We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what I expected from other reviews”
Review of THE MILIMANI LODGE

THE MILIMANI LODGE
Ranked #19 of 111 Restaurants in Arusha
Price range: $15 - $20
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“not what I expected from other reviews”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went to Milimani Lodge having read good reviews, I really don't understand what the fuss is about, the welcome was rather cool, the restaurant was clean but empty, considering few occupied tables service was good but slow. The food (steak) was overcooked, I ordered medium rare, it came well done and the plate did not impress me at all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngataFmH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
137 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ran out of coffee and host water”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The hotel/restaurant had great potential but a few small things really detracted from the experience. The hotel had no working Internet for the first 24 hours and ran out of both hot water and coffee even though there were only 7 guests at the hotel. The hotel is out of town (25 minute walk) but is nice. We had one dinner at the hotel which was good though the meat was over cooked. We stayed there for two nights before climbing Kili but chose to stay at the African Tulip after the climb (fabulous spot). Is a cheap spot near arusha but would likely stay elsewhere when returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank ryanmahaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“If in Arusha....eat here!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

By far one of the best meals i had in East Africa. Lamb chops were succulent and tasty. The date samosas for desert were both original and delicious. My other halves fish was also lovely. Reasonably priced, excellent service (not rushed like most places in Africa). definitely reccommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSC838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you are looking for the best place to eat in Arusha, then you should go to Milimani Lodge. The steak is great!! I love their mashed potatoes. My wife had the grilled red snapper, and whe was very happy with her choice. The service is also excellent. We went there today for our 40th wedding anniversary, and as usual, we were not disappointed!! The owner even gave us a complimentary bottle of wine to congratulate us on our special day.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MenyeNaserian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely Recommended”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here two separate times on the same trip and both experiences were amazing! The accommodations exceeded my expectations and I was very happy with the hospitable staff, great rooms and delicious food.

As most people mentioned, the steak here is amazing and highly recommended! Next time I'm in Arusha, I'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aaliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed THE MILIMANI LODGE also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to THE MILIMANI LODGE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing