We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has potential but needs improving for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
Ranked #19 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Has potential but needs improving for the price”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

L'Oasis has green and quiet gardens that surround the accommodation areas.

It was a pleasant surprise to have booked the $50 option of accommodation but to be upgraded to a room with a bathroom which would normally be $100. The reception staff are friendly and helpful and the owners seem nice.

To be honest, if I was to have paid $100 for the room we were in, I would have been disappointed for the following reasons;

1) Rooms are tired and simple;
2) No mosquito nets on the strings in the ceiling;
3) Room looked out onto the main laundry area with curtains that didn't even fit the windows and no curtains in the bathroom so anyone could see straight in;
4) No safe in the room.

Breakfast is fine but the lunch and dinner meals and substandard and expensive, our nachos were like deep fried wonton wrappers with a no real salsa or cheese. My partners fish was frozen then burnt and our friends bean stew was merely baked beans with cheese on top. NEED A NEW CHEF GUYS!

Overall the place needs a good scrub and clean, the Lounge area is dirty with the same tissue and band aid still present under chairs for days where you eat dinner. Henry the resident Crowned Crane (bird) is an awesome addition but he goes to the toilet in the lounge area and on the unusable pool table next to the pool and the pool itself is dirty.

On return from safari, we ended up booking into another hotel called the Charity Hotel on the other side of town which was 65,000 THS (approx $40USD) with cleaner rooms and facilities and better food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    102
    50
    16
    3
See reviews for
35
85
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

L'Oasis has a great garden and peaceful atmosphere, apart from occasional interruptions from their crested crane, Henry.

We booked a backpackers room for $50 but were upgraded to a room with it's own bathroom. The room was basic but fine. We had a good nights sleep. The free wifi was great and sitting in the garden with a beer was great.

The only problem with the place was the food. We had a couple of meals here and they weren't very good. The pizza was passable but nachos (something you would think was hard to get wrong) were strange. We had fish one night which wasn't that fresh and overcooked. If they got the food right this place would be a winner.

It's a 6000TSH ride from the centre of town so not in a central location, but it is quiet.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samurai_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Staff are ridiculously friendly and polite.
Food is good. Breakfast is worth getting up for. Hot and cold stuff.
Great atmosphere. Relaxes you immediately.

Rooms are interesting, showers hot.

Only gripes, pay to use the pool, drinks were a little pricey.

Oh, and there's the hotel animals, big bird Henry and Skippy the dog. Amazing.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arusha
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Great place to relax by a pool and open-air dining-lounging area with a local feel of thatched roof and friendly people--for people who enjoy a more of local atmosphere than a 5-star Hotel Continental experience. Rooms have nice "Tanzania" and safari feel, are clean with own bathrooms (warm water), and are quiet night and day (when I've been there 3 times). Such nice, welcoming staff. Excellent wireless access. I booked online from the US and requested airport pickup and two nights' stay. I was unexpectedly held over mid-transit, would arrive a day late. I last-minute emailed L'Oasis Lodge from New York, explaining delay and asking if I could be picked up at Arusha air port a day later and cancel my reservation for that night. I didn't expect to get through, but LOasis wrote back within two hours, promising next-day air port pickup and one-night reservation cancellation. The next night at the airport, they were there--waiting for me to get VISA and customs (long lines) and were friendly and welcoming. all was well arriving late in a new country and getting to the Loasis past midnight, pitch black. My credit card was reimbursed for the first-night cancellation. When I go back now, the staff greet me and know my name and are so welcoming. (I'd emailed a couple times about glasses and a book left behind, and they always responded quickly and followed up). Can't say enough for this place I give 5 stars for comfort, quiet, safety, friendliness, simple rooms with warm water showers, wireless access and a comfortable, inviting, large open air place to lounge, have a drink and a meal and meet guests and friendly staff, read by the pool in surrounding gardens... (But this be thought of as rather cozy by and not what a 5-star Continental Hotel, high life luxury business kind of 5-star hotel traveler generally looks for???).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblemount, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

L'Oasis was mostly a good experience. The grounds are, indeed, lovely with lots of places to sit and relax. The lounge area inside is also very comfortable with big couches. Our room was fine, but nothing special. It was clean and the beds are in good shape about what you'd expect in the price range. Noise was a bit an issue. Our room was close to the employee housing and we could hear a lot of noise from there at night. Also, in the morning, unless you are a heavy sleeper, you will likely be woken up early by roosters, dogs barking and the Muslim call to prayer from the Arusha mosque at 5am (although this is likely to be an issue at many places in town).

Breakfast is included and was very good. Dinner in the lounge was just okay, but a fine option if you don't want to go out.

We spent one day walking around Arusha and walked into town from the lodge. It's about a 30 minute walk to the town center via neighborhood and busier roads. I wouldn't want to do the walk at night, but during the day it was just fine.

If you want someplace close to town, super quiet or luxurious, look elsewhere. Otherwise, L'Oasis is a very good option.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This place is pretty and atmospheric, with thatched, raised bungalows set in a beautiful garden that has a crowned crane stalking around — one of nature's most spectacular creations. We chose it because we decided to come at the last minute, and it was out of the bustling town center and has a pool -- wonderful for perking up the children and their dusty Dad. Immediately we felt that we were in tropical Africa. However, l'Oasis is really a garden island oset in the middle of a bustling roadside village, which, though hidden by tall grassed walls, can get pretty noise, we were told. However, we had a peaceful night. The bar is rustic; food and service average, front office not very competent, but, as almost always is the case in Tanzania, friendly, helpful, and charming. The place has character.

Room Tip: stay farther away from the common areas for quiet, and deeper in the garden because many report loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanZimSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Fantastic hotel. We arrived following a busy 5 day safari looking for a bit of luxury to spoil ourselves. Booked into the backpacker rooms - and L'oasis offered us the deluxe suite for the same price of $50 for the room. What a treat!

The elevated hut was great, with hot water, clean bathroom, double bed and fan. L'oasis is on a beautiful tropical property and is truly an escape from chaotic Arusha. Although the location of the hotel is a little bit out of town, and takes about 10 minutes from the town Centre, it is well worth the drive and taxi fare. "The Lounge" restaurant was quite on a Friday night, the food was delicious and the beers were cold! A perfect place to recoup after Safari!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms in the elevated huts are a real treat and something different. All rooms seem lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.5 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 42 in Arusha
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
132 reviews
1.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#7 of 101 in Arusha
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel

Property: L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
Address: PO Box 1908 | Sekei, Arusha, Tanzania (Formerly L'Oasis Lodge and Annexe)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy place with a friendly staff. Lovely garden. Great food. Perfect before and after your safari or Kili climb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Oasis Lodge And Annexe Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing