We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Start to My Trip”
Review of Legendary Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Legendary Lodge
Ranked #8 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Start to My Trip”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The lodge was beautiful and the friendly staff made our stay a complete joy. After our long flight from DC to Kilimanjaro, the Legendary Lodge was a true gift. My only complaint is that we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheltydog2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
27
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the Arusha Legendary Lodge for only one night, but everything about it was excellent. The rooms are spacious and tasteful, the staff helpful, and the grounds lush and well-manicured. It is a working coffee plantation, and therefore has great coffee and a wonderful colonial "Out of Africa" feel. The food is superb-- much better than what we encountered elsewhere in Tanzania. Highly recommended if you are traveling through Arusha.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDWny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent five nights he before starting our safari. A beautiful lodge, great decor and world class food. Russell, Florida, Lauren and the whole staff cater to your every need. Each room has different decorations. Some have outdoor showers. Most have mini bars and safes in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millie4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A beautiful lodge, with large comfortable rooms, excellent service and delicious food. The bathrooms are exquisite, as is the decor of the entire lodge. This was a really welcome oasis after our long journey. It is also very well geared toward families, as the staff and management went out of their way to ensure our 3 year old was well looked after, entertained, and well fed. The gardens are lovely and large enough that our little one could run around and get rid of all his excess energy, while not disturbing any other guests. They even stationed a staff member outside the room while we were at dinner to listen if he woke up. Truly a great experience, I just wish we had booked a few more nights there.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to look out on the large gardens, so would recommend any deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCinAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2012

A stunning lodge, with such tasteful decor and absolute comfort. After a trip on safari, I couldn't have asked for a better place to recollect. The staff and food were amazing. The lodge offers such tranquility and beauty. Wish I could have stayed longer. Russel thank you for such great hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandhya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Fabulous food, wonderful staff and luxury accommodations makes Legendary Lodge a must from anyone traveling in Tanzania. We would not stay anywhere else in Arusha. Whatever our request, the staff was there to assist us. Wonderful amenities in the room and the view of Mount Meru is spectacular to wake up to in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

What an absolutely stunning lodge in Arusha!!
I stayed for 1 night before going to the Serengeti.
It is the perfect 1 night pre and/or post safari, conveniently located close to the Arusha Airport.
The cottage’s are enormous, fully equipped with all the necessary and beautifully decorated.
The beds are really comfy especially after a long flight, the gardens are huge and the food is delicious.
The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming, I found myself not wanting to leave.
This amazing lodge really has that “Out of Africa” feel, being situated on a working coffee farm.
It really was a memorable stay – Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
4.9 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
910 reviews
15.6 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
8.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
416 reviews
3.8 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 41 in Arusha
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legendary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legendary Lodge

Property: Legendary Lodge
Address: Nairobi Road | Selian Coffee Estate, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Legendary Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing