We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too european place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Africafe

Africafe
Ranked #6 of 106 Restaurants in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Too european place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

I was in Africafe with friends and all seemed a bit too european. But beyond that decor, service and food was perfect.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sabina1890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    155
    32
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
133 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Simple food and relatively fast service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Africafe has a nice vibe and good decor. It's a comfortable place to hang out.

We had simple food for lunch but it was well prepared and delivered quickly by African standards.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank samurai_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Reminds me of Java”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Africafe Restaurant is a fast food restaurant with the Java Coffee Houses concepts. When I think of a nice milk shake or muffins...this is where I go....

Helpful?
Thank Kibopalacehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Julien-en-Genevois, France
Level Contributor
134 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Barbecue and very nice terrasse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

the meat served was very good and the diner outside on the terrasse was enjoyable. the place can be surrounded by mosquito at night so take shirts and trousers and usual repelant products. I found the waiter very efficient. Seems also the rooms are very nice and well decorated. In the end is a good place to have dinner after a safari day.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank semanteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pricey but a slice of home comfort all the same”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

I visited Africafe a few times during my stay in Arusha and it provided a little home comfort after days of fieldwork. Its definitely a bit pricey, but the burger and shake I had the first time I was there were pretty good. Its a hive of activity for foreigners in Arusha and a good place to meet up with friends.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Africafe also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Africafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing