We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zawadi House Lodge value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zawadi House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zawadi House Lodge
Ranked #7 of 101 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Zawadi House Lodge value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed early november for 1 night at the Zawadi Lodge in Arusha. After a long day in the car -visited Ngorongoro and afterwards the ride to Arusha) were pleasantly surprised with the high quality of rooms and service of this lodge. Even though we immediately were confronted with a power cut staff treid to do their utmost to limit inconvenience. Rooms have all comfort -airco, modern bathroom and even bathropes, and food is good. Compliments to Emanuel/reception, Leving/reception and above all Naomi/chief cook!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farfar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    37
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
47
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet retreat with western standards, very helpful and attentive staff, great food and a bar then look no further.

My wife and I stayed here after completing an amazing safari which proceeded our successful climb to the top of Kilimanjaro.

We were looking for a quiet, clean hotel before we headed to Mombasa and Zawadi house provided that.

The rooms are a little small but most people use the hotel as a base to explore the town or as a stop gap.

I would higly recommend this place to anyone...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fillmein777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had only one night at Zawadi house and loved everything. The location, massive beds, beautiful rooms, the organised pick up and the dinner. We would not recommend staying anywhere else and wish the staff and owners the best of success.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

After spending two weeks on an amazing camping adventure around Kenya and Tanzania, this small, secluded, secure and stylish resort was just heaven!

Spacious and modern room - with a very comfortable bed to catch up on much needed sleep!

Clean and modern bathroom - with a great hot water system for a much needed long hot shower!

Onsite restaurant had limited menu options but all food was delicious and of great quality. The chef and especially our waiter Emanuel were very friendly and helpful.

Free WiFi for catching up with everyone back home.

The only issue was trying to find it! Located just outside central Arusha, its hidden off the main road and very few locals knew where it was located.

30 minute drive to reach the airport on the other side of town.

Will definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London (UK)
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I found this hotel completely by accident, when I was searching for some quality accomodation which I don't need to rob a bank for. This was quite a tall order in the high season in Arusha. Fortunately I found Zawadi House, which was a great choice. Comfortable, well equipped, stylish little hotel that offers all the services that anyone can expect in a four star hotel. And why is it affordable? The place is not well known even among locals, which is probably due to the fact that it's not located in a touristed part ofthe town. In fact outside its high, protective walls it's quite a shabby neighborhood. Before you start worrying about that, I can assure you it's completely irrelevant as Arusha is not a town where you go to take a walk anyway. You stay there, eat, rest, sleep and get ready for the safari. That's wahy people go to Arusha for. And for that purpose the hotel is just perfect...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fuzert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed at Zawadi House on several dates in June, July, and August this summer as I was traveling in the area and used Arusha as my base.

I found the Zawadi House to be very pleasant with a helpful, friendly staff. Free wifi, a small bar, air conditioning, and a small restaurant on site that was a good option. My room rate was competitive for Arusha. The location a little out of Arusha town meant quiet nights. The walk into the city is fairly straight forward if that is something you'd like to do. The manager,Dorotea helped arrange transport when I needed and provided free and secure parking to a visiting friend. Email communication was straightforward and responded to quickly.

There were not many other guests during my stay, so I can't speak to how they operate with a full house, but they seemed well staffed to handle such situations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitakatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This July I traveled to Tanzania via South Africa to attend a funeral of a loved one in Machame. After the hectic travel schedule, time difference...I needed a place that I can fully relax and rejuvenate before my return to the USA. A friend recommended Zawadi House. Not only was I surprised by this hidden jewel, it was a breath of fresh air!!! The place is absolutely amazing...a boutique hotel that is breathtaking competing with any world class accommodation. I am happy to know that such is available in Arusha! The staff was gracious, friendly and attended to all my requests making my stay memorable and relaxing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.7 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
3.1 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
10.4 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zawadi House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zawadi House Lodge

Property: Zawadi House Lodge
Address: Kundayo Road | Phillips Area, Arusha 1648, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zawadi House Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zawadi House is a new up-market, boutique style hotel in a quiet area of Arusha. All 13 rooms are comfortably equipped with a modern designed bathroom with all amenities, air conditioning, satellite TV and free internet access. The house is surrounded by lush green gardens with tall trees and pretty flowers. A cozy bar and small restaurant supply the finest drinks and cuisine. The ideal place to wind down after an intensive day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Zawadi House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing