We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Guide & Outstanding Safari Experience”
Review of Shadows of Africa

Shadows of Africa
Ranked #3 of 274 Tours in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Day Safaris to Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tarangire National Park, Zanzibar Spice Tour, Bawe Island and Chumbe, Mangwapani Beach and the Slave Caves Tour, and Zanzibar by Night. Day Tours depart at 9 am. Shadows of Africa also offers tours in Kenya and Rwanda.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding Guide & Outstanding Safari Experience”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

What can I say? Shadows of Africa knocked it out of the ballpark. Even though I was booked into the "standard" package, most of the amenities and camps would fall into the luxury category IMHO. Our guide Timo really knew his stuff providing info such as life span, mating habits, predators, average height and weight and even unique anecdotes about everything from the smallest bird to biggest of the Big 5. He's a great animal spotter too -- there were times when we were scratching our heads thinking, "How did he manage to see THAT?"
Owner Natasha checked in daily via phone to make sure we were happy. Overall 10 out of 10. Would definitely book with them again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Man On The Lam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    10
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent safari experience with Shadows of Africa”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently returned from a four-day private safari which we booked through the shadows of africa. All I can say is that everything went perfectly and we're sad that we did not take more days. Organization was excellent, the owner Natasha has had the patience to answer all my questions, get all what we wanted. Our driver and cook were excellent. If you love to eat local food along the way tell the chef to purchase some local things and prepare :).

The car was in really god condition, you have AC adapter so u can charge your phone, camera, laptop...

Our guide knows everything, he take us to good spots and places to see the animals and we saw the big 5 plus much much more.... it was really an unforgettable experience.

Our conclusion: You can not choose a better agency to travel through East Africa. I guarantee an unforgettable experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristijan_croatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great safari with Shadows of Africa”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We've spent a great time in Tanzania/Kenya during December/January 2012/2013. It all started with 6 days safari with Shadows of Africa (SoA) - Tarangire, Ngorongoro, Serengeti, Manyara, and much more. The safari was simply - fantastic!

As of the company, services, and the car - all was perfect. The cars are all in a great conditions, with AC adapters inside, so that you can charge all the battery/notebook/phone accessories during the day. Our guide (Mussa?) was very kind, highly knowledgeable, and always open to any suggestions (early morning game drives, evening chats, ...), our cook (Pius?) was a master, the food was really excelent. The Shadows Of Africa owner Natasha was calling me every day, making sure all goes above our expectations. We've actually used SoA even for our next activities in Tanzania/Zanzibar, all went perfectly.

Safari - we've seen the big five, plus much more. Amazing moments! It was always important to have a good guide, they know the places, the good sposts, they tell you a lot of interesting things about all the animals. That all pushes the safari at a different level.

My conclusion - it was very important for us (1st time in this region) to have such a great contact/company right in Arusha. They helped us with everything, and it all made our trip to Tanzania to be the trip of our lives.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Rudolf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shadows a Cut Above”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Shadows of Africa created the perfect itinerary for my wife and I, when we decided to do a safari in Tanzania and Zanzibar. We could not have been happier with the plans they made, and the trip we had as a result! We travelled just the two of us with a guide and a cook, and although the price was very affordable, we felt we experienced the nature of Africa above and beyond our expectations.

Shadows stood out for us because they are a cut above the average African Safari company. We chose Shadows because they understood the modern traveller's needs, were listed in trustworthy places and had a good social media profile. This helped us determine how good their arrangements would be, and made us feel confident that we were paying for services we would really receive. Shadow's owner, Natasha, went out of her way to build our confidence in the company, and gave us payment options that worked for us.

All up, I could not give the company a stronger endorsement or recommendation! If you're going to East Africa, Shadows will design a great safari that meets your personal requirements.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Memorable Safari with Shadows of Africa”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I just returned from the four day standard Tanzania Express safari with Shadows of Africa and can not say enough good things about the memorable experience. We visited Tarangire, Serengeti & Ngorongoro and saw countless wildlife; hippos, lions, flamingos, hyenas and even leopards in a tree. Our driver was beyond knowledgable about each animal and the area. There was no question that could stump him, which just made the experience better. Plus, his keen eyes could spot things in the distance, that we could not see and he spent time to position the jeep in the perfect photo op location. The lodging each night was safe and individually unique. It was so nice to have a hot shower at the end of each day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank luckyannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shadows of Africa also viewed

 

Been to Shadows of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing