We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planet Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Planet Lodge
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were 2 couples and four children celebrating marriage anniversary and we had the greatest time at Planet Lodge. The family rooms we stayed in were amazing, the view of Mount Meru from outside the rooms especially in the mornings was very scenic and beautiful. The food was also good and i especially enjoyed eating the fried bananas which i have now added to my menu at home. The service was also good with the waiters being helpful and very pleasant. The pool is a also good and well maintained. I will not hesitate to visit Planet Lodge again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bkamiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlanetLodger, Manager at Planet Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Kamiti,

It was our pleasure to have you, your friends and family stay with us. The highest compliment we can be paid is your promise to return - THANK YOU! W greatly appreciate this great review and you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Karibuni tena Planet Lodge!

Best regards,
Planet Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    195
    43
    6
    1
See reviews for
72
179
33
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for. 2 nights at the beginning and end of a Kili climb, staff are helpfull, place is very clean and rooms comfortable. I am a bit of a star snob but this place is great and would recommend. Food is good and beds are very comfortable, pleasant pool and gardens

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank luckytravellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Planet Lodge is a good quality hotel on the outskirts of Arusha. The road is not paved to get there, but it's gated, has a pool and a nice area to have a drink. The breakfast was good. The lunch and dinner were not good at all. They could massively improve the place if they provided a better lunch/dinner service. If you stay at this hotel, you pretty much have to eat here as there is not much around the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seeing_the_w0r1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Seeing_the_w0r1d

Thank you for the complement on breakfast and the nice garden areas to have a drink. I am sorry that you were disappointed by our meals. With your comment alone to work from, it is difficult to understand what could have gone wrong. Our menu offers a good variety of meals and whenever a meal falls short of the client's expectations, our waters are trained to encourage clients to select another item from the menu (at no extra charge). I would highly appreciate the opportunity to better understand what you did not like about the food... if you could email directly at Eva@planet-lodge.com, we will be able to address the matter.

We appreciate you staying with us and I hope to hear from you soon.

Warm regards,
Eva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Decent, comfortable hotel and the price is right. Service is a mix - some employees going out of their way to make you comfortable, while others appear uninterested. Restaurant is decent. However, my main criticism would be that the whole place lacks a little character - perhaps this will develop over time though. Certainly a fine choice for a stopover in Arusha

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Sacha K,

I am glad you concluded that Planet Lodge is "a fine choice for a stopover in Arusha." As you might agree, perception of character is not universal because most of our customers have complemented the decor, gardens, staff and overall ambiance of the lodge. We have never received a customer complaint about it... We thank you for choosing to stay with us and wish you a Happy Holiday season.

Warm regards,
Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for two evenings (before and after a Kili hike) and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. As noted by other reviewers, the rooms are located in yurt style houses (4 rooms per house) but they are modern, solid and very clean. The "walled" grounds are spacious and peaceful and the main reception and restaurant have a contemporary yet inviting feel. There is free wifi and some of the units have televisions. The location, however, may be an issue for some people. The lodge is located outside of Arusha so if you want to go into town, you would need to hire a taxi for about 7 USD one way. We took advantage of the laundry service following our return from a 7 day hike of Kilimanjaro and found the prices were quite high. The meals were very good however and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here one night upon arrival and then after climbing Mount Meru (the mountain in the background of most of the pictures of Planet Lodge) and we were very happy with our stay. The rooms remind me of a yurt or bungalo sort of construction, but are much more solid. Nice big bed, mosquito net (we certainly didnt need during our visit), secure location, etc. All positives. As we traveled in from Kilimanjaro Airport, it was like going from night to day. Lots of dusty roads, busy streets, and lower level housing and then suddenly you go through the gate to Planet Lodge and boom! Clean, secure, open, friendly staff, good atmosphere. The hot water for the showers is controlled from within the room so you have to turn it on for 10-15 minutes before your shower. As long as you wait, plenty of hot water. As another reviewer mentioned, that post-climb shower is so thoroughly appreciated. Free wifi was a bonus since it was nice to check in and let people at home know we made it and then later it would be a good way to check in for a flight if you needed to. One note that service and explanations seemed a little slow, but that may just have been that we needed to slow down from being used to living in the New York City area. I didn't notice it when we came back after our trek up Meru! Thumbs up all around to Planet Lodge as a launchpad for Tanzania!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here at the end of a Kilimanjaro climb, so the showers will always remain a memory!! Nice semi-detatched lodges in style of round huts in nice gardens on the edge of the town. Spacious reception and dining building in which to relax with pleasant garden. Food of decent quality. Overall a good value and pleasant stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hattamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
8.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
4.3 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Lodge

Property: Planet Lodge
Address: Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Planet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Arusha, Planet Lodge will captivate you with the natural beauty of the Tanzanian landscape. Our unique African village styled accommodations offers you a peaceful sanctuary where you can unwind and connect with nature. Situated on 4.5 acres of lush gardens with views of Mount Meru, this African retreat places you in the center of that delicate balance where nature and casual living intersect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Planet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing