We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$115
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$280
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveler rating
52
110
55
17
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
110
55
17
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed heretrue oasislounge areahot waterdogs barkingmid range hotellate checknice poolsafari packagearusha citythe main roadkili climbnoiselodgehutsnetscomfort
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 237 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We stayed as at the L'oasis Lodge during March 2008 and we had an excellent time. The accomodation is wonderful (the room decor is amazing) as is the food (please try the squid). The Kilimanjaro nacho's are also very good.

The roaming birds (crowned crane, named Henry) are really impressive.

The staff are really friendly (make sure you say Jambo) as are the manager and his wife.

The recently renovated Lounge area is also excellent e.g. the furniture, food, drinks etc. Please try the local beers!

Mosquito nets are not needed, and I didn't use deet at all.

In summary, we had an great stay at L'oasis, the staff are friendly, the food is wonderful and the lodge is excellent.
Highly recommended, and great value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank freed0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

L'Oasis is truly an affordable oasis in Arusha. Once you get there via a horribly bumpy road you'll find a lush spot with some great amenities. We stayed there the nights before and after our safari and really enjoyed the pool and lounge area....we even did a hike of the nearby "mountain" and visited a neighbourhood church for Sunday morning service. The food at the lodge is quite good and I didn't find the wait particularly long as mentioned in other reviews. The rooms are comfortable and quaint...make sure to ask for a mosquito net because they're not provided otherwise. There are many animals roaming the property which is wonderful during the day, but by night they offer a cacophony of howls, barks and just plain noise. My best advice: bring earplugs for a good night's sleep. Mine served me well.

Stayed: February 2008
3  Thank BlissfulTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2007

I love this place and have stayed on several trips to Tanzania. The food has never disappointed me and the staff is terrific. I love the atmosphere too. The biggest (or only) drawback is the location: the road is terrible and it is a very noisy area: dogs, people, chickens- you name it, even though the lodge is within a walled compound. Still a favorite though.

  • Stayed: September 2004, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cloverd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

A very relaxing experience. This hotel has lots of small traditional huts that are its en-suite bedrooms.

The bar and pool area are really comfortable and great to just chill out. The food takes time but is well worth the wait!

The staff are all really friendly and always ready with a smile.

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank HappyTravels1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2005

The rooms are like huts all arond a green area full of exotic birds roaming around, the only problem is that the hotel is right behind a farm and the dogs bark ALL NIGHT LONG. Didn't get any sleep. The facilities in the room are basic and the installations are quite old and not very well kept. Also, if you decide to go beware that the shower works with an electric heating system that you have to switch on and wait for 30 minutes before you shower although this is common in Tanzania.

The restaurant serve delicious food both for dinner and breakfast.

6  Thank marujilla80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews