We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slithering sight”

Meserani Snake Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Meserani Snake Park Guided Day Tour in Arusha
Ranked #10 of 62 things to do in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slithering sight”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Was humbled by the park owners decision to use all gate collections for medicare of the locals bitten by the snakes around the area. That was probably the best spent USD25 ever! Kudos to them for the kindness to the locals.

The guide that took us round (Frankie) was very patient and knowledgeable though they didn't have a big selection of snakes.

I wonder why that lone monkey is in the facility ... shouldn't it have a mate? It looked rather dejected.

All in all, Meserani is a place I'd recommend visitors to check out if not for the snakes then at least make a contribution to help those bitten by snakes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RasDunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    88
    39
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Okay for an overnight stop over”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A quite small green campsite, which can get quite crowded during peak seasons its pretty basic. The shared showers lacked cleanliness at times and one guest slipped and injured herself on wet floor during my stay as there were no bath mats. The bar is lively and well stocked and a great place to hang out with other world travelers as its a hotspot for over landing groups. For snake lovers its a paradise..there are too many in a lot of different varieties both poisonous and non-poisonous in glass cages. The park supports local community and there are fun things like camel rides, village tours etc to do. The local market, bus stop and the village is just outside the park gates and are excellent for exploring on foot.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank svetlanabaghawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Meserani Snake Park”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went to the Meserani Snake Park last week for our son's 4th birthday. (not a party, just a family outing!)

I have to say, I was quite impressed with this attraction! Our guide spoke very good English and seemed to know a LOT about the snakes, not just what was written on their glass displays. And he was quite patient with our kids, even lifting up our son to see everything. I found it interesting that the snake park has an emergency area where anyone can come (or be brought) for treatment from snake bites.

The snake park also takes in some stray animals and helps rehabilitate them, which I think is a really good thing. When we were there they had some owls and birds. (including a stunning goshawk and two cute barn owls)

And, included with admission price was a tour of a Masaai museum across the road, which I found quite interesting. There are so many Masaai around the area and it's nice to learn about their culture.

Oh yes, and we got to hold snakes (even me!) and see them being fed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha T
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good camping support the local community.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

BJ and Ma run this place and have done so for years. They have huge camping grounds with clean toilet and shower blocks. They welcome a lot of the big overland tour groups each day and have a brilliant bar to do so. The Snake Park zoo section is very important to this region, they supply antivenom to snake attacks in the area. Money raised from your entry, camping and drinking also support a medical clinic and orphanage - these guys are supporting this community so feel free to make an extra donation and support a very good cause.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gypsy_traveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I went here together with a big group. The snake park itself was like I expected - displays of many different snakes, among them the dangerous black mamba. The best time to visit is Sundays at 2pm, since that is the feeding time. We were there earlier and had to leave before, but we still got to see feeding of 2 snakes for a small tip to one of the staff. The snake park also has a couple of birds and animals, however in bad conditions. You can see crocodiles in different sizes and big lizards. It's also possible to hold both small crocodiles and snakes. Outside the park, you can ride on a camel for only TSH 1000 or 2000 (?) and there's also a masaai cultural heritage center. This is really worth a visit. There are displays of typical clothing, weapons and gear. Bring a guide with you so he can explain the different things.

Meserani snake park is definitely worth a visit! Not very cheap though, and be ware that they suddenly can change the price if they see you are a tourist. We had negotiated a price over the phone, but when we got there the price was 3x more so we had to negotiate again. But all in all, a much better and more varied experienced than I'd thought :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiccabom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meserani Snake Park also viewed

 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Meserani Snake Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing