groundskeeper will be happy to walk you about and inform you on everything that grows on their property. I almost gave this review 4 stars, as the room that I stayed in on one of my stays here needed minor repairs. This room was in the building adjacent to the main building. The room that I stayed in on my subsequent visit was in the main building and was excellent. In the USA this can cost you a star. In Africa, if this is the worst that you can say, you are extremely lucky. Most hotel rooms in Africa have furnishings that are sub-par by American standards. Not so here. Excellent quality and detail from the marble tiled bath to the bedside iPod dock. A fun note is the bar here is where John Wayne spent many evenings relaxing and drinking during the filming of Hatari. There are photos on the wall. Note: I selected April 2012 as my travel date as that is as far back as the site would let me enter. I actually stayed twice, once in January 2012 and once in February 2012. I have only just joined Tripadvisor and I decided to review this earlier visit.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was easily the best value place we stayed on a three week trip to Tanzania. We had a suite room which had a large living area that faced the noisier road side and a bedroom facing the quieter garden side. A four poster bed with mosquito net was nice and comfy. All very clean.
Wifi in the room worked most of the time. The buffet breakfast was pretty good. The gardens were lush and the large pool and lounger area were much appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoolit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArushaArusha, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Hoolit

Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased that you found The Arusha Hotel to be of good value – we certainly pride ourselves as offering value for money and being able to deliver superior services in our small property steeped in the history of East Africa, situated as you mentioned in lush gardens that many of our guests regard as an 'oasis of calm' in the bustling city that Arusha has become.

I hope that you have opportunity to visit us again in the not too distant future and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

John Cowan
General Manager
gm@thearushahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at The Arusha after our climb to Kilimanjaro. We were two weary travelers after finishing out our climb who desperately needed hot showers, a good dinner and a soft bed. The Arusha Hotel delivered on all fronts. The check in staff were helpful in getting us settled. We needed a quick turn around on laundry as we were heading out on safari the next day. The hotel was able to accommodate our request and we had clean laundry back in a few hours. My only wish is we had an additional day or two to really relax and enjoy the facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Equinox03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Equinox,
Firstly congratulations on your Kilimanjaro climb. I confess I haven't yet done it yet, but hopefully soon! I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to look after you on your brief visit as you passed through Arusha. Our staff take great pride in assisting in whatever way they can and am pleased to hear that you were well looked after.
Come and visit again soon - there's so much to see in Tanzania. Karibu !
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very nice hotel in the centre of Arusha. Nice and spacious rooms, great breakfast. Friendly and helpfull staff, willing to go the extra mile for you. Great location and excellent startpoint for a safari into the Serengeti.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AniqueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Anique,
Welcome home. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that your safari was equally wonderful. The staff here work hard to make sure that all our guests are as well looked after as possible and they are always delighted when I pass on comments from customers such as yourself. Thank you.
Warm regards,
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel is Centrally located near the Clock Tower.and the main Business and city area.
Its a cosy nice place,
Charming chekcin on arrival.People and the staff are friendly.
The Dinner ala carte is also some nice choice of food.Breakfast well presented.Met an old friend at the hotel..The rooms are spaciuos and nice hot and big shower head ,Yuo just enjoy it.Flat TV ,Fruit basket and all your basic needs.They just need to fix a shaver socket in the bathroom.Nice A/C during warm times like now.But all in all i just love it and just enjoy the nice cup of coffee.

Room Tip: Chosse for a nice Upstairs room .Window Door facng the Mt.Meru side.Or the Delux Rooms they are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SumaKiwengwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear SumaKiwenga,
Thank you for your comments. The location is indeed as central as you can find in Arusha, with the clocktower being the famous 'half-way' point between Cairo and Cape town. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Many of the staff here have worked at The Arusha Hotel for several years and take great pride in their work. I'll be sure to pass on your comments at the morning meetings,
With regards to the faulty shaver socket, if it's not too much trouble, please let us know which room you were staying in, so I can have somebody rectify the fault.
info@thearushahotel.com
Warm regards,
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
630 reviews
0.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#8 of 45 in Arusha
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 45 in Arusha
103 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
472 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel

Address: Fire Road, Clocktower Roundabout | Corner of Uhuru Road, Arusha 00, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
#6 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: $182 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic hotel in the heart of Arusha boasting 86 elegant and sophisticated rooms. Facilities include restaurant, bar, lounge, gardens, gym, swimming pool, wireless internet throughout hotel, 24 hour room service, conference and banqueting venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing