We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of real Africa, warm and generous atmosphere”
Review of Kigongoni Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kigongoni Lodge
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived from Sweden very late in the evening and got a warm and nice welcome. When wakening up next morning we had a very tasty breakfast from a friendly staff. The Lodge is situated just outside Arusha and was former a coffeeplantation (still in use, you drink their own coffee)
We enjoyed a day by the pool, flowers, green trees, birds, butterflies and the sight of Kilimanjaro made our day perfect.
The staff is extremely nice and service-minded, the food is excellent and you are given a choice of good wines to choose between.
The Lodge consists of a lot of small houses on a slope where it used to be coffeeplants, you have an excellent wiew of the mountains and the garden from every cottage. In every cottage you have a spacios room with a huge bed and a big bathroom.
We loved it and we will definately come back.

Room Tip: Perfekt som start på en safari!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 137 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you're looking for accomodation after a long flight and on your way to visit the national parks, don't bother with this one. You're probably better of having a regular hotel in Arusha.

Our room wasn't really clean, with lizard droppings al over the bathroom. Breakfast was probably the worst we had in Tanzania. Staff was friendly though, and the room was spacious.

The area is pretty nice, but we didn't get a chance to enjoy it because we had to leave for our safari.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tissa010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanderHammer, General Manager at Kigongoni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your time providing us with your valuable comments. We would like to aplogize for the inconvenience you may have experienced in our lodge.

After checking with our staff we find that you were changed to another room than you were originally located to. Normally the room always get a last inspection just before guests arrive. Unfortunately this was not done in your case. It is a pity you didn't mention the inconvenience to our receptionist, since we have 24hrs roomservice. And it could have been solved immediately. As you can see we get good comments on the cleanliness of our rooms. It is a high value to us.

Concerning breakfast: That morning we had a buffet (because of the big amount of guests) and everything was prepared and available. Please provide your concerns on this so we can work on that to prevent the same in the future.
We hereby kindly request you to advice us directly via e-mail on this.

Thanks for your friendly comments on location and our staff, well appreciated!

We look forward having you back again and are confident that on your next visit you will experience only the best comfort and highest level of services provided by our lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I went to Kigongoni Lodge to relax during the Christmas days and over new years. The place is beautiful located on top of a hill so you have a very nice view to the country and even Kilimanjaro.
The people working at the lodge are extremely nice and you feel very welcome from the beginning.
The rooms are also perfect and often you wake up to the monkeys playing in the area.
For sure a place I will recommend to other people who are looking for a nice place in Arusha to relax and enjoy some peace in idyllic surroundings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kilimani_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanderHammer, Manager at Kigongoni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Kilimani_dude,
Thanks for your review! Great you enjoyed your stay at Kigongoni Lodge. Thanks for your nice words for our staff, it is highly appreciated. Whenever your in Arusha again, Karibuni!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Kigongoni Lodge with its cosy but spacious huts scattered around the hilltop has a gorgeous view on the Tanzanian fields, and most impressive: The Kilimanjaro. The huts are decorated in African style, but with Western comfort of shower and bathtub with warm water, kingsize beds and veranda places. The Swimmingpool with its sunbeds is refreshing and the upper bar with fireplace a good alternative for the evenings.
I always love to visit this place with its friendly owners and staff, they make you feel home!
Once you're there, don't forget to make a visit to the clinic for handicapped children down the hill, managed by the owners of Kigongoni. It will be the most memorative experience of your holiday!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NienkeS156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lovely rooms and huge baths. Lovely landscaping. Lots of steps. if you are challenged by these, find somewhere else. Food was very good. very clean. Quiet-- we saw nor heard any children. Views were outstanding. Lots of beautiful flowers

Room Tip: Never saw small children but the cabins are far apart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueEyedBirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Kigongoni Lodge for one night before starting our safari tour.
The room was clean and equipped . It' s a very big room, with another area for shower or bathtub ( you can choose), and on the back you have the WC area. The decoration is very nice , very "African style", and the view goes on the parck ( but there are human activities-maybe plantations- so it does not give the idea of pure nature). The staff could be more friendly, especially at the Hotel reception, but in overall it was a good staff. The food was also very good, very nice restaurant area, terrace and pool. I would recommend this place for a stop-over in Arusha and for someone looking for relax and a clean and comfortable place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArcyJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The only reason why I find it hard to rate this place as excellent because we came here after staying at the Ngorongoro Farm House. If you are looking for Tanzanian charm this place is it. The rooms remind me of the flintstones with the rooms made of stone, nice large bathrooms with Hot Water.

The place is a little outdated but the grounds are lovely and the staff is fanstatic. Sander was very accomodating and had his staff take us for a walk to the market. Abu and Maria made sure we were safe and comfortable at all times and even gave us money to buy water since we did not have Tanzanian shilling when we walked to the market.

The views of Meru is spectacular when you are dining and the food was suprisingly delicious. We really enjoyed the pool area and as it was low season we pretty much had this lush 63 acre property to ourselves.

Thank you Sander and staff for a wonderful stay at Kigongnoni!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to the pool area as they have their own private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
5.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
604 reviews
2.6 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
455 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
6.2 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
90 reviews
5.1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kigongoni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kigongoni Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 11952, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: $144 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kigongoni Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 11km outside Arusha and 40min drive from KIA. On an old coffee plantation, are 19 spacious cottages each with an own balcony/terrace and fireplace. Splendid views on Mnt Meru and Mnt Kilimanjaro. Perfect place to relax before/after a safari and Kilimanjaro climb. With an a la carte restaurant, diverse choice of wines, free WiFi, tranquil swimming pool, lush gardens and a lot of activities in the neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kigongoni Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kigongoni Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing