We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Kiboko Lodge Adventure”
Review of Kiboko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiboko Lodge
Ranked #2 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“A Kiboko Lodge Adventure”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Our arrival at Kilimanjaro airport was late and out trip to Kiboko in the almost total darkness. We arrived to a cheerful and welcoming crew, settled in and then gathered for a delicious 1am meal in their spacious lodge. To us it was earlier as we had not yet adjusted to the eight hour time change.
We woke to the splendor of Kiboko, fruit trees full of bananas, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples growing by the walkway, wooden pathways through beautiful terrain. We gathered in the pavillion for breakfast, again sumptious, then walked the grounds and gardens (much of their food is grown right there) before heading out. It is a paradise, secluded and idyllic. The staff is attentive, friendly, and eager to show off the place and to tell its story. I certainly recommend if highly and only regret that out time there was so brief.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    51
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
69
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I just had my third stay at Kiboko Lodge. Although the staff has changed the former streetchildren are improving their hospitality skills. Food is good, staff is friendly, the surroundings are spectaculair and the rooms clean, albeit on the small side. A nice place to stay as a safari start, or safari break!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winningspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I definetly agree with elbe-nyc, the best part of the lodge is the staff. They are so warm and did their best to make our stay a pleasant one! The lodge is also very close to Arusha National Park, the home of the Black and White Colubus Monkey, with many other activities such as various hiking track, including to Mt. Meru. The food was good, overall, a good place to start or to end your safari!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emiparman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The best part of Kiboko lodge is the people. The staff is so helpful, warm and welcoming! On our first night the staff taught us how to do the "high five" dance and we had a drink around the fireplace with staffers. During our stay we ran into some hiccups with our travel plans and the staff went ABOVE and beyond to help us figure out last-minute alternative plans. We wound up doing a day hike of Mount Meru and then mountainbiking through the village and it was one of the best days of our trip. The lodge itself is clean and the rooms are a great value for the price. It feels very authentic as you drive in through a road lined with homes, farms and local shops. I would highly recommend staying here if you are in transit to Kilimanjaro or planning to visit Arusha National park which is just 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elbe-nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tubize
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

After a wonderful safari through southern and northern tanzanian national parks we passed our 2 last nights in this little paradise run by former street children. It was wonderful, the staff was great, the rooms were very clean, the food was very good, the location was splendid. The right place to process all the memories of a beautiful journey. Congratulations with your achievements.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marleen_tubize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This was my third time in the lodge. Over time the boys really get into the ritme of the day to day running of the lodge. They feel at ease with the guests and have always a smile on their faces.
The go out of their way trying to make everybody feel at home.
The rooms are spottless, the food is given what they charge, of good quality and the service always tentative.
Rinus, the new manager, is a great guy to have a talk with
The lodge itself is perfectly located and even the kiboko showed itself on the days we were there.
All in all a great place to be at really affordable prices.
A must when you visit Tanzania
Babu Martijn

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babumartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed here after our safari for one night. After a nice trip from the main road to the lodge the welcome was very friendly. The room and especially the tea room were very nice! The staff, former streetkids, is enthousiastic and professional, also the food was very good! We talked with the manager about the idea behind this lodge and it's a really great project. We definitely recommend this place, you might even see Kiboko (the house hippo)!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronaldhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 166 in Arusha
721 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
0.0 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiboko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiboko Lodge

Property: Kiboko Lodge
Address: Ngurdoto Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiboko Lodge is part of the Watoto Foundation, founded by former retail director Noud and Truus van Hout from The Netherlands. The foundation works to educate street children in Tanzania since 2003. Watoto Foundation is a vocational training centre. Children who suffer from addiction to drugs, glue and alcohol are given the opportunity to build a new life. The Foundation offers them the chance for an education, which will equip them with the necessary skills to find a job. This is unique in a country where 70% of the population are unemployed. Staying at Kiboko Lodge is possible from $83 per person during high season and $73 per person in low season! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing