We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opening night for evening food did no favours”
Review of Picasso

Picasso
Ranked #7 of 111 Restaurants in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Malawi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Opening night for evening food did no favours”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Now under new management and open in the evenings, 6 of us went on opening night, there were only 2 other tables and the food took between 75 and 100 minutes to arrive, the 100 minutes was for a starter portion of Onion rings!
Very bad value (3 calamari rings were US$5.50) and please see the photo of the onion rings I have put up, not at all what one would expect for "Battered onion rings" for US$4, took 100 mins and were sent back as they were cold! there were other dishes that were equally bad value, Peri-Peri Queen prawns were really shrimps, one of our group had a good experience with the soup of the day, but overall a very bad experience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justyn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    53
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Food!”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We visited Picasso a few times during our three weeks in Arusha in July/August 2010. The food is nice if very expensive. Nice place when you want a bit of luxury and touristy relaxation! Will def be heading back when I'm back in Arusha soon.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkunga50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We ate here in 2009 and returned this year in Feb. We were a group of 7 and all had an excellent meal. Would recommend it and would return next time we are in Arusha. It gets very busy at lunchtime so get there early!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ferdyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Lunch in Tanzania!”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

After spending ten days in Tanzania (including Dar es Salam, Zanzibar, Pemba, and Chumbe Island), I rank this restaurant the best place for lunch! You have to try their panini with bacon, avocado, and Camembert cheese. The fresh salad included my favorite, pine nuts. OK, so the server tried to multi-task, but the ambieance is wonderful--sitting outside. Too expensive for locals, so you will see lots of ex-pats

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terrific food and coffee.”
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Good range of starters, mains and desserts, including some good vegetarian options. Service is generally good, and service time 10-12 minutes; food is always fresh.

Busy at lunchtimes, but a good place to meet or hang out mornings and afternoons.

In a land which grows some of the best coffee in the world, most restaurants have terrible (stale, poorly prepared) coffee, but Picasso's coffee is terrific. Owners and staff take pride in it, and use a local grower and roaster.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonorafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picasso also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing