We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
179
12
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
179
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day safari stone town matemwe beach local community zanzibar island talking shower village home mara river african adventure ocean dive spice tour local excursions cheat sheet mobile tented camp staff meeting self sustaining safe adventure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 191 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2015

We are a retired couple from Manitoba Canada. From the first contact with Darryl and Shirley, they were immediately giving us options as to how they could help us enjoy Tanzania. After several emails we decided to book our vacation with them and are glad we did.
We immediately felt at home when we arrived, by them showing us their great hospitality. The view from their lodge is spectacular. Viewing Mount Meru and Mount Kilimanjaro when you step out of your room first thing in the morning. The sun set on the face of Mount Kilimanjaro is really fulfilling.
Darryl picked us up at the Kilimanjaro airport and started to make us feel comfortable by filling us in on the Tanzanian culture and different tour options that he had arranged for us.
The accommodations, meals and hospitality at the lodge were superb. All the arrangements for our sightseeing and safari trips were made by Darryl, including transportation, guides and accommodations. All were done with great detail and giving us flexibility for any changes that we would have desired.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsarusha, Owner at Dashir Lodge & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2015

So great to have you here and help provide a memorable experience of our beloved Tanzania!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2015

We are a family living in Tanzania and needed a base to get some business done in Arusha. At the same time, we wanted to enjoy our Christmas holidays. The hosts were welcoming, the tents were nice, the food was delicious and we were able to regenerate after our trips to town and enjoy the breath taking scenery. Our 2 year old son was able to discover the animals in the environment, which kept him happy. Interesting was the use of wind energy for electricity.

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Dan_da_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsarusha, Owner at Dashir Lodge & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2015

Very nice getting to know you and ease the mind and body after those hectic Arusha days. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2015

Darryl and Shirley are fantastic hosts who really know how to take good care of you! My sister and I work in Arusha and really needed a nearby getaway to relax, and Dashir was the perfect place!! The lodging is super comfortable (sheets so soft you can't believe it), the staff are very welcoming (every person makes you feel at home and makes sure to pamper you), and the food is perfect in every way (from taste to presentation, you feel like you're eating at a five star restaurant). My time at Dashir was amazing and I can't wait to go back again!!

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsarusha, Owner at Dashir Lodge & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2015

Thanks so much. Very happy to give you that much needed relaxation and renewal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2015

We are two Canadian girls who are volunteering in Arusha and came here for a weekend getaway. Right away we felt at home and were welcomed with open arms. Shirley's homecooked meals were amazing and all our cravings were satisfied. It is a very relaxing environment with beautiful views and a beautiful pool. The rooms were stunning - the bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was amazing. Darryl and Shirley are fantastic hosts and provide great conversation. We definitely plan on going back!

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kalene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsarusha, Owner at Dashir Lodge & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2015

Great to have you! Welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2015

Wow! You have to visit this lodge! Our family of four arrived at Dashir Lodge after 3 weeks of sightseeing at various national parks. We were tired! Darryl and Shirley welcomed us as if we were family. Any requests we had were addressed with expedience and care. The rooms were stunning with meticulous attention to details for our comfort. My 6 year old daughter asked if we could live there! Shirley is nothing short of a wonder with the meals she served us. I'm not kidding when I say that it was the best food we had on the entire trip. Wish I had her recipes! As we dined the stunning views of Mount Meru and Kilimanjaro kept us gazing at our surroundings...unreal! Darryl arranged for us to tour the nearby village (on foot), and have lunch with a local family. The hospitality of this family was heartwarming and our children received a true lesson in generosity in the face of adversities. Thank you very much Darryl and Shirley.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hueberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsarusha, Owner at Dashir Lodge & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2015

You are most welcome! Amazing how a simple meal with a local village family is right up there with guest trip highlights, and sometimes even topping the safari and Kilimanjaro experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews