We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do so much better...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The room size is not too bad if you stay in the original building but the noise from the road can be too much for a light sleeper. I believe the rooms in the new wig are much quieter but they are also very small indeed. The bed and linen was nice enough for a decents night sleep.

What is not so good...

The wifi is US$20 per 24 hours which is a little sleep seeing as a majority of clinst are one nighters only!

Not one TV channel worked, I managed to get snow storms constantly. Did not complain at the time as I was in for one night and arrived into the room well after dinner and left just after breakfast. There was also no back to the battery compartment of the remote.

Most irritating is that the air conditioing is set on the wall of the bathroom and aimed directly on the pillows. There was no remote control (the remote control holder is attached close to the headboard but is empty) even a though search of the room yielded nothing. There i sno control panel on the wall either. I ended up turning the machine off from the machine itself, even though it required a chair to do it. Thankfully not too hot, would have been a different story if it was January to March which is the hot season in arusha.

In all honesty stay at the Mount Meru, higher price bracket but much better in every way.

Room Tip: Stay at the Mount Meru!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chui101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for the points your raised in your feedback.
All guests of the Arusha Hotel receive free internet. When you are given a code to access the internet, the voucher has $20 written on it - as this is the price which is charged to non-residents. I am sorry that you were charged for the voucher as all hotel resident guests receive internet access free of charge. Without delving into circumstances, I can only surmise that our staff may have misunderstood. I want to rectify this. If you can email us directly with your booking information, I will ensure that you receive a refund for it in full.

Our 14 channel TV system is operated by Multi-choice DS TV. During your stay, Multichoice relaunched all their channels which lead to a disrupted service for commercial users such as the Arusha Hotel - which affected our decoders. This has all now been rectified and I apologize for the disruption during your stay and that you weren't made aware of the situation at the time.
I am sorry that these events affected your enjoyment of the hotel. If you care to contact us directly, I will be happy to make sure that you receive special VIP treatment on your next stay with us.
Again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 411 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

We arived in the evening in this hotel and we slept there for one night. It is good for one night but I would not like to stay there for a longer time. It looks very good but when you take a better look it is not that good at all.

Room Tip: Be sure you are on the side from the hotel where is no street. In front of the hotel is a very buisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your comments.
While am glad you enjoyed your night with us I was sad to read that you wouldn't necessarily stay longer with us - and I note your comment about being able to hear sounds from the street. This is only the case for street facing rooms in the main wing of the hotel. Set within the tropical gardens - is an executive wing, where all the rooms look out onto the tranquil landscaped grounds. Those executive deluxe rooms can be reserved for a small premium and you can be assured of hearing little more than bird-song if staying there.
In terms of staying longer, we have a range of various art events being showcased at the hotel on on ongoing basis - along with a new sculpture garden which will be in place by the end of October 2012. If you do return to Arusha, we'd love to welcome you back and show you some the new developments!
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Beautiful pool, beautiful rooms, beautiful Roses that take your breath away, Breakfast was lovely in the verandah - this hotel has a feel good factor and is very relaxing, there is some magic to it. I have previously had lunch here 4 years ago. Live cooking at breakfast with a superb chef making, fresh crepes, hot chapatis, and eggs. Maybe i can suggest is the housekeeper takes a little more care and spot checks a few things in the room, nothing majorly wrong, but thats just me as I was once a housekeeper...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mauyako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Mauyako,
Glad to hear you had a pleasant stay and thanks for your suggestion to keep an extra eye on the details at housekeeping. Noted! I hope you also managed to say hello to our resident cat 'Petal' - named after the abundant roses that are to be found throughout the botel and in Arusha itself! She now has her own facebook page - Hotel Cat.
Wishing you a pleasant weekend. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had a very pleasant experience in the New Arusha Hotel on our way from Ngorongoro to Mafia Island.
It is located in the center of Arusha town and has the quickest best in quality buffet lunch service. We had our lunch on the terrace facing the garden with the little swimming pool. Our room was facing the garden as well, which made all the town noise disappear and make you think you are staying somewhere in a country house. Best BEDS EVER. Seriously. I do care greatly for a good bedding and most importantly for pillows. Each of us managed to have 4 individual softest pillows ever.

There is a everything you need in this hotel:
Casino, Gift shop, Excellent coffee shop that has most delightful desserts and a Tanzanite Shop (Swala Gem Traders), pool and garden.

We've purchased our very first Tanzanite in this shop. The sales person was very knowledgeable and helpful in guiding us. We were offered coffee while listening to the history of tanzanite and while choosing our perfect gem.

Very positive experience in overall.

Room Tip: choose a room that faces the garden and try to get it in a 'new wing'. while shopping for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Am glad to hear you had a good nights rest with us and enjoyed the ambience of the hotel. I will also pass on your comments to Swala Gems - as I know they'll be delighted to hear that you are so happy with your Tanzanite!
I also hope you had wonderful time on Mafia island and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Arusha Hotel on your next visit.
Warm regards
Nick Ladd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We checked in around 11pm and spent a quiet night afer a long flight. Desk clerk was courteous and off we went to our room 704. It was larger than expected and had a balcony with a table and two chairs overlooking the pool. It was a distance from the lobby but the walk felt good after sitting for 19 hours. Buffet breakfast was not special but thanks to TA we knew to ask for omlets, non were offered. Met Paulo who offerd to show us the grounds, they were stunning. Checked out the Hatari bar where John Wayne hung out during the filming of Hatari. Very quiet atmosphere considering it is in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BXgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your comments. Those long, trans-continental trips can be exhausting so I am glad you enjoyed some good rest once you reached The Arusha Hotel. I have made a point of telling our food and beverage manager about having guests informed about having omelets etc cooked to order. So - thank you for that suggestion. Despite the dry spell, the gardens are still quite lush and the avocado trees by the pool are heavy with fruit. The passion fruit vines are also looking like they they will produce a rich bounty of fruit this year! We have just launched a live-music series at the Hatari Bar on Thursday nights - so on your next visit, we hope we can entertain you with sounds of the classical Spanish guitar and other styles as you enjoy your drinks.
Warm regards
Nick Ladd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I lived few years in Arusha for my work and stayed many nights at the New Arusha Hotel. This hotel is really good, really great location, the service was excellent and the room, especially the ones close to the swimming pool were really great. The breakfast included in the room was also amazing. The gym and the swimming pool were really great too. I would really recommend the New Arusha Hotel if you come for a business trip to Arusha or if you just stay one night before going to Safaris in North Tanzania!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the garden close to the swimming pool (if possible with a balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments and I am glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay at The Arusha Hotel and a great holiday overall! The gardeners who tend and nurture our three acres of tropical gardens will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the surrounds so much. The rooms in the new wing overlooking the pool gardens are Executive Deluxe rooms and can be guaranteed by paying a small surcharge. We do have rooms in the main building which also overlook the gardens - and we will always do our best to accommodate you in your preferred room location whenever possible.
Warm regards
Nick Ladd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel ensures that you take fond memories, home ! The best located hotel in Arusha. The beautiful gardens of the hotel are an excellent peek in to the vast virgin nature that beholds you in the oncoming safaris. The friendly team at the hotel complements its rich heritage. You could have some great coffee and conversations in the colonial styled lounge. The rooms are comfortably done up and spread over well landscaped gardens. Truly, the heart of Arusha !

Room Tip: Ask for garden facing rooms or rooms in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krish70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your kind words and your appreciation of the gardens. In fact as I am typing this response, I can hear the birds tweeting in the background - just beyond the office! We are just preparing to plant some more vegetables in the garden, so that we'll have an abundance of fresh produce to serve in the coming months at the restaurant. I will pass on your comments to our head gardener Paulo and his team. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Tanzania and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards
Nick Ladd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
94 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#10 of 42 in Arusha
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel

Address: Fire Road, Clocktower Roundabout | Corner of Uhuru Road, Arusha 00, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
#6 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: $159 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic hotel in the heart of Arusha boasting 86 elegant and sophisticated rooms. Facilities include restaurant, bar, lounge, gardens, gym, swimming pool, wireless internet throughout hotel, 24 hour room service, conference and banqueting venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing