We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveler rating
247
268
76
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
247
268
76
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here hot water first night nice garden air conditioning reception area kilimanjaro climb tour company swimming pool rooms are large nice room mosquito net great place to stay yogurt kilimanjaro airport an oasis jet lag
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 604 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2019

Friendly staff but just too focussed on tips and making as much as they can from the exchange rate. Rooms were clean but the WIFI for the rooms was non existent and the quality of the YV in the rooms is awful, constant excuses as why there was no picture - just fix it properly.

Room tip: Sort out the WIFI and TV signal
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlanetLodger, Owner at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Dear Garry M,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing about your stay. We appreciate your kind words with regards to friendliness of staff. It is true that during your stay we WiFi and tv reception was subpar due to the heavy rains we were facing at the time. Our cable provider transmits through a satellite dish and WiFi is also disseminated by radios which are spread throughout the property. As such, on cloudy days or heavy rains, the signal gets weak. However, we make do our best to ensure we have good reception at the Main Lodge.
I am not sure what gave you that impression the team is "focused on tips and making as much as they can from the exchange rate" We believe that tips are optional and dependent on a guest's satisfaction with services received. This is why we encourage using the tip box towards the end of one's stay and discourage patrons from tipping staff individually because by that time one has experienced most services and if impressed they can be generous and if not, tell us what to improve through the post breakfast feedback form handed out on the day of checkout. I'd love to get specific/ actionable feedback so we can train our teams to strive in providing excellent service to clients from different cultures; kindly email directly when you can.
As for exchange rates, unfortunately we cannot honor rates found on Google or online outlets since those are not the going rates at local banks. Anyone can verify this. It gets particularly tricky when handling less traded currencies for which demand is very low in Arusha. We take payment in TSH or USD ($50 or $100 denominations) dated 2009 or younger since exchange rates for older bills are also lower at the banks.
We appreciate your feedback as we continue to improve our services.
Kindly regards,
EJ @ Planet Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019

Arusha Planet Lodge is the perfect place to stay if you want to visit Tanzania. Although a short drive away from the centre of town, the staff are incredibly accommodating to help organise transport and the hotel's drivers are brilliant local guides! The in house breakfast was delicious, the best mushrooms I've had in a while. Thank you to the staff for their hospitality.

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank pbagchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019

We stayed at this property for a conference so we actually booked the entire property for a majority of our stay. However we notice no difference in service during our conference or during the times we shared the property with other travelers.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Voyage62479157288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

Hotel staff were very friendly and professional,- always ready to help. Restaurant had excellent food. Rooms are very spacey and clean.The hotel has a pool which was very well taken care of. We have been there twice and would love to come back.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Savytraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

This is our 3rd time staying here. It has gotten better with each trip because the owners have made good strides toward updating the rooms and training the staff. Rooms have all had the bathrooms remodeled and they look very nice. Only slight issue is that hot water comes from solar panels, so when you have a cloudy/rainy day, there is no hot water. They have the ability to turn on electric water heaters for each room, but they don't do it unless you ask. It would be nice if they anticipated the need to turn those on, especially for clients who come from Europe or America where people are used to having hot water.

The rooms are large with plenty of space, have air conditioning, and are quite comfortable. The TVs are not quite large enough to be seen from across the room, and the internet service is almost non-existent in the rooms (it is available in the main building), but those are the only downsides. There is a nice pool and lounging area where you could spend most of the day if you desired. The staff have been well trained in hospitality and customer service, which is a big plus. My only disappointment was that one of the maids felt comfortable using my phone charging cord in the room when she was cleaning, so put away things you don't want them to see or use.

The food was very good, but we were there for 5 days and there was not a large variety. Pretty much salad, soup, rice, potatoes, steamed veggies, and a meat at every lunch and dinner which gets boring. One night they barbecued some meats which was lovely, but still the same side dishes. Breakfasts had a variety of choices to please almost anyone. Lots of fresh juices, fruit, croissants/breads, yogurt, eggs, waffles, pancakes, etc.

I really like the physical environment of the property...nice and peaceful; as well as the staff. The thing I liked least is the lack of internet throughout the property. In today's technology age, they need to implement a good solution.

Room tip: cottages closest to the lodge have a better chance of connecting to internet
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jly75zhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews