We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm sure better alternatives are available”
Review of The Arusha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Arusha Hotel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Goa, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I'm sure better alternatives are available”
Reviewed March 15, 2011

The Arusha Hotel is the oldest hotel in Arusha, Tanzania and consequently exudes an old world, colonial feel. Its properly modernised with all mod cons but can not seem to make up its mind if it wants to be an old world colonial heritage hotel or a modern institutions. Food could definitely do with improvement as also the service in the bar and dining areas. The airconditioner in our room was not working properly and the tap in bathroom basin was at the point of falling off. In spite of a complaint nothing happened.

We stayed 2 nights prior to our departure on safari and the best that can be said is that its ok for 2 nights before you set off for bigger adventure.

It has a beautiful and bountiful garden - well worth investigating if you are into that sort of stuff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you for your review and we are very sorry that you did not feel that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. We are looking at the issues that you have raised and please accept our apologies that your complaint was not dealt with. We are a historic hotel, being the oldest hotel in Tanzania, so we are trying to stay true to our heritage whilst providing our guests with the modern standards that are expected today. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    145
    99
    31
    6
See reviews for
67
108
33
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Arriving at The Arusha Hotel on the 29th of December with 2 of my colleagues was a wonderful experience. I had travelled for over 10 hours from the UK and I was very pleased to be checked in so professionally and efficiently. All the staff made us feel very welcome from the minute we arrived by carrying our luggage to our rooms and offering us a glass of champagne at reception.

My room was very clean and spacious with a beautiful double bed that had been prepared for my evening arrival with a luxury chocolate on the pillow, mosquito net neatly wrapped and warm towels on the rail. I also had a stunning view of the hotel gardens and swimming pool at the rear which was a delight to look out onto every morning whilst listening to the tropical birds sing so eloquently.

The food was very good indeed throughout the day and consistent all week with an array of delightful menu options ranging from buttered chicken curry to steak and chips with a lovely sauce of your choosing to a fresh fish dish with all the trimmings. The service at the tables was always excellent, friendly and prompt.

Each day the ambiance of the hotel lobby was a delightful mixture of hustle and bustle and serene calm. A cool breeze would gently pass through from the main doors so when the sun was a little too hot in the middle part of the day, it was an ideal place to relax. With a cold beer or coffee in hand you could read the daily papers or reconnect with the outside world on the laptop via the hotels' wi-fi service.

It truly was a wonderful first trip to Africa which was only enhanced by our stay at The Arusha Hotel, which I will happily recommend to all my friends and family.

Chris Manning
www.thechrismanningprojects.co.uk

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Stayed here for two nights before safari, it’s conveniently located in the centre of town and approx. 45 mins from Kilimanjaro airport. The rooms were clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water, TV (nothing much on it) and excellent air con. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stayed here at the beginning of our safari trip through Tanzania and it was a very enjoyable beginning to our journey. It felt like an oasis amidst all the hustle and bustle in the center of Arusha. We enjoyed the pool that came in handy after a long trip getting to Arusha. Our room was really nice, clean and comfortable. The restaurant was pretty good, as was the Hatari Tavern. The overall atmosphere of the hotel was very relaxed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilsen_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

The Arusha Hotel was a nice place to get some sleep and do some shopping
The location is in the center plaza
The staff is really friendly and helpful
The room I was given was very quiet
The gounds around the hotel are nice. They seem to be working on the flowers and trees.
The restaurant has great food.
The shower had very hot water. The rooms trimmings seemed to be worked on.
Friendly and welcoming!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lajollacosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

When we stayed here recently we were originally given a smoking room (smelled like a pool hall) on a very busy street. After complaining we were switched to a much quieter room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Just a lovely place. Wonderful rooms, lovely grounds, great breakfast, helpful staff, safe, good internet (TZ standards, but you have to pay). Can't think of anything to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Usshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
551 reviews
0.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
916 reviews
0.7 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Arusha
253 reviews
11.7 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
3.7 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arusha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arusha Hotel

Property: The Arusha Hotel
Address: Clocktower Roundabout | Corner of Uhuru Road, Arusha 00, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
#6 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arusha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic hotel in the heart of Arusha boasting 86 elegant and sophisticated rooms. Facilities include restaurant, bar, lounge, gardens, gym, swimming pool, wireless internet throughout hotel, 24 hour room service, conferencing and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arusha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing