We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hakuna Matata!”
Review of Access2Tanzania

Access2Tanzania
Ranked #9 of 374 Tours in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: No Worries! Planning a safari can be a very daunting experience. We will listen to your particular needs, provide unbiased advice, and help you plan a customized itinerary that is just right for you. We are Tanzania specialists offering virtually every park, every activity, and every accommodation in the country. Our sole focus is to carefully help you select what makes the most sense for you. And when you land, you will realize we quite seriously hire only superior guides. In fact, all our guides are full-time employees and unlike nearly all other companies, we do not hire temporary guides. Check out our website and then give us a call or send an email so we can get started.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I did a five day safari with A2T in July. We did a night in Tarangire, a night at a lodge, two nights in the Serengeti and a final night on the rim of Ngorongoro. It was simply an awesome trip. Absolutely first rate experience. We did a lot of research before we found A2T and started down the path of planning a safari with two other guide services but backed out at the last minute because things just did not seem to be right. A2T was everything they claimed to be and then some. The collective team does a great job of taking care of the customer. High integrity scores for the whole company. Casey takes great care to book you what you are looking for and was easy to work with. Karen was a great help as well. Our guide, Willfred and our cook Big were a first rate team and they took great care of us. Wilfred went the extra mile to find some incredibly impressive game opportunities. We saw it all. We elected to have an African meal experience and Big did not disappoint us. We really enjoyed the whole adventure.

A2T does not cut corners in their search to give you the full African experience. When you're dealing with sending money sight unseen for overseas experiences you have every right to be cautious. We were. Rest easy with A2T. Everything was as they said it would be and when it was not -- they made it that way.

We travel extensively so we always go out of our way to drop great recommendations when they are deserved. A2T earned this recommendation.

1  Thank MaryandGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_in_Brooklyn, Owner at Access2Tanzania, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Music to my ears! Thank you! I am especially glad to hear how so many members of the team worked together to make it an excellent experience. It's especially 'sweet' to hear great words about our cook, Big. Did you know that we actually have two full-time, salaried cooks and Big is one of them? On top of that, he's Mike's younger brother. You could say he's part of the A2T family in more ways than one. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 169 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I booked a 9 day safari with Access2Tanzania in July 2013. We were very happy with their service, accommodations & communications. Our luggage was lost on the first leg of the trip, and our guide, David, was flexible enough to help us shop for a few clothes on our first day in Arusha. Casey, who booked our trip, worked from the States to track our bags and contacted my family three times, even though he had not booked our flight.
Our safari exceeded our expectations! David is an excellent spotter and driver. We saw the Big 5, a wildebeest crossing, so many lions and cheetahs, including a lion kill and lions mating. David also knew the birds, the Maasi culture, and the best bananas to buy. He was also just fun to be with.
Access2 seems to be about mid-range in price. There are cheaper ways to go, but for a private safari with personal service, we couldn't be happier.

1  Thank notirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_in_Brooklyn, Owner at Access2Tanzania, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review. I'm glad Casey could help with delayed luggage. Delayed luggage is something we've gotten good at handling, which is a bit unfortunate in some ways. Thanks again and thank you for choosing to travel with A2T!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We researched tour operators online & selected Access2Tanzania based upon the excellent reviews & our conversation with Casey. He created an itinerary based not only upon our wants but also our personalities and within our budget & time frame. We had the pleasure & privilege of a private tour in Northern Tanzania for 16 days in June to July 2013. It was an unforgettable journey full of spectacular experiences. Lodging was comfortable. It was a mix of moderately priced to luxury lodges, permanent tent lodges, & a wilderness lodge.

Alex, our tour guide, was amazing! He was charming, patient & very knowledgeable. We are positive that he is the prime reason that we experienced & spotted so many animals. His vision is very impressive. He could determine that a black spot on the horizon was a log or a cheetah. He always maintained his humor despite the many bumpy roads we traveled. He was flexible with our plan & yet his advice in planning our days was very valuable. Learning about the culture was fascinating.

Our good fortune (which I also credit Alex) in viewing a great variety of wildlife was exciting . . . everyday! We never tired of seeing them. Everything from the smallest of birds to the impressive elephants & giraffes & the majestic big cats. So happy that we were able to catch site of the black rhinos. To this day, I still show anyone who is remotely interested, our video (recorded on my iPhone) of a lion strutting by our vehicle, followed by a lioness & 2 cubs. Zebras were plentiful & those silly wildebeest were entertaining.

The landscape was spectacular! We never tired of viewing the rugged beauty of Lake Natron, the vastness of the Serengeti, the lush woodlands of Tarangire, the mystical scenery of Ngorongoro Crater & the thick carpet of trees that comprise Lake Manyara. Every day was a joy to behold. I still am challenged selecting photos for a photo book. There were so many opportunities & so many wonderful things to capture. We believe this is a testament to Alex's talents & abilities.

Casey worked within our budget & time frame to give us an amazing adventure. Alex carried out that plan. We highly recommend Access2Tanzania.

3  Thank CAKuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_in_Brooklyn, Owner at Access2Tanzania, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

I'm so glad you had such a good time with Alex. And I'm so glad that Casey was able to help you plan the perfect itinerary. That video you took sounds fantastic! Hearing about it makes me wonder if you can post it on youtube or something so we can share it with others? Don't forget to check out our photo contest on Facebook. Thanks again for traveling with A2T!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited Tanzania in July 2013. We chose Access2Tanzania for several reasons. Their price was in our range and they had excellent reviews online. What really clinched it though was how promptly, thoroughly and pleasantly Karen responded to all of our emails and phone calls. She did a great job helping us plan our trip and choose appropriate hotels. At one of the hotels where we stayed we had been told the laundry was free. This was a mistake--the laundry was actually very expensive! Our guide contacted Karen and she told us to charge our laundry to her. Although we didn't take her up on her offer, this reinforced our initial impression that Karen and Access2Tanzania were responsive and committed to making our travel experience a great one. Our guide was Ray and he was fabulous. He was incredibly knowledgeable and constantly amazed us by spotting animals that we had trouble finding even with binoculars! He was very punctual. He took great care of us--we always felt safe. Ray is a very warm, friendly person. We had so much fun with him. The trip was wonderful--the wildlife was incredible. We were thrilled with all of the animals we saw. We were very pleased with our hotels. This was really the trip of a lifetime. We highly recommend Access 2 Tanzania.

1  Thank Kendra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_in_Brooklyn, Owner at Access2Tanzania, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for traveling with us and thank you for the great review. We're really glad you had such a great time with Ray. BTW, it really was our fault about the laundry and so you absolutely should let us reimburse you if the hotel charged you for any laundry. Please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Access 2 Tanzania is a great choice of tour companies out of a mind-boggling number of tour choices. Private safari with guide,Ray, gave us the choices of where and when we traveled. Within minutes of entering Tarangire National Park we saw multiples of elephants, giraffes, gazelles, and many other animals.
Ngorongoro Crater was rich with lions, hippos, cheetahs, plus every animal we saw at Tarangire. Lake Manyara presented a couple of unpredictable experiences for us but otherwise was a place we could have skipped. The central & northern Serengeti were unforgettable with leopards in trees and the rare black rhino. We were also thrilled to watch two groups (200 - 600) of wildebeests migrating across the Mara River, though the main migration had crossed early this year. We planned our trip late but Access 2 Tanzania worked intensely with us to make it happen.
I highly recommend the flight back from the northern Serengeti to Arusha. Also recommend guide Ray as his knowledge, humor, congeniality, skill in spotting hidden animals, driving skills, and commitment to our goals made this trip such a success.

Thank MamaNance2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_in_Brooklyn, Owner at Access2Tanzania, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for the review and thank you for selecting A2T out of the many choices that you had. I'm glad we could provide the experience that you were seeking. Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Access2Tanzania also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Access2Tanzania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing