We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Korona House
Nearby Hotels
$204
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$209
$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$280
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
136
44
3
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
44
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr charlesswahili phrasesdala dalaaffordable placehome away from homeasante sanaspecial thanksquiet locationinternet connectionclean roomsarusha townbreakfast was includeda great place to staythree nightspre and posteast africahot water
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 187 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a comfortable, nicely furnished hotel but we decided to stay elsewhere post-safari. The main reason was the food. I set great store by TA reviews but how anyone could praise the food is a mystery. The chicken was dry and very stringy, and they managed to turn tilapia into shoe leather. We don't eat beef so that left vegetables-- also overcooked, in a dish served at each meal. There was absolutely nothing we felt like eating (breakfast, however, was quite nice--if you ignored the mould on the cheese!). Because of its location, there are no alternatives. The location also meant that it cost us $27 to go into town and back (they warned that it wasn't safe to take a dala dala). As well, although the staff made a valiant effort to please, it was almost impossible to communicate with them.
Be warned that paying by credit card can take a long time. We started the process at 8:30 am and had to leave at 9:15 while it was still "loading." We ended up leaving our card # with them.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Caminoista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We actually had the chance to stay both at the Korona House, and the African Tulip on the same trip. We started at the Korona House were the hosts were extremely attentive to our every need. They organized to have us picked up at the airport (Kilamonjaro) and for reasonably priced tours of the city and Arusha National Park, and cooked quite delicious meals (we recommend to ask for a Tanzania special rather than name something off the menu). The rooms were clean, comfortable and just what we needed. This is where we would stay when/if we return. They were low key, but perfect, and certainly friendly.
After 3 days we went to join our safari group at the African Tulip. It was extremely nice, but over the top for us. The bellboy comes out to get the luggage, a separate person comes with a warm washcloth to wipe your face and then a 3rd person has a glass of juice for you. I think you get the difference. Wifi was free at the Korona House. You have to pay $10/24 hrs at the African Tulip. Water is free at dinner at the Korona House, you have to pay $2 at the African Tulip.
We like having a nice, safe, clean place to stay and don't like paying extra for all the extras and extra people. We can carry our luggage to our room (Its just not that far). We felt like we were more at home at the Korona House. There is no fitness room or pool at the Korona House, but there is good hot water at all times. Our room was downstairs facing a wall, but the view did not matter, we really only slept there. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable. I believe we were in the Flamingo room. At times, we did go to the upstairs balcony which was fun to look out on the street to see what was happening.
To get to the city, you probably would want to take a Taxi. I would not feel comfortable getting into a Daladala (public taxi). It probably is safe, though, just scary to me. They recommended having a guide take us, and it was a great idea and a great adventure. We also went to the Arusha Natural History Museum with the guide (Armani).He was great and the tour quite memorable. We spent the day with him.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Manager, "Amani", made sure everything went well and provided excellent meals in their dining room. They also packed a good box lunch for our "day-trips" in the area. It's outside of town a couple of KM's so its quiet. We stayed on 3 occasions each time we returned to Arusha during our 2 week stay in Tanzania. If you want Arusha night life, it's a bit out of the way, but we wanted quiet time to write and study our birding logs each night, so it was perfect. Our down-stairs room was small but comfortable with a nice, clean bathroom with lots of hot water available. We enjoyed the rocking chairs on the front porch and watching the Sunbirds in the gardens.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwichingLister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved staying at Korona House. We stayed there on the last night of our week-long safari that we took with Duma Explorer. All of the rooms are named rather than numbered, which is a cute touch. Even months later (we were there in August and in writing this in February), I remember Korona House fondly. The staff was welcoming, professional and seemed genuinely excited to have us. We were the only guests for dinner that night, which was brought to us in courses and served with grace and a smile! The food was incredible also! We loved chatting with the friendly staff members and telling them about American things. We taught/showed one of the gentlemen what a bear was! It was great to feel so immersed in a different culture, but also feel relaxed and welcomed. ...and obviously we were comfortable since we are expecting and are almost positive the date of conception was when we were here at Korona House!! We'll be back...next time with a kid or two in tow!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelerkristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Limo and Yusuf. How could I forget these two teenagers, not only did they gave me a very warm Tanzanian welcome but they also were very patient with my humble requests.

The rooms were very good, hot shower, great mosquito net , very cozy bed, and good breakfast -- dinner see below.

My only complain is that there was never really a chef around or anyone to cook dinner, Limo and Yusuf are amazingly a one-man army: they clean, they cook, they book tours, they answer the phone. They pretty much are overloaded but both will always have time for you and above all show you how friendly Tanzanian people are.

I shall ever be grateful to Yusuf and Limo for recommending me such a great guide like Zia -- highly recommend him by the way -- and these two kids truly deserve a lot in life by working hard and being honest teenagers; something nowadays is hard to find.

Thank you for taking the time to read my review,

sincerely;

Diego ...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drs88bbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews