We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiboko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiboko Lodge
Ranked #2 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
GUIPUZCOA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

A very charming and confortable boutique hotel within a magnificent environment close to Arusha National park.
The staff is really kind.
The room was very cosy.
The food was delicious
And they dont forget any detail to make your stay as a really unique experience.
Besides having an excellent accommodation, staying at this hotel, means helping a non profitable fundation to achieve their goals.
I extrongly recomend this place, and for sure if I come back to Tanzania, I will go to KIBOKO!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOTI-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    51
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
68
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This social project is truly inspiring, and the lodge and surrounding gardens a haven for wildlife and visitors. It is situated rather a long way away from the main road, so at the end of a long day, it was an interminably long and terribly bumpy journey to reach the lodge, but it proved well worth it. The food was excellent, as was the service. Dinner was delicious, and the tasty breakfast was served in a special hut-come-viewing platform. I was really pleased to support this project through my tourism.

Room Tip: It is very dark at night (unless you are there at full moon. Some of the bedrooms are a long walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for a few days in March before starting a safari.

Besides the lodge supporting a good cause, it is a very pleasant place to stay. The boys, supervised by Frank (the manager) do their very best to provide you with the best service possible and are very friendly and motivated.

Rooms are small but nice and the view on Mount Meru is amazing. Food is ok, portions are good. Wifi speed in the lobby sometimes sketchy.

All in all, good bang for your buck, a good cause, authentic rural Tanzanian surroundings and a great view.

Would definitely stay here

Room Tip: Ask for room facing viewing the Mt Meru
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiz o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

As the "eco tourism" business picks up speed, the idea of a community-focused and sustainable lodge experience is clearly a step above the rest. That it pulls it off shouldn't be a surprise - the foundation that runs it focuses on strict training and apprenticeships to meet rigorous standards.

We were fortunate enough to be there for the unveiling of their pizza oven - and perhaps with the exception of Blue Heron, it was the best pizza we've had in Arusha.

The location is a bit of the beaten path, but it offers a great views of Meru, a feeling of immersion in nature, and a great concept to boot. The rooms are just the right size, have nice showers, and even a fireplace.

That said, there were a few key improvements:
- dinner one night was half an egg over rice with the previous night's curry sauce and tomato soup. It seemed like an accident, as we had great chicken curry the night before and a huge meal of kebabs, chicken, and pizza the following day for lunch. A simple explanation would have helped.
- they "arrange" transport, but at a listed price of $50 each way, that's the cost of a night there. While the road is rough, they need to find a better solution, perhaps by building it into the price of operations.
- the "full board" didn't include drinks - of any kind. Water, wine, and beer were all charged to the bill. None of this was mentioned, and they freely offered "would you like anything to drink" very courteously, but just be forewarned. Furthermore, without a selection of anything (e.g. one red, one beer), they were significantly overcharging on each.

Bottom line: recommended, but just know what's in the package.

Room Tip: Room 1, Simba is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at Kiboko lodge as a base for exploring Arusha National Park. The staff were welcoming; indeed the word "karibu" or "welcome" was repeated often. We had a delightful bungalow overlooking the swampland and were told that there was often had a resident hippo visiting during rainy season. The bungalow was very comfortable, with an interesting layout separating shower and toilet area. There was free wifi in the lobby. The meals were simple but of excellent quality and the staff went out of their way to attend to our every need. We really enjoyed our stay and recommend Kiboko Lodge and the staff highly. Given the aims of the project funding the lodge (supporting the occupational training of children from the streets) we would encourage others to come and see what it's all about!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Kiboko Lodge is run by former street kids who have been trained to the highest standard. This is a wonderful place to stay.

It is located in rural Tanzania about 45 min drive from Kilimanjaro. We stayed for 3 nights and could have stayed longer. All staff are well trained and attend to your every need.

We asked at the very last minute I it was possible to organize a safari into the Arusha national park and by the next
Morning there was a car waiting and we had a brilliant day out.

We paid for full board and the food was amazing. Plenty of food cooked brilliantly! It was incredible that it was the cook's second day after graduating from their training program.

The beds are huge and extremely comfortable and it's breathtaking to look up at the sky after dinner and see a sky lit up with stars.

Extremely well priced accommodation, with an added bonus that by staying there you are helping to support a fantastic place, who helps boys improve their quality of life.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeanderingMoose14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

At first look, Kiboko Lodge was a bit daunting. It is an 8km. drive down a very bumpy dirt road from the main highway and it would appear that you are driving into the middle of nowhere. Well, in a way, that is true. It is an oasis in the middle of jungle and banana plantations.
The staff are lovely boys who are striving very hard to improve their way of life and take great care of each and every guest. Their english is to be applauded. No request is too big for them.
Food is excellent. In fact, my only complaint would be that they gave us too much!
Very delightful place to visit. I would go back again in a heartbeat. Cried all the way to the airport when it was time to leave and still keep in touch with some of the staff.
100% recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 149 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ilboru Safari Lodge
Ilboru Safari Lodge
#4 of 149 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.0 mi away
L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiboko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiboko Lodge

Property: Kiboko Lodge
Address: Ngurdoto Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiboko Lodge is part of the Watoto Foundation, founded by former retail director Noud and Truus van Hout from The Netherlands. The foundation works to educate street children in Tanzania since 2003. Watoto Foundation is a vocational training centre. Children who suffer from addiction to drugs, glue and alcohol are given the opportunity to build a new life. The Foundation offers them the chance for an education, which will equip them with the necessary skills to find a job. This is unique in a country where 70% of the population are unemployed. Staying at Kiboko Lodge is possible from $83 per person during high season and $73 per person in low season! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing