We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the rest in peace”
Review of Kiboko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiboko Lodge
Ranked #4 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2010

'This was my third time in Tanzania. This lodge is exceptional. Good service, good prices, perfect staff and the best bed i had in Africa. My compliments for the management!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidson097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Kiboko Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 217 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2010

What a peacefull place!
Surrounded by shamba's ( small fields of farm land ) you feel as if being part of local life.
On a clear day the view of the Mount Meru is breathtaking.
The staff, mindfull of them being former street children , are ever so helpfull, with big smiles all around.
The cabins are tastefully decorated , we even had a warm coal fire going on a cold night in August, you can't get more romantic.
The food is no nonsense and well prepared.
The lodge maintains their own vegetable garden .
If you find the time, visit the start of it all , the Watoto foundation . There you get a feel of what the concept of helping these boys is all about.
Well worth your stay !!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babumartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I really think Kiboko Lodge is a unique lodge; a lodge runned by ex-streetchildren, excellent facilities and huts, a stunning view on Mount Meru and Kilimanjaro, at the border of Arusha NP and really "in the middle of nowhere" (you have to drive off-road, through banana-farms before reaching the Lodge). The food is excellent and staff is really friendly and make sure you will enjoy your stay. Even if you're a lowbudget travel this would be a perfect spot to stay, cause it's really good value for money!!!!
Tip: drink a Kilimanjaro beer at the open fire place, while listening to the sound of wild animals and whatch the sundown behind Mount Meru...! :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarjoleinAfrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

The Lodge is nice, and very good in relation with the money it is costing.
we were there with agroup of 14 people, for 4 days.
the best thing for us is, to see that street children can learn a an accupation, and they are so pleasant to stay with, to see that street children can be the best cook and servant as in a five star lodge. I have been in Afrika for 25 years now, and did not imagine, this could be done. all the money they earn is used for other street children, so if the quality shoudl be a little bit less, what is not, it is till the best place to expirian Tanzania and Africa. For every social supporter a must to stay, in comparisson with commercial lodges. we will bet here again in november with 14 people, if you go back, you know the quality is good.

Marcel Vloemans, Foundation, United Children.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vloemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We've been in Tanzania several times now. What we experienced in the Kiboko Lodge was exceptional. After staying in less pleasant lodges, this was wonderfull. The service is excellent and sleeping in great beds (extra long beds, very great for tall people) was fantastic. The time we spent in the Kiboko Lodge we will never forget. Definately see you guys again next time!

When we arrived we were welcomed by the campfire in the swamp. Drinking a beer there was a great way to start our stay at Kiboko Lodge!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna8452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I have stayed in a lot of lodges in Tanzania, but this one is excellent! A swamp with hippo's in front of my door, quiet surroundings, beautiful rooms, good food and a service with a big smile! Excellent value for a very very good price.....What makes it even more special is that the lodge is run by former streetchildren. They have learned a lot, one of them is a great cook and also the management is good!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winningspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
590 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
983 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
0.0 mi away
Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiboko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiboko Lodge

Address: Ngurdoto Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiboko Lodge is part of the Watoto Foundation, founded by former retail director Noud and Truus van Hout from The Netherlands. The foundation works to educate street children in Tanzania since 2003. Watoto Foundation is a vocational training centre. Children who suffer from addiction to drugs, glue and alcohol are given the opportunity to build a new life. The Foundation offers them the chance for an education, which will equip them with the necessary skills to find a job. This is unique in a country where 70% of the population are unemployed. Staying at Kiboko Lodge is possible from $83 per person during high season and $73 per person in low season! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing