We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis of Calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

We stayed here in Room 25 for just the one night in late December. As we were to discover during our Safari with Roy Safaris (excellent) it was a typical Serena property in that it was comfortable, clean, secure with good food and mostly good to excellent service. Our "Rondavel" # 25 was a distance from reception with only a garden outlook. The Rondavels are grouped in a circular formation of about 10 per group so some near the entrance pathway had garden views and some others had a presumably lovely view of a very scenic & pretty lake. If that sounds like you ask on check in for a view of the lake. At other Serena propertys we asked for "a room with a view" and were always given one.

On arrival here the carpark which is outside the gates is extremely dusty with a very fine white dust - if you don't want your luggage plonked down in it ask for the bellboy to carry it the short distance to the paved entrance gates. We didn't & the packs were so dusty we had to end up brushing them off outside the room. Just a small point but an avoidable situation.

The main reception building is like a very large, grand old colonial house & is beautiful inside & out with a well maintained lawn sloping down to the lake. What a nice location to have a G & T before dinner to watch the sun go down!

The meals here are all good as is the service. There was a slight hiccup with the service at breakfast, when we were there it was a bit chaotic & we didn't receive exactly what had been ordered however this can happen anywhere.

The rooms are spacious & clean with very comfortable, huge beds. The bathrooms are large with a big shower and good (not excellent) water pressure. There are plenty of opening windows to get some fresh air but remember to close them before dusk unless you want to share the room with a mozzie or two.

This lodge is very near the Arusha National Park & this is why we stayed here after our day in the park. There is nowhere to walk from here so if you want to go exploring or to have a look around Arusha this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    197
    40
    5
    4
See reviews for
83
187
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
199 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

Stayed here one night (1st) of 9 day Tanzania safari immediately after long (16 hours with delays and no luggage) flights from Rome to Kilimanjaro. My first reaction was - Oh, no! - as we turned off the main (paved) road leading to Arusha into a maket area and onto a very rutted, bouncy road to the Lodge. BUT... arrival at the lodge was a pleasant surprise. It has a colonial ambience with nice gardens - a view of a lake ( I saw no view of a mountain - so I still do not know the origin of the lodge name). We were greeted immediately and given towels and a fruit drink and keys to individual cottages. The cottages were very clean ( in contrast to some 2007 reviews on Trip Advisor), with a very large bathroom, cable TV, and a firm comfortable bed. We traveled with another couple and while our room had a workable ceiling fan - I found it necessary to use it - our friends only had a wire hanging from the ceiling where the fan should have been.
The food was OK - it was all buffet style - and we found it overcooked or cold. It was certainly edible but not of the quality we had at other lodges in Tanzania. We only stayed here the first night and it appeared there were many people just staying one night - either at the start or end of their Tanzania stay. It is a fine place- price was included in our package so I do not know the actual cost per night. It is convienient to JRO airport ( 40 minutes) and a more than adequate place to spend an over night. I would do so again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

It is a lovely hotel - just like what I'd seen in the movies. Great rooms in private houses, a lovely dining room in a stately looking mansion, and incredibly lush grounds. We were all blown away!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelai7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

The hotel is situated overlooking Lake Duluti about 12 Km from town. It is about 1Km off the highway so is very quiet. The grounds are nicely landscaped. The rooms are large, bathrooms also large and nicely appointed. Showers are nice, although the showerhead in my room didn't work all that well but the water was good and hot so I didn't care. One especially nice touch is that the mosquito netting encloses the bed area, not just the bed so it is possilbe to move around the bed after shutting the netting.

Food is very good in the restaurant. The bar is well stocked, and the service is excellent. All staff is very well trained and extremely friendly without being pushy.

This is a typically well run Serena property. Very highly recommend it. It is expensive compared to other Arusha hotels, but well worth it.

  • Liked — Size and cleanliness of room
  • Disliked — Speed of Internet connection
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank xbioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

We stayed at the Serena Mountain Lodge for one night before embarking on a safari. It was a lovely place (an old coffee plantation supposedly) and a great place to relax after a long trip to Tanzania.

The main house (with dining room, bar, reception, etc) was very pretty while the rooms were terrific...all spread along an overlook to lake Duluti. Our room was incredibly clean and comfortable.

This hotel has a lovely lawn to sit, relax, and enjoy a book.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

We only spent a single night at the Mountain Village Lodge after arriving in Tanzania. The hotel has an interesting colonial feel.

We arrived late in the evening, the staff was very welcoming and check-in was quick.

The room were in good shape and very clean. There are some good views of the lake, especially from the main house.

We two fantastic meals, breakfast and lunch at the lodge before departing the next day for safari.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raggasoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barlaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

This lodge is very much a transit lodge with stays of just one night on the whole - the main house has that wonderful air of faded colonialism - comfy squashy sofas with slightly faded carpets and open fires - we loved it. We arrived late - were given hot towels and a drink, booked in swiftly, baggage delivered in a flash and food still being served at 11pm - we found the rooms more than adequate (good mozzie nets and spray) with well appointed bathrooms and good quality fittings and fixtures. All the rooms appeared to overlook the lake which we would have liked to explore but time did not permit and the management will not let you out of the grounds unless accompanied for personal safety reasons. We left the following day after a fabulous lunch - a longer stay would have been most welcome!

  • Liked — Staff and the location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
5.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
6.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
3.9 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Duluti Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Property: Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 2551, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Duluti Serena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the heart of a traditional coffee estate in the majestic environs of snow-capped Mount Kilimanjaro, the exquisitely appointed Mountain Village Lodge offers heady views over verdant tropical forests, cool mountain walks, a wonderful array of wildlife, roaring fires and superlative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Duluti Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Village Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing