We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3-day safari - A great experience!”

Galloping Safaris - Day Tours
Ranked #47 of 301 Outdoor Activities in Arusha
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Galloping Safaris is a Tanzania tour operator specializing in private and custom-tailored safaris with an emphasis on maximizing wildlife encounters through strategically designed itineraries and providing an unsurpassed level of service via personalized programs and expert guides.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3-day safari - A great experience!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 1/2 days on safari with Galloping safari in June 2014.

It was truly a great experience.

Our guide Osbeth was great and very nice to be around.

We stayed at 2 different places:

Tarangiere Lodge: Tented lodge located on the most beautiful ridge ever. A real shame we did not have more time to just sit and enjoy the views. Real fun to try and tents were comfortable despite my girlfriend is not a big fan of tents and the bugs that go along with it.

Ngorogoro Farm House: Giant rooms!, very clean and highly recommendable hotel. Quite a large place but very cozy feeling despite of this.

Walter, the local owner offered to pick us up at the airport which was very nice. He was very nice and responded quickly to our emails despite the fact that we reserved the safari quite late.

So all in all just a really great and highly recommendable experience!

A few minor improvement suggestions:

1.) The car we drove was a Toyota Landcruiser which is the same as all the other operators use. However it was quite beat up and we had a lot of trouble starting the car once we stopped to watch the animals. This was actually very disturbing and kind of messed up our second day. However it was eventually fixed (kind of).. Maybe it is just part of the game, who knows (TIA).

2.) In Denmark when someone offers to pick you up and do not indicate that this service is not part of the price paid, then it is considered very rude if the operator tries to charge money for it afterwards. We did not end up paying for the airport transfer but the fact that we even had to deal with it bothered us. Simple: If something is not included then clearly indicate the price before hand. Then awkward moments can be avoided in the future..

Thanks for a great time!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joachim140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic service and experience”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

One of my best friends and I had the pleasure of climbing Mt Kilimanjaro recently on a Galloping Safaris tour. Walter and his teams were fabulous - very well organised, professional and friendly, most importantly helping us get to the top - Thanks Mhina! The food was incredible, our guides and porters fantastic and whole event was thoroughly enjoyable and rewarding. We were also able to add a park tour on the end of our trip and Walter was a fabulous host and guide, very flexible in his approach to work with our time limitations and budget, going above and beyond to ensure we had a great trip our entire time in Tanzania. A huge vote of thanks to you all and I would thoroughly recommend Galloping Safaris.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
“The most amazing safari holiday”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We have just returned from a private safari for our family of 4 organized by Galloping Safaris. I planned the safari with Walter, the owner of the company. His suggestions and advice were invaluable in planning a fabulous itinerary that captured all the amazing experiences in Tanzania. From meeting us personally on arrival at the airport and then on departure the service was impeccable. Our guide Frances was very knowledgable on all aspects of the flora and fauna in the wonderful national parks. He went out of his way to locate the animals for us time and time again. This was very much appreciated. We had amazing experiences viewing the animals up close.

We had previously down a safari several years ago in the Kruger National Park which was also fantastic however our recent safari was even more incredible.

I would thoroughly recommend using Galloping Safaris. I did a lot of research prior to booking. Galloping Safaris offered by far the best value for money, spent the time developing an itinerary based on our interests and budget and the choice of accommodation and meals were also excellent.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank you Walter for helping us have the perfect honeymoon.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

From meeting us personally at the airport when we arrived and then again when we were departing, we were so well looked after. All the small things like going to the bank to collect smaller denominations of dollars for us as well as the airline office to pay for our checked in our baggage for our internal flights for us as there was an issue with the airline website. The excellent recommendation for our hotel in Zanzibar was much appreciated too as we had not originally booked this as part of our package.

Galloping Safaris place a very strong emphasis on quality, as evidenced by the guides chosen for both the Kilimanjaro trip and our safari. Mhina and Ari as well as Joseph the chef and all the porters made the Kilimanjaro climb a fantastic experience. The food was incredible so we always had plenty of energy every day, much needed for the trek up and down the mountain. I forgot to bring my sunglasses and Mhina kindly offered my his for the summit decline when the sun shines off the snow on the glacier.

I don't think there is a better safari guide in Tanzania then Ayubu. With 15 years of experience and a keen eye we were spoiled in our 5 day safari which included Central Serengeti, Northern Serengeti for the Wildebeest migration, Ngorogoro crater and Lake Manyara. Ayubu was also a fantastic driver, which really helped as we covered so much ground to fit everything in our limited time frame. He kept us entertained throughout with his hilarious stories and even took us to a local bar for a couple of beers towards the end of our trip, which was a very unique and enjoyable experience. The accomodation was incredible, from both the mobile camps as well as the farm houses we stayed in, I think they each different one was bigger then our whole apartment in London. We managed to see the top 5 and because Ayubu has such a good network of fellow guides built up, he was able to check up if there were any rhinoceros in the area, our final missing piece in the big 5, which we managed to see in Ngorogoro Crater. I would strongly recommend the Northern Serengeti to anyone who is thinking about a trip, the park was not that busy so we really felt like it was our own private safari the whole time.

Thanks again Walter and everyone else for delivering us the trip of a lifetime.

Shane

London

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank shane n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The best safari package!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a private safari for 2 organised by gallopping! It was just perfect:
Driver was COOL, with a good knowledge "biology", so we could have a lot of life explanations on wild living.
We had a lot of chance, and have seen all we wanted to see, so we really enjoyed the safari.
We spent 2 nights in a lodge in Karatu, which was just PERFECT: very good dining, very charming and pleasant rooms with chemney, and great service.
We had the opportunity to start some days at 6am, which was great as we were alone in the park.
If I have to come back for parks I haven't done yet, it will be definitely with Galloping!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherkax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galloping Safaris - Day Tours also viewed

 
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Galloping Safaris - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing