We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable hotel.”
Review of Mount Meru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Meru Hotel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very clean and comfortable hotel.”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after our safari and found it be equal to any good quality hotel in the US. It looks like it has been recently renovated and has beautiful grounds and pool area. There were several restaurants and the food and service were very good. I don't think you will find a more comfortable hotel in Arusha.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank world_citizen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    255
    91
    16
    10
See reviews for
95
128
29
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights to attend event in Arusha and before going out on Safari. This hotel is very clean and comfortable but the service could use some improvement. The restaurant experiences were okay but food often took a very long time. We liked the pizza place the best! Beds are not huge, but comfortable. Views over Mt. Meru from one side of the hotel are also very nice. This is the perfect hotel if in Arusha on business or if you want the comforts of an international quality hotel similar to many chains. You can expect a good night sleep and don't have to worry about mosquito netting like other lodges/hotels in the area.

Room Tip: lower even numbered rooms look over Mt. Meru
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crenee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel for two nights during the international gem show. The hotel is my favorite place when in Arusha. It is my first point before looking for other hotels. This time around there was a small incidence with chicken wings which seemed to have started to go bad. With my sensitive stomach I had trouble during the night. Generally however, everything else was OK.

Room Tip: My favorite is always facing Mount Meru where you have a nice morning and evening view of the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godwin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at both the beginning and end of our safari. The hotel is very modern and could be a convention center hotel in any city USA. As stated by other contributors, the hotel is large, the grounds are extensive, the rooms are very comfortable. I would use this hotel again becuase it is comfortable and dependable. If you are looking for a more quaint or "local flair" hotel experience, then I doubt this would be that place. We were with a group of about 38 people and did use a meeting room the first morning. From all accounts the staff was helpful and all needs taken care of. The coffee was the best we had while in Africa! :)
We were allowed to leave our extra luggage while we were gone on safari which was a huge benefit. The meals are served buffet style and the food was ok. The hotel is an hour+ from the JRO airport so consider that time when making travel arrangements. The ride to and from the airport was our only opportunity to see what life in Arusha might be like as the highway is lined with shops/stands and people doing their daily business. I was grateful to see this little bit of culture even from the window of our bus.

Room Tip: On both occasions our room overlooked the pool and lawn. There is a local tree that has a gorgous p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonnative97317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed for two separate times within two weeks going in and out of Arusha. This hotel/conference center is a marvelous upgrade from the Novotel property it once was, meeting international 4-star standards with African flair in design and decor; it may be too little "local" for those seeking an African experience. With unlimited water and dependable electricity, western bathing and hygiene options, excellent food and welcoming staff, you almost don't know you are in Africa. Wooden floors can be slippery, room air conditioning took a long time to change the temp from 24 to 22 centigrade in one case, and was not effective after 4 hours in the other. Bed linens and towels are luxurious. Views from upper floors are expansive. The trip to/from Kilimanjaro airport (international) is over an hour long, but only 20 mins to the local airstrip if traffic cooperates. Shops are overpriced compared to the community, but .. this hotel is not of the community, it is of the international hospitality community.

Room Tip: overlook the pool (back of property)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baglady1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
400 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The grounds of Mount Meru Hotel are extensive and planted out to showcase indigenous succulents and other drought tolerant species. That, along with the fabulous views of Mt Meru made a very real impression on me.
Good birding within the hotel grounds excited me!
It was my first real taste of Safari, or "new Africa" architecture and aesthetics and although it is a big hotel complex, it manages to cater well for both the solo traveler and large groups.
I particularly enjoyed sitting on the terrace, meeting guests from all over the world. The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming!
Masai carvings juxtaposed against contemporary sculptures are a feature of the communal spaces and there are extensive shops, selling everything from tanzanite, the famous luminous azure stone, to an impressive array of souvenirs and postcards.
The hotel was hosting a large conference during my stay, but it did not detract from services and amenities available to other hotel guests.
Alongside the standard international fare, sits an impressive selection of local, traditional foods. I lunched on appealingly presented grilled fish, from Lake Victoria, with traditional ugali, cornmeal and salad. Delicious. And a fingerbowl, to rinse off any traces of fishbone smelling fingers!
That night saw our safari group's welcome dinner; a buffet. Although the quality was good, the food was not as hot as we would have liked, losing some of its appeal as a result. The wine list catered for all budgets, with a good range of local and imported wines to choose from.
My "standard room", was exactly that, and but for the views, could have been anywhere.
Staff were friendly and courteous. If anything, some were a little too anxious to please, as I found myself the sole user of the pool area and was soon overwhelmed by at least three on site bar staff. I felt a bit pressured to buy at least one drink, if only to make them feel like their services were appreciated and valued.
That said, for such a large hotel complex, the Mount Meru Hotel, made my stay, a pleasant and comfortable experience!

Room Tip: All rooms look out to Mt Meru.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fional943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Great amenities. Clean with wonderful service. Buffet is fresh and has multiple options. Stayed here before and after safari and loved the location and laundry service.
The bar is full service and the public spaces are nicely appointed and in many locations.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcdenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
910 reviews
3.5 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
1.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 41 in Arusha
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Arusha
251 reviews
11.1 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
11.0 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Meru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Hotel

Property: Mount Meru Hotel
Address: Nairobi - Moshi Road | Sekei Area, Arusha 2673, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Meru Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the place where heaven meets earth, where the rhythm of nature pounds to the beat of an African drum, and where life is all about a revival of the senses. Mount Meru Hotel is situated in the tranquil green area of Sekei, Arusha. The ideal location gives you panoramic views of Mount Meru on the one side and the Gymkhana golf course on the other. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you are invited to take delight in the breath-taking setting, lend your ears to the beautiful sounds of nature meeting civilisation, and touch the heart of Tanzanian highlife and luxury. The city centre and main business area are located nearby and Kilimanjaro international airport is just 50km from the hotel. Services: The Hotel offers a wide variety of business and leisure facilities with wireless internet connection throughout the Hotel. The rooms are an experience of understated African opulence, open space and natural light. The Hotel boasts 4 premier restaurants to tantalize even the most discerning guest’s taste buds. The main restaurant, Meru, offers guests buffet style meals. Fine dining at Duluti is based on a la carte international cuisine combined with local spices, an eclectic blend of tastes and fragrances! Named after Africa’s great lake, Tanganyika Pizza bar is created for you to enjoy a light lunch as you lounge around the pool. The ultimate indulgence at Arabica Coffee Shop is surely their cappuccino. They serve light lunches and a selection of delectable confectionery. You can end your day at the Mawenzi Cigar Bar whilst sampling some of Scotland’s and Cuba’s finest exports. Conference and Banqueting: A wide variety of conveniently sized, air-conditioned business facilities are available. The modern and equipped banquets rooms are perfect venues for meetings, seminars, cocktail parties, dinners and other functions. All conference rooms are fitted with their own sound systems, telephone and wireless connection. Secretarial services, photocopying and fax services are available, as well as spacious areas for breakaway groups. We can also arrange decoration music, lighting and entertainment. Special indoor and outdoor venues are available for high level meetings, cocktail parties and dinners. Mount Meru Hotel won the "Best Luxury Hotel 2011" and Tanzania Info Guide magazine presented this award at the Karibu Travel and Tourism Fair 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Meru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing