We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like Costa with table service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Africafe

Africafe
Ranked #6 of 106 Restaurants in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Like Costa with table service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Africafe is a pretty nice cafe but reminds me very much of Costa except with table service. The milkshakes are VERY tasty! It is very central, just off the clock tower, which makes it a good place to come if you have been shopping, etc. The main downsides are that it feels very expensive in comparison with local prices because it is aims specifically at tourists. This also means it feels very divisive as though local people are largely excluded which isn't a great feeling as you eat your lunch.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    155
    32
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Cappiccino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Went out one weekday evening with friends and they treated me to a burger and coffee at Africafe. Wonderful! Everything is fresh. The service was great and the waiters and waitresses were friendly and helpful. They were comfortable with English. Being near the Arusha Hotel and other mid-town business hotels, Africafe is a favorite with visitors.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Today me and my family went to africafe for a nice family Sunday lunch. I loved the food and the really refreshing ice tea. I also really like their idea or bringing sugar syrup along with the ice tea. But I have to say, our lunch was excellent!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two lunches there ... always pleasing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good variety on menu ... good service and very pleasant out of the way quiet environment which isn't always easy to find. Can't ask for too much more.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bernie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and very popular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lovely little cafe/restaurant which seems very popular and gets very busy. Tried the chicken briyani, which came with mango chutney and salsa. Delicious

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Africafe also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Africafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing