We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Eat”
Review of Picasso

Picasso
Ranked #7 of 111 Restaurants in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

One of the best places we ate at. Good food, reasonable price, nice music, good atmosphere, and the staff seamed great. We went here because a friend, who lives here, brought us here. This is one of his favourite places.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B3GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    53
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Breakfast and lunch”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I only had breakfast and lunch in Picasso, but it is also opened for diner. Good selection of omelettes, coffee is good. Lunch menu has few salads and sandwiches. Nice sitting outdoors. Free wifi. Reasonably good service. Average Arusha expat prices - breakfast $10-$15, lunch $15-$20. Located near Impala hotel.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeekeeperStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Really great little restaurant”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have been going here since it first opened and loved it. When it changed management I must admit that I wrote it off thinking it would not be the same however I have had lunch there four times in the last three months and have been really impressed. It is not fine dining, but a casual restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating and a nice atmosphere. A good selection of meals, sandwiches and salads along with great cakes. The carrot cake is without a doubt the best I have had in Tanzania. Sometimes the service can be a bit hit and miss but if you ignore this you have a lovely place for lunch. I do know they are open at night but have not been there in the evenings so cannot comment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We visited Picasso on a Sunday when our favourite restaurant in Arusha (Blue Heron) was closed. And I really wish that Blue Heron hadn’t been closed, as our food at Picasso was terrible, as was the service.

We both ordered pizza because they have a wood- fire oven, however it turns out they only use the oven to “finish off” the pizza, not really to cook it. The pizza base was awful, I’m pretty sure it was a pre-packed one out of plastic in the freezer and the toppings equally bad. The price was not particularly cheap either so I would expect much, much better.

The service was SLOW and unhelpful. We had waiters wondering around aimlessly and avoiding eye contact as much as possible even though we were only one of three tables busy at the time. And the restaurant sits virtually in a carpark, not the nicest atmosphere.

Avoid if you can!

http://postcardsfromeastafrica.blogspot.com/2012/07/arusha-and-climbing-mount-kilimanjaro.html

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skierniewice, Poland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD GOOD Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

One of the better eateries in Arusha, good atmosphere and service.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picasso also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing