We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice international style hotel”
Review of Mount Meru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Meru Hotel
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice international style hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Newer hotel, very nice and modern and clean. Staff are nice and friendly and very attentive. I teased one as they kept removing my plates and utensils so quickly after I finished. I asked for a Cosmopolitan Martini which the lad did not know. I wrote it down and he took it to the bartender who made an excellent one. It was so cute to see the server bring it to me like a big prize; with a giant smile. Very enjoyable and relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    262
    93
    16
    10
See reviews for
97
130
29
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Mt Meru Hotel exceeded our expectations on every level. It is a modern, international style hotel set in fine gardens (with a pool) in Tanzania's principal northern city. It caters for a business and government clientele and conferences more than for the safari trade. The rooms are well-appointed and clean, if fairly small. Dinner and breakfast were both good, and good value. Service was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tosca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We checked in at the last minute for some "time out".
Really appreciated the great service. The staff were attentive but not overly so.
The evening dinner and breakfast were delicious!
And the rooms were very comfortable and quiet for being a city hotel.
We certainly recommend staying here while in Arusha.
Thank you all.

Room Tip: 6th floor - golf course side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Porini64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

the food here is icky. if you can stay at arusha coffee lodge, stay there. that is where i stayed after i came down Kilimanjaro and it was much cozier and had much better food and it was nice and quiet. this place is loud out front. i only stayed here one night however, so i don't know if i missed something here.

but it is a safe place if nothing else, and the staff is very nice.

Room Tip: the rooms over the parking lot are loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

All aspects were well done ... Warm reception, clean well equipped room, good food. The views over the grounds are lovely and there are many outdoor eating/drinking areas where you can lounge and enjoy the breezes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neriagechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have stayed at the Mount Meru before, but at that time was given preferential treatment as I was with a special group. This time, I was just as impressed - without the special treatment. Most staff (especially front desk and bar area) were helpful, courteous, and accommodating. I was given the late check out option, they organized for the airline shuttle to pick me up from the hotel at no extra cost, and they always had a smile on their faces - even at 2am. I opened my curtains in the morning and had Mt. Meru stare back at me, the sheets were white and crisp, and the hotel was busy enough to feel like 'fun' but empty enough to feel like a hotel and not a town plaza. My favorite thing about the Mount Meru is their love of space in the shared areas, which makes it feel pleasant and relaxing. My flight was at night, but I was able to hang out at the hotel (after late check out) and not feel like a loiterer.

A couple of problems: Food took waaaaay too long. A lunchtime snack took an hour to arrive, with no updates from the waitron. When it did arrive it was too salty, but we didn't dare run the risk of sending it back. Another issue was the spa. The hairstylist (and I use that term loosely) had his flatiron on 'high', I believe he burnt my hair, and he did things his way, not yours. The spa treatments, while overpriced, were lovely - though I did not get my full hour, I ended up with about 50 minutes, though the ladies were very friendly and professional. And finally, the taxi they organized for me to go to the craft market: The driver (his car had a Mount Meru sticker) had a "take it or leave it" attitude - not at all helpful. He charged me Tshs 20,000 for a trip that I'm told should have cost Tshs 10,000 (at most), and when I argued about the price he was ready to leave me to fend for myself in an area that clearly hadn't other taxis for me to take. Not how I would expect a guest to be treated.

All in all, a lovely stay... If they sort out a few of these hiccups, it'll only get better. I already had a favorite hotel in Arusha, but this one might soon take the 'number 1' spot.

Room Tip: Face the parking lot to wake up to a view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kachez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

At end of 15 day tour of E. Africa, including 11 lodges/hotels, we were given day rooms and a meal here at end of tour before homebound flights (airport 50 minutes away). We were very pleased with the room - nicely quiet -and facilities - air conditioning worked well, beds comfortable, shower great and pool/bars/restaurants well serviced. Grounds lovely and is adjacent to golf course. Power did go out twice while there, but that seems common in Arusha. easily the best lodging we had in e. afica, including several Serena lodges and the Stanley Sarova in Nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
945 reviews
1.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 42 in Arusha
72 reviews
3.5 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 42 in Arusha
382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 42 in Arusha
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Meru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Hotel

Property: Mount Meru Hotel
Address: Nairobi - Moshi Road | Sekei Area, Arusha 2673, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mount Meru Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the place where heaven meets earth, where the rhythm of nature pounds to the beat of an African drum, and where life is all about a revival of the senses. Mount Meru Hotel is situated in the tranquil green area of Sekei, Arusha. The ideal location gives you panoramic views of Mount Meru on the one side and the Gymkhana golf course on the other. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you are invited to take delight in the breath-taking setting, lend your ears to the beautiful sounds of nature meeting civilisation, and touch the heart of Tanzanian highlife and luxury. The city centre and main business area are located nearby and Kilimanjaro international airport is just 50km from the hotel. Services: The Hotel offers a wide variety of business and leisure facilities with wireless internet connection throughout the Hotel. The rooms are an experience of understated African opulence, open space and natural light. The Hotel boasts 4 premier restaurants to tantalize even the most discerning guest’s taste buds. The main restaurant, Meru, offers guests buffet style meals. Fine dining at Duluti is based on a la carte international cuisine combined with local spices, an eclectic blend of tastes and fragrances! Named after Africa’s great lake, Tanganyika Pizza bar is created for you to enjoy a light lunch as you lounge around the pool. The ultimate indulgence at Arabica Coffee Shop is surely their cappuccino. They serve light lunches and a selection of delectable confectionery. You can end your day at the Mawenzi Cigar Bar whilst sampling some of Scotland’s and Cuba’s finest exports. Conference and Banqueting: A wide variety of conveniently sized, air-conditioned business facilities are available. The modern and equipped banquets rooms are perfect venues for meetings, seminars, cocktail parties, dinners and other functions. All conference rooms are fitted with their own sound systems, telephone and wireless connection. Secretarial services, photocopying and fax services are available, as well as spacious areas for breakaway groups. We can also arrange decoration music, lighting and entertainment. Special indoor and outdoor venues are available for high level meetings, cocktail parties and dinners. Mount Meru Hotel won the "Best Luxury Hotel 2011" and Tanzania Info Guide magazine presented this award at the Karibu Travel and Tourism Fair 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Meru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing