We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodge with serious security problems”
Review of Kigongoni Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kigongoni Lodge
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice lodge with serious security problems”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

The lodge is on really pretty grounds and the management couldn't be more friendly, but the first night we stayed here my parents room was broken into by 5 men carrying metal stakes. My mother was unharmed but my father was hit over the head several times with a metal stake. The men were in my parents room for about 5 minutes going through my parents' belongings and trying to hit my father and then were able to simply run away. The security guards who were supposed to be guarding the lodge did not show up until after the men had left. The management were very helpful the next day in trying to recover my parents' belongings, but they informed us that something similar had also happened in April. The lodge is really pretty, but I would avoid it until the security issues have been resolved.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpw1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanderHammer, General Manager at Kigongoni Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Dear

Thank you for the comments on the lodge and the surroundings. As you know, we really regret what happened to your parents.

Kigongoni Lodge is situated on a private 70 acre estate nearby Arusha. In the last 8 years we never had any security issues, and therefore our compound was still very accessible. Unfortunately we did have some incidents in the last months, with a climax the end of June when robbers forced themselves in to one of our cottages.

After the incident last month, we changed quit some things here for the better of the security.
We hired extra security guards from an external private security company. For the guards to raise the alarm quicker, we have installed extra alarm buttons around the cottages. Next to that we have constructed a patrol road around the lodge. Allong the patrol road ther now is a security fence so no one can come in anymore as via the guarded gate. We connected the fence to our alarm system, in case someone tries to come in an other way than the gate, the alarm goes of.

With all the security measures we implement we keep in mind that we don’t want to turn the lodge in a prison like area. Actually, as the lodge is on a hill, the new patrol path is a nice walking path as well, with astonishing views on Kilimanjaro, Mount Meru and the surrounded area. We sincerely believe we manage to make Kigongoni Lodge a safe place and keep the same nice and relaxed atmosphere clients (and we ourselves) appreciate so much.

With kind regards,
Sander Hammer & Claudia Verbraak
directors Kigongoni Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    50
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
39
50
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Don't think its worth the price. views aren't that great-obstructed by trees-cottage was not clean, musty smell, many bugs, spiders. Having security/crime issues.
Does have pretty grounds, good food.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Great location with views of Mt. Meru and Kilimanjaro.
Loved our spacious room. Excellent, VERY hot water and large beds.
Meals were good, too.
Loved the pool and bar area.
Some of the lodges can be very far downhill (which means a long and tedious walk back up to the main lodge). For those with limited mobility, make sure you ask for a nearby lodge. They don't seem to ask or check and see if the person they are checking in might be older, etc.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intlwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

This was our first bed after 8 nights in Kilimanjaro in tents. It was an oasis. Everything was perfect; peace & quiet, beautiful gardens, great food, and wonderful views. The staff was very friendly and everything was clean. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moabhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We arrived late at night in Arusha, the drive to Kigongoni was thrilling at night & the location was amazing. The lodge is of very good quality, warm welcome & good security. The feeling is of living in the middle of the forest, with mount meru as the panorama.
Food was average but the comfort & size of the room is definitely great!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain_Sabah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I was really disappointed after a long travel day to find the sheets on my bed stained. I don't think they were dirty, just stained. There were also holes in the mosquito netting. The room was adequate, nice shower.

There are many, many stairs to almost every room. Getting anywhere was quite a hike. Not for individuals with disabilities.

Staff really sweet and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxSooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Nice area to stop before starting your trip in Tanzania. Very quite, restful area to sleep before you start out and the great part is it supports teh childern's home as well. Rooms were clean, staff was very helpful and food was good. The smell of the rose houses were a nice surprise.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel071187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
5.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
572 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
5.1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
433 reviews
6.2 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
77 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 42 in Arusha
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kigongoni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kigongoni Lodge

Property: Kigongoni Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 11952, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kigongoni Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 11km outside Arusha and 40min drive from KIA. On an old coffee plantation, are 19 spacious cottages each with an own balcony/terrace and fireplace. Splendid views on Mnt Meru and Mnt Kilimanjaro. Perfect place to relax before/after a safari and Kilimanjaro climb. With an a la carte restaurant, diverse choice of wines, free WiFi, tranquil swimming pool, lush gardens and a lot of activities in the neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kigongoni Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kigongoni Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing