We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a league of their own!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Ranked #4 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In a league of their own!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

It was a six star experience,the Hotel is tastefully decorated,with beautiful grounds,spotlessly clean rooms, sumptuous meals and a delightful and friendliest staff in the world.The general manager Gerald and his assistant Godwin are personally involved in every aspect of hands on management,absolutely brilliant!!!My family got the best attention and care anyone could wish for and made our holiday truly special.We will certainly recommend the Hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake,great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cate702014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    198
    42
    5
    4
See reviews for
84
188
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I wish we had been able to stay more than a couple of nights at this property. Accommodation is first rate and the staff are genuinely happy to be there Nothing was too much trouble. Afternoons are perfect to take tea or a couple of gin and tonics on the lawn as you watch a myriad of bird life swoop from tree to tree. Beautiful location and convenient to the local markets, which are a treat. NOTE: If you are flying PRECISION AIR either into or out of Arusha don't be surprised if you end up at Kilimanjaro Airport instead. It happened to us TWICE on the whim of the pilot!!

Room Tip: Once you are in your room you would never know there are other guests. I doubt that there are any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregtrevGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is between the Kilimanjaro airport and Arusha, next to a slightly dirty part of town but really in a great spot overlooking a lake. It makes for a perfect stopover, or longer stay if you want to spend some time in Arusha. The rooms were clean and comforatable with plenty of space. The staff was friendly and attentive even when we arrived late from our flight. The resturant is also quite good and located in the impressive main building. One of the staff showed us around the wooded property, which is filled with cool plants, and quiet and secluded despite being only a short drive from town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Resort is in between and 45 min from both Kilimanjaro Airport and Aruja Airport (regional flights) and very convenient for a stop-over before or after your safari. Lovely gardens and well appointed villas in local design, overlooking Lake Duluti. Team is friendly and helpful, food good (buffet style) and all very clean. There is not much to do and unless you have a driver it's best not to venture on your own into the countryside or to the nearby village. Can recommend the resort as a relaxing and pleasant place to stay

Room Tip: they are all quite similar and the walk to the main building is pleasant event if you are a bit furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dagmar2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed just overnight on our way to Tarangire Ntl. Park and a safari trip. Arriving via Daressalam we were picked up at Kilimanjaro Airport by simba Safari Tours - great Organisation by the way.The Hotel is nestled in a qiet Garden plantation style. The little huts are spacious and clean, in some you have a nice view over a little lake.,
We had a great diner in the main place, where you ll have free w lan also.
a good place to stay in the Arusha Arera.
Very friendly staff ! Great breakfast !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMagnifique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Very beautiful hotel up on. Mountian a haven of calm and serenity away from the hustle and bustle of Arusha. Lake Manyara National Park is very near.You can also view across the floor of the Great Rift VLley. The hotel was very beautiful clean . Lovely staff. We were vegetrians but we had no problem at all , chef was sp coming to us & was cooking what we liked. They even make
Our masala ginger tea every morning. It was my husband' s 65 the birthday & we were given lots of surprises in the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pushpa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We have stayed there just one night, service was top top. it was our first night of a family trip to Tanzania and this was great place to begin our trip. The garden of the hotel is very nice with beautiful trees and flowers, rooms are very big and comfortable. And the service of the team was top top. Food was also good with good choices. We really enjoyed and we recommend this one if you stop in Arusha.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNIGHT_WEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
5.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
421 reviews
6.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
919 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
6.5 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Arusha
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Duluti Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Property: Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Address: Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Duluti Serena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the heart of a traditional coffee estate in the majestic environs of snow-capped Mount Kilimanjaro, the exquisitely appointed Mountain Village Lodge offers heady views over verdant tropical forests, cool mountain walks, a wonderful array of wildlife, roaring fires and superlative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Duluti Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Village Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing