We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small guesthouse”
Review of Korona House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Korona House
Ranked #10 of 111 Arusha B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent small guesthouse”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were amazed at the level of service here. very good decor, lots of thoughtful extras: from a good range of magazines, games to cotton buds and fly spray all provided free. This is far above the typical guest house standard in Tz where usually the running water doesn't and there is no hot water at all. At Korona, you get a good shower with hot and cold running water and adequate pressure. You don't have to run around to get wet! This is worth noting after 14 days elsewhere of taps that don't work and having to bathe from a bucket!
The restaurant made a real effort to appeal to western tastes even having both marmite and vegemite on offer!

Well done, Korona.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    43
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
54
19
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Korona House is located about 1 hr from Kilimanjaro Airport in a relatively new suburb of Arusha. We stayed here at the beginning and ends of our safari trips. The rooms were a bit small but certainly adequate for a good night's sleep - better to spend the time outdoors on the balcony watching the beautiful sunbirds feeding on the flowers. The staff were so nice and helpful. The food was delicious and served at the time requested - boxed lunches for our safari were generous and delicious. I will recommend Korona House to all my friends if they plan to visit Tanzania.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a "peek-a-boo" view of Mt. Meru
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very convinient place to stay before and after a safari, good value for money. Rooms are provided with mosquito net, they are very comfortable, clean and quiet, may be a bit small, but ok to stay a few nights. They also have a restaurant, food is good, but it takes quite a long time to be ready. Staff is helpful, some of them are not very fluent in English but they really make an effort. It is out of downtown but they pick you up at arrival for free, and usually safari tour operators also pick you up at the hotel, so this was not a problem for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael-Andalusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Thanks to all at Korona House! I recently stayed there for three nights prior to climbing kili. I enjoyed my stay very much. Everyone was very friendly and courteous and went out of their way to advise and help me whenever I needed something. I enjoyed the homely feeling that you can never get in a standard hotel, not to mention a lot less expensive! The atmosphere was especially nice considering it was my first time in Tanzania. The rooms are clean and cozy, the food delicious. I plan to recommend Korona House to anyone I know who is travelling to Arusha!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank dbyrne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have booked korona for one night stay during our road trip to Tanzania.We were totally depending upon google map to locate the site.Unfortunately the location in the google map is wrong and we found nothing at the destination.Finally we decide to call the korona they have reacted quickly.It is very appreciable that they manage to reach the spot in 5 minutes and directed us to the hotel.
Everything simple and perfect and clean.It is not a luxurious stay but you will get whatever you required for a budget stay.Services was very good.We got a good breakfast too.
Advantages
Calm and quite place
Tasty food
Excellent service
clean rooms
Budget price

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pooja p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We traveled as a family with two young children. Our visit to Korona House was as expected with professional service from the moment we arrived, until we said good bye. All the staff were very helpful and supportive. The house itself is an outstanding residence with well maintained and equipped rooms. Having wi-fi was a bonus! Also, dining at your on-premise restaurant was very convenient.

I recommend Korona House for either long or short term stay.

Have a good week,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The first night of mine and my wife's honeymoon in Tanzania was spent at the Korona House, and we were so happy with the accommodations: the rooms were cozy and clean, the food was wonderful, and the service was absolutely exceptional. I should also add that everything was very affordable. I highly recommend staying at Korona House to those traveling to/through Arusha!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hendersonhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
4.1 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
87 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
6.0 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#7 of 111 in Arusha
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korona House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korona House

Property: Korona House
Address: Plot 418J, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Korona House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Korona House offers High quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation for Residents and non Resident Travelers who are seeking a small property establishment with value for money, convenience, affordable budget and without compromising on quality and ambiance. Visiting for either a short sya or Long term stay,visiting for Safari, business, conference ,study, leisure or Visiting Friends in Arusha, Korona House - Bed & Breakfast should allow you a significant savings in money and time. A weekend gateway or an evening meeting with friends or family Dinner, Korona House would be convenient for you for the purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Korona House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing