We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Experience.”
Review of Korona House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Korona House
Ranked #10 of 130 Arusha B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was my first time to board at Korona House and the experience was absolutely memorable. I highly recommend the place for the homely service, warm reception, magical yet simple decor, clean rooms and lovely breakfast. I will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor have an excellent view of Mount Meru.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 186 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was my second stay at Korona House and enjoyed their superb rooms, great delicacy accompanied by greatest smiles. Very nice hot shower and toilets with the best ever beddings and a curtains reminding you are in africa where wildlife and culture brings you back.

Room Tip: It's just outside the city centre but worth it. Plus great views of Mt Meru and Kili and the val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chegewakariuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were very pleased with the hot water, high speed wifi, quality bed, and extensive breakfast spread. This isn't in the center of Arusha, but there is a great restaurant/pub across the street, and the value of the B&B is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank periain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Not many staff in korona building but everything went fine. Room are clean with an outstanding design of natural and cultural arts. The office place is a bit small but well designed for more than one client to access. Breakfast was amazing, well served with varieties. It is tarmac road to korona house now.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmanuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night as we prepared to leave for a safari. We couldn't have asked for a better staff. We arrived late (about 10pm) after our driver got lost (it's not in the center of Arusha which was nice for us to have a little down time), but the staff waited up for us and quickly checked us in. When we asked about food, they reopened the kitchen and made us sandwiches and salad. We were starving and I couldn't have been more appreciative. The room was very small, but everything was clean and there was plenty of hot water. They also provided other useful toiletries including a LOT of bug spray (which we NEEDED). Since there's not much to do around there, it was nice that they had several books and movies that we had free reign over. Breakfast was a nice array of yogurt, bread, eggs, and sausage.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aamaya81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at the Korona House after our Kilimanjaro climb and we spent a nice and relaxing time there.
The service from the staff was excellent and they really took care of us. Food and breakfast were at a high standard.
It is a bit far from the city centre but the hotel can arrange taxis very easily at a cheaper cost.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meerkatou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a comfortable, nicely furnished hotel but we decided to stay elsewhere post-safari. The main reason was the food. I set great store by TA reviews but how anyone could praise the food is a mystery. The chicken was dry and very stringy, and they managed to turn tilapia into shoe leather. We don't eat beef so that left vegetables-- also overcooked, in a dish served at each meal. There was absolutely nothing we felt like eating (breakfast, however, was quite nice--if you ignored the mould on the cheese!). Because of its location, there are no alternatives. The location also meant that it cost us $27 to go into town and back (they warned that it wasn't safe to take a dala dala). As well, although the staff made a valiant effort to please, it was almost impossible to communicate with them.
Be warned that paying by credit card can take a long time. We started the process at 8:30 am and had to leave at 9:15 while it was still "loading." We ended up leaving our card # with them.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Caminoista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
6.2 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 42 in Arusha
101 reviews
4.1 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Korona Villa Bed & Breakfast
6.8 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#8 of 130 in Arusha
110 reviews
4.6 mi away
White House of Tanzania
White House of Tanzania
#1 of 130 in Arusha
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korona House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korona House

Address: Plot 418J, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range: $54 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Korona House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Korona House offers High quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation for Residents and non Resident Travelers who are seeking a small property establishment with value for money, convenience, affordable budget and without compromising on quality and ambiance. Visiting for either a short sya or Long term stay,visiting for Safari, business, conference ,study, leisure or Visiting Friends in Arusha, Korona House - Bed & Breakfast should allow you a significant savings in money and time. A weekend gateway or an evening meeting with friends or family Dinner, Korona House would be convenient for you for the purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Korona House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing