We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!”
Review of Korona House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Korona House
Ranked #10 of 111 Arusha B&B and Inns
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I chose the Korona House as I was looking for an affordable place in Arusha without having to go to a hostel. I also wanted a location from which I could easily travel to the center of Arusha town as I was there to visit the ICTR. The Korona House provided this and more! It is in fact cheaper for a room in Korona House than it is for a private room in hostels, and while you are at the Korona House you are treated as if you are staying in a five-star hotel. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful, the bed is amazingly comfortable, and the showers are heaven as they feature truly hot water and great water pressure! Meals are also tasty. The house is not far from the town if you have your own car, and there is a bus stop a short distance away that goes right into town. It is great because you are close enough to quickly get into town, but just enough away to feel that you are in your own retreat. I recommend this place to anyone going for business or pleasure. It will have you feeling comfortable and relaxed, and give you an excellent place to relax and feel pampered after a day of work should you be there on business or research. Absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura20072012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    43
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
54
19
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I came across this hotel here, when planning my trip to Tanzania. From the first moment I contacted them I had a very quick and warm response. It only got better when we were actually there!
Arusha is a very nice town, just the place were to start your safari. The hotel is very nicely located, in Njiro area. Modern, quite new, and small place, which we really liked. We had a very warm welcome by the hotel staff, Amani and Oman, they kept a warm smile for us all of our stay. Then its the rooms, so nicely decorated, in african themed way, very confortable bed, with mosquito nests, colorfoul, and cozy.
There is a computer with free internet access, wich is rare to find in any hotel, and which was very useful. Food was very good, very nice breakfast included in the price, and also there is a mini market just crossing the road, 1 minute from the hotel, just in case you need any last minute buy.
If on top of all of these, you include a great price, then there is not much left to say that it was the best accomodation so far in Tanzania for the whole trip. They made us feel like home, which is really appreciatted when your are travelling long distances in a foreign country. I would definitely go back there again, we stayed one night on our way to Lake Manyara and one night on our way back from Arusha Game reserve, by the end of our safari, having been camping for a few days, it wasperfect to go back there and sleep on soft pillows again!
The Bar next door was a bit noisy until late at night but if close the windows you can hardly notice it.

Room Tip: You need to ring at the front door a few times
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sil183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thule
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Was at Korona House for 3 nights in Feb, 2012.
Good rooms, away from town, good food, and execlent personal / Service.
Will be back one day,
LS, Greenland.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemmies61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I just stayed the one night before flying out of Arusha. I received an exceptionally warm welcome and relaxed immediately. My room was clean and comfortable with a powerful shower. The food was superb and all freshly prepared. I will definitely return for my next trip to TZ.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeepImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I was in Tanzania for a bird watching trip and to visit friends. The three night stay at the delightful Korona House, with a non-birding friend, was part of a "Birding and Beyond" Safari. It made a great base for exploring the surrounding countryside. My friend stayed in for one day while Anthony (from "Birding & Beyond") and I went off looking for Larks, etc. He found it very comfortable but would have liked to explore the Arusha city center. Difficult with-out transport.

We arranged to have our meals here - usually breakfast and dinner. They were amazing. Great variety and there was no chance to go to bed hungry! My friend was supplied with a fantastic lunch the day he stayed "home" . Staff are wonderful and very helpful. Internet was a big plus. Some very nice birds in the area.

Would recommend this place to people on a tour or with your own transport. Certainly good value. Very safe and comfortable. Great place to relax for a few days. Would happily return.

Room Tip: Up stairs rooms in the front have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed at Korona House for 3 nights as part of birding safari. While it is a bit out of town on a pretty bumpy road, the rooms and grounds are very nice. The staff, in particular Amani, were wonderful and saw to all our needs. In addition, we had dinner there one night and the food was very good, with an avocado with mushrooms as a starter that was memorable. All the best to the fine people at Korona House.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Beautiful house, set on the outskirts of Arusha town ( about 20 minutes drive from Njiro Complex)

It has 8 rooms, set on a small, well manicured garden. Some of the rooms have balconies and a great view of Mt. Meru !

We were booked to stay here for two nights, but had to change the reservation when we realized its a little out of town. It perfect if you bring your own car or are not planning to make frequent trips into town.

The staff are very helpful ( they even arranged for a car to take us to another hotel when we were not comfortable with the distance from the city )

Room rates start from 30 USD, B & B, and includes pick up from Arusha town (If you arrive in the morning shuttle) They can pick you up from the airport as well at fee.

All in all, great place :-)

Room Tip: Request for the room facing Mt. Meru (I only saw 1, but they could be 2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thetravel_buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
4.1 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
87 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
6.0 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#7 of 111 in Arusha
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korona House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korona House

Property: Korona House
Address: Plot 418J, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Korona House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Korona House offers High quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation for Residents and non Resident Travelers who are seeking a small property establishment with value for money, convenience, affordable budget and without compromising on quality and ambiance. Visiting for either a short sya or Long term stay,visiting for Safari, business, conference ,study, leisure or Visiting Friends in Arusha, Korona House - Bed & Breakfast should allow you a significant savings in money and time. A weekend gateway or an evening meeting with friends or family Dinner, Korona House would be convenient for you for the purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Korona House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing