We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing place to start or end a safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
Ranked #19 of 156 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A relaxing place to start or end a safari”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

L'Oasis is about a 20 minute walk out of Arusha, which suited me fine as I didn't really plan to do anything in Arusha anyway. For me, L'Oasis proved a relaxing place to prepare for and unwind after a safari. The rooms were simple, but had some character and were comfortable and clean. They are set amidst some gardens with a fabulous bird called Henry who wanders about as if he owned the place. He was delightful. There is a nice pool area with deck chairs to lounge about in which was very pleasant and relaxing. The staff were mostly pretty good though service was a little patchy depending on the mood of the staff person. The breakfast served was reasonable - eggs of choice, baked beans, a couple of meat items (I'm vego so didn't pay much attention to those), fruit, yoghurt, cereal, juice, tea coffee. The restaurant was ok but I would have liked to see more healthier and more vegetarian options on the menu. Most of the dishes were fairly meaty and heavy. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and can recommend it, particularly if proximity to Arusha town is not a priority for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa_om1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    103
    50
    16
    3
See reviews for
36
85
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were nice and large, staff were friendly and helpful in organising a late check out for us on our last day, the grounds were very pretty and green and the pool is lovely and refreshing in the heat of the day.

My one gripe is the price of the beer/food, as its out of town there isn't an easy alternative. The food is reasonable but expensive (6,000 for 3 veggie samosas), but the beer (4,000) and particularly the water (an eye watering 3,000 for 1 litre) were the worst. I'd suggest buying some before arriving at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMiles2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a very short stay at this lodge but enjoyed the charming bungalows and friendly staff. This is not a luxury hotel but the beds were comfortable, the room large and comfortable and the bathroom had all that was needed for a nights stay after a long flight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binkybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in 3 differente room, and alll were perfect, not luxurious, but impeccable in there cleanlyness and Ambiance. The staff is friendly and reliable, still need some training, but very attentionned to our confort and our care. The lounge is a very nice place to relax and make some interresting encounter to learn about Safari, trek and what to do in the aera. Internet acces is fast and free which is a bonus. In all, it's a super place to stay and experience Arusha and the region. If your looking for super luxury , your in the wrong place, but if your looking for confort in a clean and confortable place with friendly staff, this place is for you. The price for the food(which is excellent by the way) and for the room are more than reasonnable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnatreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This lodge in suburb of Arusha is ideal for short rest after climbing to Mount Meru or Mount Kilimanjaro or relaxation after couple of days of Safari. We stayed in 3 different rooms/bungalows and in our opinion Bungalows in the front part of the garden are better than one near the kitchen.

Rooms/Bungalows are clean in properly furnished and stuff is nice.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms behind the kitchen. They are really noisy after the closure of kitchen as stuff i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XsiOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is located in a residential area at the end of a small dirt road. If you want go down to central Arusha I would say a taxi is your best option (cheap and easy to find).

We stayed in L’Oasis before and after our Safari and our Kilimanjaro hike, a total of three nights spread out on three differnt occasions. I think this is the situation for the majority of the guest and as such, the hotel offers all you need to relax before and after your adventures. There is a small but nice kept pool along with two different restaurants serving up good food and cold beers (not always a given in Africa). We tried both restaurants and recommend the lounge one by the reception.
The rooms are simple, but clean and with hot water and facing a small garden.

Best –All you need is readily available

Good – Staff friendliness

Not so good – Nothing

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSymmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a lovely little lodge with an excellent bar, restuarant and small pool. The owners and staff are good. We stayed in the large nicer rooms for the cheaper price as it was low season and these rooms were very nice (the rumours are the backpacker rooms across the street aren't so nice!). It's a bit far from town so it's a long walk or cab to Boma road etc, but if you want a nice little secluded place for a few days this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.5 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#7 of 104 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel

Property: L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
Address: PO Box 1908 | Sekei, Arusha, Tanzania (Formerly L'Oasis Lodge and Annexe)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 156 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy place with a friendly staff. Lovely garden. Great food. Perfect before and after your safari or Kili climb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Oasis Lodge And Annexe Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing