We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Planet Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Planet Lodge
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Wilson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Planet Lodge both before and after our Safari. The grounds are beautiful with lodges which each have two rooms, and each room with a private porch. When we arrived from camping during our safari we were greeting with hot face towels and glasses of cold, fresh juice. The service was amazing, from the restaurant to the bar, to the front office. There was snag with our reservations due to the slight language mistranslation, but it was handled quickly and effortlessly. The Lodge offered shuttle service to downtown Arusha as well as back and forth from either the Arusha Airport, or Kilimanjaro Airport for a small fee. I would recommend Planet Lodge to anyone staying in Arusha!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Liz G,

Thank you for the "great" review! We appreciate the time you took to share your experience and we hope to host you and your husband for longer stay in the future.

Warm regards,
Eva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    205
    46
    7
    1
See reviews for
74
187
37
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at Planet Lodge both before and after our safari. The hotel was wonderful with a friendly staff, excellent food and good accommodations. The hotel is very safe and only a short drive from the Arusha airport. The only minus I had were that the WiFi is spotty in rooms away from the main lodge. The staff was also very helpful when there was a miscommunication about dates for my room. I had originally booked 2 non-consecutive dates but they had scheduled me for 2 consecutive dates. They quickly made the changes and even finding a way to fit me in when they were already booked. I highly recommend the hotel and although it's new I think it will be a great resort as it continues to grow.

Room Tip: If WiFi is important to you try and get a room near the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFGroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear KFGroh,

Thank you for choosing our lodge for your recent stay in Arusha. We are happy to hear that you had such a great time and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Your feedback on wifi coverage and booking miscommunication have been shared with our team as we are always looking for ways to improve our services and amenities.

Warm regards,
Eva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This nice quiet hotel, with lovely grounds, consists of a number of lodges, each with 2 large, clean, air-conditioned rooms.

The grounds are beautifully maintained with many spectacular flowers. There is also a small swimming pool.

We stayed out of season, and the restaurant was missing several dishes and what was provided was of variable quality: from very good to average. One one of our days there was no breakfast buffet and the resulting confusion was Fawlty Towers like, with us ending up with nearly every buffet option on our table, whether we asked for it or not.

The staff are all super friendly.

I give the accommodation four stars and the restaurant 3 stars, but the restaurant may be more reliable in season.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_H_from_Lincs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Tim_H_from_Lincs_UK,

Thank you for choosing us for your recent visit to Arusha. We are happy to hear you had a good time. As you noticed, our ground in a quiet setting with air conditioned rooms are quite popular with our guests.

Likewise your observation on menu options and breakfast service in the off season are well noted and will be shared with the respective sections. We apologize if the service was not as seamless as you would have liked but we still hope to have you back on a future visit.

Warm regards,
Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here after a rugged 4-day safari of camping out in the bush in tents. We were dropped off at the hotel by our safari guide so we arrived covered in brown dust and nappy hair.

We were warmly greeted by the reception desk and immediately served a cold glass of fresh tropical juice along with a moist face cloth. Such a nice touch!

Our room was completely luxurious and I'm not just saying that because we spent the last 3 nights in a tent! Large PLUSH bed--shocking since most of the mattresses we had encountered during our stay in Arusha were foam. A nice little balcony and plenty of windows for natural light in the room.

The breakfast was enjoyable with eggs made to order and they have BACON! What?! Fresh juice and tropical fruit as well. We didn't eat here for dinner as we were enamored with the amazing Indian food from the Impala Hotel so we took a taxi there for dinner.

This is a great bargain for the amount of luxury offered!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DhaleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My family and I (husband and 3 children) stayed at Planet Lodge before and after our safari. The staff was extremely helpful and hospitable. They even installed a TV in our children's room for our return visit (without us asking), above and beyond what they needed to do. The rooms are clean and big, with comfortable beds. The food is good. The grounds are lovely, and there is a nice little pool and a lovely playground with 2 trampolines, which our kids loved! The reception area is large and comfortable. Even though our safari company didn't communicate to the hotel that we needed a late checkout, the manager let us stay well past the check-out time. The only thing I would suggest is that there be a connecting door between the 2 rooms in each hut. Our kids slept in one room and we in another, but they had to go outside to get to our room. Not a big deal for older kids, but not so convenient for little ones. That's a small thing, though, in comparison to the wonderful service and lovely facilities. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Kathryn S, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write. We appreciate your kind comments regarding Planet Lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed being of service to your family. Asante for choosing us, and we will look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Arusha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is the place to stay in Arusha - the staff are all exceedingly helpful and friendly. The rooms are nice, nothing fancy but clean, comfortable, safe and peaceful. the grounds for this hotel are beautiful, with a gorgeous view of Mt. Meru in the background.

Will definitely stay here again on subsequent visits to Arusha!!!

Room Tip: if something isnt right when you check in, make sure to speak up - the staff is very accommodating t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hi-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed several nights at Planet Lodge in February and March this year while in and out of the bush on a month long safari. The entire property is very attractive with excellent landscaping, and a spacious well built reception building. The security is good while at the same time being inconspicuous. The rooms are clean, very comfortable and well equipped. Aircon is being installed in most, if not all, the rooms but I prefer the fans and open windows. The Roundel style is attractive and offers a more convenient style than the traditional hotel set up. We found the dinning room to be well designed, the food to be of a high standard and the staff are first rate. They are all genuinely friendly and eager to do everything they can to ensure your stay is enjoyable. I have traveled frequently to Tanzania during the past 10 years and stayed at a lot of different places before and after my safari's and I think the Planet Lodge offers the best combination of quality and value for money I have experienced. I feel very much at home at Planet Lodge. Murray Robinson Vancouver, B.C.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Mr. Murray,

Your compliments and 5/5 review is sincerely appreciated. We thrive to offer a good balance of quality and value for money. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our garden, rooms, meals and interactions with staff. We enjoyed having you with us and consider both of you to be part of the family.

Karibuni tena nyumbani!

~Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
916 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
551 reviews
8.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
61 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#10 of 41 in Arusha
87 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 41 in Arusha
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Lodge

Property: Planet Lodge
Address: Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Planet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Arusha, Planet Lodge will captivate you with the natural beauty of the Tanzanian landscape. Our unique African village styled accommodations offers you a peaceful sanctuary where you can unwind and connect with nature. Situated on 4.5 acres of lush gardens with views of Mount Meru, this African retreat places you in the center of that delicate balance where nature and casual living intersect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Planet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing