We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and friendly staff”
Review of The Arusha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Arusha Hotel
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at The Arusha Hotel for our first night in Africa, everyone was very friendly, the rooms are small but decorated in a nice way. The only real criticism I have is that the shower and cubicle for the shower was very dirty. Other than that the food was good, the buffet breakfast was nice and the atmosphere of the hotel was good too. As we only needed to rest our heads this hotel was perfect, however if we had been looking for luxury this hotel would not have been the right one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weddinghunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Weddinghunter

Thank you for your review and for your kind comments on the food and service at The Arusha Hotel, we certainly believe that good food and service is at the heart of a positive guest experience and that we always endeavor to provide this to our VALUED GUESTS. However we also take pride in providing a high standard of cleanliness and comfort in our guest bedrooms, therefore it is of concern to read your comment on the dirty shower and cubicle! I would be very interested to find out which room you were staying as the only rooms with bathrooms having a separate shower are our executive rooms, which are by no means small. I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me on my email address below with further details so that I may address this issue and by return I can also tell you of our exciting plans for the near future.

Yours sincerely

John Cowan
General Manager
gm@thearushahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 392 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

2-3 star hotel pretending to be 5 star hotel! Main hotel renovated but noisy from the nightclub or street; room safe didn't work, forget the towels one day. Some front desk staff great (Sarah) others totally indifferent. Annex (500's rooms) is shabby. Expensive for what you get, nickel and dime you for everything else, even the hotel driver, Martin, tried to rip us off!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlielucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear charlielucky

It is of great concern to read your comments in your review of The Arusha Hotel. Firstly may I respond by saying that we certainly do not advertise ourselves as a 5* hotel. We are a 4* hotel that offers certain 5* services such as 24hour room service, 24hour food and beverage service in lounge and public areas and same day laundry services. With regards to your other comments I would greatly appreciate an email providing me with further detail so that I may address the issues that you feel fell short of expectations and by return I can let you know of our exciting plans for the hotel in the near future.

Your sincerely

John Cowan
General Manager
gm@thearushahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

It is a beautiful property, well located, has history (Hatari, with John Wayne, was filmed here), the staff is sweet, but it needs a serious make over. Could be much better. Regarding food, it could have a better a la carte menu for lunch, but the buffet is pretty good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbarabt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Barbarabt,

Thank you so much for your review of The Arusha Hotel. As you say we really do boast an exceptional location and iconic history within the setting of Arusha. The Hotel has been traced back to 1894, although occupying a few sites before coming to rest here in its magnificent mature garden.

I would be interested to know which room you stayed in so that I can personally check the issues that you had regarding a makeover. We are constantly reinvesting into the Hotel and I am sure you are aware added the executive wing a couple of years ago. In terms of the on going up keep of the hotel some rooms within the main building will be having a little facelift this year as part of our ongoing maintenance program.

We do strive to offer the very best facilities that Arusha has to offer. Thank you for your feedback regarding the a la carte menu offered throughout the lunch service. We do offer an extensive a la carte menu for evening service with a light meals menu offered 24 hours. Any suggestions of what you would like to see on the 24 hour menu would be welcomed.

Thank you once again,

Kind Regards,

Sarah Humble
Marketing Manager
marketing@thearushahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were 2 families consisting of 4 adults and 3 children. After a hectic Kenya and Tanzania safari trip we had our lunch at the Arusha Hotel before leaving for Zanzibar.
The Indian Chef Mr. Kamal Nagar had prepared great food including the chicken curry.
Absolutely amazing food and very courteous staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiteshManchanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Hitesh Manchanda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Arusha Hotel on Trip Advisor and I am so glad that you found our food to be of such an exceptional quality. We do strive to provide the best possible service within Arusha.

I do hope that you had a wonderful time on the coast and that your holiday went well.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Arusha Hotel on your next visit to Tanzania.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Humble
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The Arusha hotel is located in the very Center of the City. Sometimes its not good to stay in the very centre but I use to stay here due to the comfort of the hotel and classical style of the facility. I like it.

Arusha is a very busy town, and the traffic is terrible, so if you are moving around, better walk or take into account another 30-45 minutes when taking a taxi.

The hotel is very nice, a bit colonial style with a pool in the back and the rooms usually also good. In the past I have stayed in rooms which was not renovated that nicely.... bad finishing works, but this is not too big issue really.

The basement bar is cool, but the restaurant (again indian food) is boring. However, in Arusha there are plenty of nice places to eat, so that is not a problem. Book B&B here. Eat at Onsea house, Bay leef or the Dragon (Chineese).

Most of the guests here like elsewhere in Arusha is one-nighters either coming in or going for a safari, which make the reception area sometimes very crowded with bags, masaai carvings and safari guides...

The place is also like a meeting point in town, so it is a rather busy place. But still very nice. I will soon go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoZanzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night, prior to our flight to Nairobi & back to the states. Service was excellent, rooms & decor very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ObservingLocalSpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

A pylon in the traffic circle of this 19th century hotel marks the geographic center of Africa. The hotel has been thoroughly updated, and has a new wing (where we stayed) that is finished in dark teak or mahogany doors and blond floors. Room was gigantic by hotel standards, and exceedingly quiet. Bathrooms are very large, with shower and huge tub, all new. Bed is very comfortable, and comes with mosquito nettiing, which we used but did not need.

We had read of trouble with the internet, and wrote the GM, John Cowan, directly. He responded personally, and assured us the problem had been solved. We appreciated the attention, but we did have some trouble with the in-room wifi, so there is still work to be done. However, have stayed in Nairobi and Dar es Salaam on this trip, we had the same experience with the other hotels. (It actually looked as if the provider were the same.) We found that a hardwired computer in the front lobby worked fine for internet, and that the service in the garden restaurants also worked well (different wifi routers). The hotel has a garden and a pool in its interior courtyard; the gardens are beautiful, lush with tropical vegitation. Air conditioning worked very well and was exceedingly quiet. Not needed at the moment (March) as the temperatures are moderate. Supposed to be the beginning of the rainy season, but we have seen one scant, brief cloudburst, and that outside Arusha. Great time to be here. We have spent a lot of time in Massai villages. We were always greeted with warm hospitality. Their dress in layered strong colors and patterns is exciting to see, and unforgetable. Hotel was the least expensive of our trip, and a strong recommend. If you come, try using a local travel agent--there are many who run safaris. We found significant savings.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tvmnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 43 in Arusha
269 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
455 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 43 in Arusha
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arusha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arusha Hotel

Address: Fire Road, Clocktower Roundabout | Corner of Uhuru Road, Arusha 00, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
#6 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: $180 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arusha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic hotel in the heart of Arusha boasting 86 elegant and sophisticated rooms. Facilities include restaurant, bar, lounge, gardens, gym, swimming pool, wireless internet throughout hotel, 24 hour room service, conferencing and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arusha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing