We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No reason to stay there” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
143 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“No reason to stay there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is the place where I believe many of the safari operators will put you for the firts night of your safari. It makes me think that the operators have some deal with this accomodation because there is absolutely no reason to stay there, as there is nothing around.

The place itself is quite nice with individual huts, nicely decorated and with private backyard. There are many flowers around so the ambience is nice. That being said, the place is 40km from Arusha and there is absolutely nithing around. So you are being dropped there for no reason and stuck for hours while you could have gotten by that time to your next destination where actual safari starts. I felt that being there was a total waste of money and waste of time.

We wanted go to the town and we were told that a driver will take us for $60, which really is outragous. You are forced to eat in a so so hotel restaurant, well because, there are not other options unless you want to pay $60 for a taxi.

Again, the place itself is not bad but if you are paying for a safari they put this as part of the safari and it really isn't. You waste a day on being stuck at this place, which I really did not appreciate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    195
    40
    5
    4
See reviews for
81
185
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
253 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stopped here for lunch on our last day in Tanzania. The property and the lodge is so beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ester94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed here before and after our safari, beautiful grounds and the staff really couldnt do enough for us! We have visited this lodge before and remembered some of the staff from our previous visit. Goodluck the duty manager was so sweet, I mentioned it was my mothers birthday and when returned from our safari he made sure we had rooms with brilliant views, fruit bowls and even got my mum a gift and a card. Thank you so much for making our short stay truly special, hope to go back again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollycoop85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

A peaceful oasis in the middle of Arusha, can't imagine a much better place to stay there. Very nice, clean, nice views, good views, but not the type of place that will amaze you. A good place to spend a night recovering from jet lag.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaFlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was a lovely place to mark the beginning of our honeymoon. We had a fantastic welcome on our arrival - staff were attentive and warm, typical of all the Tanzanians we met on our holiday. The main building, an old coffee plantation house, was impressive and beautifully kept - the gardens were lovingly tended and full of interesting plants and flowers.

The buffet lunch was really good and hugely welcome after the long trip. We broke through the tiredness barrier and went on the hotel's afternoon guided nature walk around nearby Lake Duluti seeing a variety of birds, insects and reptiles to get our safari holiday off to a great start - our guide was very knowledgeable and filled us in on local culture as well as wildlife during our walk.

Rooms were very comfortable with lovely garden and lake views - everything we needed was right there and we would have been happy to stay longer than the one night. Buffet dinner was sumptuous and the restaurant had a very nice atmosphere. The staff excelled themselves and also laid on an early breakfast for us before our dawn departure.

All in all, a lovely hotel where we felt safe and welcome throughout our stay - would definitely come back (soon we hope!).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hetmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
208 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

The Serena Mountain Lodge was booked as part of our Tauck safari in Tanzania. We were there on the night we arrived and for a day room on the day we left. Tauck picked us up at the airport and took us to the Serena the night we arrived. It was after dark so we couldn't really see the facilities and grounds, but the greeting was excellent and the service prompt. The rooms were quite spacious and well maintained. The beds were hard, but that seems to be the norm in Tanzania. The shower was excellent and lots of nice hot water.

In the morning, the buffet breakfast was excellent. Be sure to ask the waitress for anything you don't see on the buffet as custom cooked eggs were available.

Our second stop was the last day of our trip as a day room to shower and repack for the trip home. We also had an early dinner before going to the airport. Dinner is a buffet for salad with soup, main, and dessert being from the menu. The buffet has a nice selection of fresh salads and vegetables and we were assured by the tour guide that everything was save to eat. (But don't drink the water anywhere in Tanzania). I had the chicken soup, roast pork and chocolate mousse cake. All were very good with the cake making it to excellent.

I would have given it all five stars if there had been air conditioning. It was warm while we were there. If it had been really hot, like it is sometimes, AC would have been necessary.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to have a view of the gardens and the lake beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Nice room in individual 'Boma' hut set in lovely grounds of old coffee plantation. Staff attentive and nice colonial style lounge for G&T etc. A good place to either recover from flight or after safari.

Room Tip: Get a room in the first or second set of Bomas as you are then nearer the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
5.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
6.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
3.9 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
1.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Duluti Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Property: Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 2551, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Duluti Serena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the heart of a traditional coffee estate in the majestic environs of snow-capped Mount Kilimanjaro, the exquisitely appointed Mountain Village Lodge offers heady views over verdant tropical forests, cool mountain walks, a wonderful array of wildlife, roaring fires and superlative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Orbitz so you can book your Lake Duluti Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Village Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing