We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime experience : but do repeat it frequently”

The Station Tanzania
Ranked #17 of 112 Restaurants in Arusha
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Diner, Indian, Portuguese, Cafe, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Relocated to Njiro - Same family styled dining, sale of second hand books, coffee shop, dog grooming and sale of dog treats! Karibu!
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience : but do repeat it frequently”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I found it on Trip Advisor and was therefore had high expectations. Our overall impression is that they were exceeded; the food was delicious, the hospitality was welcoming warm and wonderful, the setting almost unique.
We walked down the road aside the the posh Kibu Palace Hotel and the further w e went the more basic and remote it looked. In a matter minutes we found the sign with gates locked and doors barking.
Serena came and welcomed us and the mystery magical tour began we were enchanted for the whole evening by her company and the food freshly prepared by her mother. It was delight to be hosted so well and to have Goan food at its best. The only shock was the the bill it was amazing value. We were replete with our three courses the beers and coffee
The following night we were at the Arusha coffee Lodge a a completely different experience at least five or six times the price. The setting at the lodge is amazing and very posh whereas at the Station it is very basic
We favoured the quality of food and hospitality at the Station and returning tonight with a party of five. DON'T MISS THIS MAGICAL EXPERIENCE !!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jawed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStationTz, Owner at The Station Tanzania, responded to this review, December 10, 2014
Jawad Mia, I am so glad we got to thank you in person for the wonderful review you did for the Station when you came to visit with us at our new location. It was like family returning and you came with wonderful friends!! The new place is slowly taking shape and we are looking forward to your return again so we can share that with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was just like being back in the Peace Corps. The feeling you get from being in this restaurant-community center-henna tattooing place-dog rescue is indescribable. Came here with colleagues after seeing how highly rated this was, and from the Arusha Hotel I made it part of my morning run and checked it out before-hours, so we knew it wasn't far.

Loved the atmosphere. Mom and Serena the daughter both treated us like long lost family members (especially daughter). When we arrived it was full - there aren't many tables - but we hung around and drank margaritas (we also happened to be there on taco night). We also checked out all the bathroom art (a must-see) and played with the rescue dogs that they have. When it was our turn Serena joked and chatted with us, gave us her opinions and so forth. It was like we'd been coming there forever. The food was very tasty as was the coffee, and we drank well more than our share of margarita pitchers (she had to go out and get more limes!). It was like we'd been hanging out on her veranda for years.

As wonderful as that magic night was - and it was - it didn't end there. I'd seen a great bumper sticker that they had up, and Serena brought a bunch of them to my hotel a couple of days later. The posters and flyers on the wall also speak to her restaurant as being so much more - carnivals for kids, book swaps, massages and henna, variety of educational programs, pet sitting, and more. She also volunteered to look out for a dog that I'd met on my running route, and if she found him, to rescue him. Because that's what she does.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank philsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStationTz, Owner at The Station Tanzania, responded to this review, December 7, 2014
V, you and your group were a super delight to host and I did enjoy hanging out with you! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a heartfelt review. We so do hope that our paths cross again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Theme Nights”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I went there for the taco and tequila night and it was great. I will definitely go again for another evening. The team of mother and daughter are so engaging and enthusiastic. You wont regret going here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocketeer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStationTz, Owner at The Station Tanzania, responded to this review, December 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! Especially one that captures mum and my efforts so precisely! We do love what we do and I am so glad it comes across! We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome food made by the friendliest people in Arusha!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We found the restaurant on TA and our expectations were high as we got in the taxi and told the driver to take us to "The Station". After having asked some of his taxi friends he found the place which is actually in the owners own home!

Serena came to greet us and told us about the days menu. It was "Taco and Tequila Thursday"! Hungry after our climb up Kilimanjaro we ordered two wraps each after the delicious plate of snacks for starters. The wraps were filled with prawns, chicken or beef which all tasted amazing! My personal favorite was the chicken. We also got margaritas! Serena's mother was the one doing all the cooking. She came out to see if everything was alright, and when she noticed we were a bit cold she got us ponchos from her own closet to wear! You will not find a friendlier place! They also have a room full of books you can buy :) All in all a great experience!

Ps: You should try the restroom! There is a stream of water running through the restroom as you wash your hands :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Margrethe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStationTz, Owner at The Station Tanzania, responded to this review, December 7, 2014
Hahaha - yes I do remember that night! Mum was so worried that you and your friends were cold! First of Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We do love the vibe on Taco and Tequila nights and we hope many will continue. Mum and I want to say again how proud we are of your kili achievement! Here's hoping our paths cross again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A wonderful dinner stop—but don’t expect high end decor…”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

If you find yourself in Arusha, try to make your way to THE STATION- a fun and remarkably good restaurant a short walk/drive from the Kibo Palace Hotel… The owners, Serena and her mother, make and serve wonderful Goan cuisine. The restaurant is their screened in porch, comfortable and friendly. We were there on Vegetarian Monday and the food was tasty and abundant. Serena serves the meal on banana leaves and most likely will regale you with stories and her charm. Mom seem to stays in the kitchen and work her magic. We read other tripadvisor reviews…some folks were disappointed with the surroundings and the “dining room” – we found it charming and comfortable. Just be clear…If you are used to high end restaurant environs while you eat, this aint it….but I suggest…come on, let your hair down and try this while in Tanzania…..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyBars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStationTz, Owner at The Station Tanzania, responded to this review, December 6, 2014
Thanks Dan! So true! The Station is an extension of our home and who we are - simple, friendly, fun folks! I am so glad you took the time to come over and make this review. We really do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Station Tanzania also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to The Station Tanzania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing