We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Meru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Meru Hotel
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Victoria Falls
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Recently had a break and stayed at this hotel. Hotel very was very clean, comfortable and the staff were helpful. I was impressed with the standard in the rooms, very comparable with the best of hotels in South Africa and Kenya. Bed was comfortable, the air-conditioning perfect and the shower clean with adequate and decent guest supplies. However there is need for shower curtains to hold back the water from splashing into the rest of the room as one showers. I hope the management with look and attend to that

The Breakfast spread was fairly reasonable but as a fresh fruit lover only saw banana, pine apple and water melon. If only the hotel can do more in this area. Thankful though for the freshly brewed filter coffee which was welcome.Thank you also for the restaurant staff who were accommodating as we arrived in the breakfast room 10 minutes before they closed breakfast.

Overall this in a top business and leisure hotel in Arusha and we appreciated the service.

Room Tip: Ask for the superior rooms on the second floor overlooking the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    251
    89
    16
    10
See reviews for
94
126
28
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I'll keep this simple. I'm happy with a hotel if it's clean, there's hot water for a shower and the AC works. All these criteria were met by this hotel. Greatest asset was the staff. Very friendly and helpful. Only problem was the constant power outages, which isn't a hotel problem solely. However when power goes out at night it cuts off the AC and when power comes back on the AC doesn't. So you wake up hot and have to wake up enough to get it going again. This can happen two or more times a night.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lwood_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Lovely hotel, nice views and comfortable room. The facilities are lovely with a nice pool and comfortable sunbeds.
The hotel caters for mostly business travelers so probably not such a good choice for families with children. We stayed for 2 nights whilst on Safari and it was perfect for our short stop over. Restaurant was ok just quiet so lacked any atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodieDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Arusha is two things - a center of the northern Tanzania safari circuit with several national parks nearby and an international conference center for the East Africa region. The Mt. Meru Hotel is an exceptional property that is generally well maintained. Facilities - pool, fitness center, spa, business center, and meeting rooms - are excellent. Standard rooms are not cramped but neither are they spacious. An upgrade is well worth the expense, especially if there are two people staying in the room.

Rooms are generally well maintained and maid service, as well as evening turn down service is attentive. Beds are excellent and the housekeeping staff seems eager to please. Ironing boards and irons can be provided on request. As is true in much of the world it is necessary to use bottled water for drinking and tooth-brushing. The hotel is quite good about providing bottled water and larger bottles are easily available on the street for prices substantially lower than what the hotel charges.

If there is one inconvenience about the rooms, it is the showers. Hot water is abundant and shower heads provide a strong flow, but there are no doors or shower curtains on the shower stalls. This means that whenever you take a shower you need to plan on soaking a substantial portion of the bathroom itself. This can be managed with the judicious use of rolled towels to serve as mini-dams, and the housekeeping staff seems not the least perturbed by substantial amounts of water on the floor.

Never forget that you are in Africa. Despite the haven of apparent global hotel culture provided by the Mt. Meru, the bustle and the struggles of the real Africa is just outside the door. Poor outages, though generally brief, are frequent occurrences - on the order of half-a-dozen times an evening. The Mt. Meru also subscribes to the dreaded global hotel assumption that nobody reads or works in their room, resulting in a major commitment to the 25-40 watt light bulb. If I were staying here long-term I'd probably invest in at least one 100 watt bulb to install in the desk lamp! [NOTE: Electricity is 220v and plugs are the large block type with three large/wide flat pins.]

A breakfast buffet is included in the room price, and overall it is quite good, though obviously repetitive if you stay at the hotel for any length of time. An evening buffet is offered, but the coffee shop's limited menu is more reasonably priced. The biggest food service problem is extremely slow service, which is - I suspect partially a problem of insufficient staff coupled with limited training. Virtually all staff speak English but with varying degrees of fluency and comprehension, especially when speaking with native English speakers whose speech tends to be fast and slangy.

The Mt. Meru is on the fringes of central Arusha and many sites are within walking distance. Be forewarned, however, that sidewalks are largely non-existent and the shoulders of the road are rutted and muddy when wet. The hotel has drivers of its own and can easily provide additional taxis on request. Outside the hotel grounds there are many local taxis anxious to have your business, but it is usually better to use a car and driver that the hotel has cleared. They will also fix a price, which - while not cheap - is fair and not a rip-off.

Front office staff is generally excellent as is the concierge staff. There is a currency exchange available in the hotel lobby but no ATM machine. While there are some ATM facilities available on the street near-by, it is better and safer to use the ATM facilities at one of the major banks in the center of the city. US dollars can be used for almost any transaction, so you may want to bring a bit more cash than you would use in other parts of the world. A good tip, if you're going to be spending dollars is to bring a good supply of small bills. Current exchange rate is in the neighborhood of $1 USD = 1600 Tanzanian shillings.

Room Tip: There are two sides to this hotel yielding two quite different vistas. Rooms on one side face Mt. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is really a big hotel designed to hold large conferences and meetings. It is in general comfortable and clean, however I had a little issue at my arrival. First I was given a room that was already occupied, I entered the room (the key worked well) and noticed that the room was already occupied, luckily the person was not in there at that time, so had to go to the front desk and they gave me another room. The problem is that it seemed that this room was not completely cleaned and after starting to unpack I noticed the bathroom was not cleaned. It took a couple phone calls until somebody finally came with all the tools and sanitizing products to clean it. Until then it was a bit disappointing, but I stayed more than a week and the impression changed.
It is very comfortable place, with different options for dining. The food is OK, not great. The pizza place needs to be more consistent, one day the pizza is Ok, the other is not. However, the cooks and waiters were great. A couple days they allowed me to go into the pizza kitchen and explain the cook how we wanted our pizzas. On a different day, one botttle of wine was not good, and the conference coordinator Ms. Gaudencia Magessa, was so kind to not only to give us a bttle of wine as courtesy but also have a discount for the next day (by the way Ms. Gaudencia was great in all the conference and banquet details).
There is also a espresso bar, with a really good espresso machine, but what is more important, people who really knew how to make any type of coffee based drinks (cappuccinos, macciatos, etc)..really impressed.
The hotel has a wonderful view of Mount Meru...if you arrive at night and if your room is on the side of Mount, you may wake up to a wonderful view.
The staff is generally kind and helpful, although it seems they have a lot of people in training which sometimes are left alone working without supervision and that causes some issues (in particular in the restaurants with orders, bills, etc). One thing that we noted is missing in this hotel is an ATM...would help one int he hotel.
Overall had a pleasant stay and would not think twice before staying there if I'm back in Arusha.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Mount Meru -the view right next to the hotel from these rooms is not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rovaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

I went down with friends for the Easter break and was duly impressed ! We were checked in pretty quickly by very friendly and efficient front office staff.

We got two twin room which were a bit small for two but very well done. Room had a safe, tea / coffee tray and TV with cable ( which had a personalized welcome message on the screen when i walked in :-) Wifi worked very well almost everywhere in the hotel.

The garden was a charm - when it was not pouring and they have a decent pool served by the Tanganyika bar :-) They have very good food and the breakfast buffet was extensive.

Two things i would like to point out:

1. The gym is not manned and sometimes you would find kids running around. They also do not have a tread mill. Maybe they can replace one of the bikes ( they have plenty of those ) with a tread mill.

2.The glass pane separating the room and the bathroom is see through. While this is okay for single occupancy, it will not fly when two people are staying in the room, zero privacy. I did not understand that bit. Maybe find a swanky way to cover it up ?

Enjoyed the stay overall and would certainly recommend it !

Room Tip: Get those overlooking the garden as opposed to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetravel_buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed here for a week while 500 to 600 members of the International Association of Women Judges were in Arusha, about 200 of whom stayed at Mount Meru. From check-in, to restaurant services, to guest services, I got the impression that the hotel staff was over-taxed. Still, they were able to meet all of my needs in a very friendly, cooperative manner. The charges for services in the Business Center are, in my opinion, excessive - about US $2.00 per page for faxes and about US $1.00 per page for scanning and emailing. That annoyance was countered by the best deep tissue massage I have ever experienced anywhere in the world. I would stay at Mount Meru again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
3.5 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
11.1 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Meru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Hotel

Property: Mount Meru Hotel
Address: Nairobi - Moshi Road | Sekei Area, Arusha 2673, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mount Meru Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the place where heaven meets earth, where the rhythm of nature pounds to the beat of an African drum, and where life is all about a revival of the senses. Mount Meru Hotel is situated in the tranquil green area of Sekei, Arusha. The ideal location gives you panoramic views of Mount Meru on the one side and the Gymkhana golf course on the other. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you are invited to take delight in the breath-taking setting, lend your ears to the beautiful sounds of nature meeting civilisation, and touch the heart of Tanzanian highlife and luxury. The city centre and main business area are located nearby and Kilimanjaro international airport is just 50km from the hotel. Services: The Hotel offers a wide variety of business and leisure facilities with wireless internet connection throughout the Hotel. The rooms are an experience of understated African opulence, open space and natural light. The Hotel boasts 4 premier restaurants to tantalize even the most discerning guest’s taste buds. The main restaurant, Meru, offers guests buffet style meals. Fine dining at Duluti is based on a la carte international cuisine combined with local spices, an eclectic blend of tastes and fragrances! Named after Africa’s great lake, Tanganyika Pizza bar is created for you to enjoy a light lunch as you lounge around the pool. The ultimate indulgence at Arabica Coffee Shop is surely their cappuccino. They serve light lunches and a selection of delectable confectionery. You can end your day at the Mawenzi Cigar Bar whilst sampling some of Scotland’s and Cuba’s finest exports. Conference and Banqueting: A wide variety of conveniently sized, air-conditioned business facilities are available. The modern and equipped banquets rooms are perfect venues for meetings, seminars, cocktail parties, dinners and other functions. All conference rooms are fitted with their own sound systems, telephone and wireless connection. Secretarial services, photocopying and fax services are available, as well as spacious areas for breakaway groups. We can also arrange decoration music, lighting and entertainment. Special indoor and outdoor venues are available for high level meetings, cocktail parties and dinners. Mount Meru Hotel won the "Best Luxury Hotel 2011" and Tanzania Info Guide magazine presented this award at the Karibu Travel and Tourism Fair 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Mount Meru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing