We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheery and inviting hotel and restaurant”
Review of Christina House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Christina House
Ranked #9 of 104 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marblemount, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cheery and inviting hotel and restaurant”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We spent three nights at Christina's and had a good experience. I can't say enough about Christina or her family members who help run the place. They are very, very kind and welcoming and go out of their way to help with extra things like arranging trips, laundry and even borrowing Christina's computer to use. The rooms are comfortable and like everyone else says, the food is absolutely amazing. Just about the best food we had in Tanzania.

Christina's is about a 15-minute drive out of town, but she can arrange a ride for you via a relative, a taxi or bus. She also helped us get the bus to Dar right from her place rather than going into the bus station in Arusha.

Only two drawbacks: there's not a lot to walk to from Christina's, if that's your thing, and there's some road noise from the very busy road in the front. The road quiets down at night and we had no problem sleeping, but during the day it's definitely audible.

It's a great place to stay overall and it was nice to do business with a wonderful Tanzanian like Christina.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    26
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
34
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at Christina House before and after our Safari, just three weeks ago. It's a very nice place with super friendly staff that made us very welcoming.
The rooms are clean and comfy and the food is AMAZING. We stayed for New Years eve, and Christina and the girls in the kitchen cooked the whole day to prepare an amazing buffet dinner, with lots of different meat, fish, currys and bbq. After our Safari Christina even remembered that I like chicken, so we've got chicken curry for dinner.The portions were huge and we barely could finish it.

It's a bit outside Arusha, but after we spend one afternoon in Arusha, we didn't feel like we were missing a thing not to stay in town. It's far better to be outside of the hustle and bustle and the drive in a dalla dalla is always a great experience ;).

So we highly recommend to stay here if you look for a budget acco with great vibe and awesome food!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We booked a safari that had us staying at the Outpost Lodge or Oasis in Arusha at the start and end of our safari but I checked the reviews at they were very mixed. While looking up reviews of restaurants in Arusha I noticed that Christina House was #1 and also provided accommodation that had great reviews so we changed our accommodations in Arusha to her B&B and are we ever glad we did. Mama Christina will welcome you with a fresh juice and a big hug. You will instantly feel welcome! Her place is stunning. It's like a little castle and the dining tables are made from giant slabs of wood, she designed it all herself! She also has a beautiful garden. The food is delicious, we stayed 3 nights and just let her serve us whatever she wanted each night so it was a surprise. Each meal usually consisted of a soup, and then about 4 or 5 pots each with something different in them, and fresh fruit for dessert. Genuine quality African home cooking, easily the best we had in Tanzania. Most people in Tanzania eat Ugali however, and she won't make it unless you ask. I think you should at least try it once while you're in Tanzania.

As far as the rooms, everything is great, like anywhere the power goes out sometimes. The mosquito bed nets do not quite reach the ground so I would tuck them in under the matress. There is no wi-fi internet (like most places) but if you need to check your email Christina will let you use her computer. Otherwise there are a couple of internet cafe's in Arusha. Christina House is a little out of town, about 10km, and not a walkable distance but it's easy to hop on the Dala Dala (local mini-bus) for 400 TSH. Or you can take a taxi but they're quite expensive, I recommend the Dala Dala as it's how the locals travel. When coming back from Arusha, don't come back in the dark the first time because you might struggle to find it. You need to take the Dala Dala for Tengeru (ten-gay-roo) and get off at the Chama stop (remind the guy who mans the door where you want to get off). It's normally 10 minutes but could take a half hour during evening rush hour. Once you get off just walk back towards Arusha for maybe 200 meters and you'll see Christina's.

With the location being out of town it's definitely less convenient than staying somewhere that's walking distance from the city center, but there is -nothing- to do in Arusha after the sun sets at 7:00 and it's not exactly a charming city. All the shops close down, the streets empty, and frankly it gets a little sketchy because it's so dark. It was well worth having to take the Dala Dala (which was a interesting experience) to stay at Mama Christina's beautiful B&B and not have to go anywhere for the best food in Arusha each night. No brainer if you ask me!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ironman224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
's-Hertogenbosch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I am visiting Christina house at least 2 times a year and every time it is a very nice stay. The hospitality and food always very good. I have a great respect for a woman like Christina. A real African lady who is doining almost everything to make your stay confortable. If you looking for a place likee this Christina house says KARIBU.

Mzee Kipara of Shubi foundation The Netherlands

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We spent one night there, and enjoyed the food, the nice rooms and Christina hospitality. It was a great place to be after a week of safari.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aachen
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Christina is the best. She picked us up from the bus, and was supporting us with great local food. Everything was homemade und really good. The place is clean and very nice. The price is for the quality of the stay incedible.
Go for it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christer412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genting Highlands, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Beautiful garden, very nice style, super kitchen and so kind staff. A must

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
6.5 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.7 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
4.0 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#5 of 104 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
4.3 mi away
L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christina House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christina House

Property: Christina House
Address: Chama, Kwapole near Tengeru along Arusha-Moshi road | about 3km to Nelson Mandela Institute of Science and Technology, Arusha +255, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christina house is the Mini African styled lodge which serves normally local food, other cuisines are served on request. Christina House is in the northern circuit of Tanzania in Arusha which is the tourist town. Christina House arrange safaris to the national parks and mountain climbing Mt Kilimanjaro and Meru. At Christina House we have the program of cultural tourism where by we make sure our costumers experience the difference and we keep them within the community. Staying at Christina House you will be helping the women and children because 10 percent of the income goes to the non-profit organization (women hope of Tanzania). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Christina House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing