We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, views and wildlife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was my first stay at a more upmarket lodge and until now I hadn't realised that there could really be much of a difference between that and a city hotel. Ngare Sero really showed me that a beautiful place to stay can be all you need for a relaxing yet stimulating break away.
The food was expertly prepared and the ingredients were fresh, local and of the highest quality. I can't remember a more enjoyable breakfast; smoked trout eggs benedict, fresh tropical juice, home baked brown bread and just-baked granola and yoghurt with gallons of delicious strong coffee grown from Kili (which sits just above the trees) is my idea of heaven. The food was only topped by the view of dozens of monkeys and hornbills dancing around on the fruit trees just next to the veranda enjoying their own morning meals.
My thanks to Tim and Katya for a thoroughly enjoyable couple of days, will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliverK796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 149 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

A group of 9 of us stayed for a night either end of our safari and had wonderful stays at Ngare Sero. I have stayed before and loved the place and the rest of the group agree. It a perfect place to relax. Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachLSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My wife and I recently spent several days in Arusha with friends and family. I frankly wish more of those days had been spent at Ngare Sero. It is the best place I know of to stay in Arusha. Highly recommended. It truly is an oasis on the edge of a busy, bustling city. True, the city has grown too close but for me the sense of oasis was always there. The old colonial-era buildings, beautifully maintained and with perfect decor, definitely give the feel of an earlier time. Fresh trout from their own trout stream! What a bonus that was at mealtime. High kudos to the kitchen for wonderful meals. Our room was quite large with a good bathroom, sitting room with couch, and lovely front porch looking out over the large lawn and gardens. Wonderful feeling of tranquility in Arusha.

Room Tip: This is not lodging that is within walking distance from town. You'll need a cab, which is easi...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My wife and I have now stayed at the Ngare Sero Lodge three years running and it just keeps getting better. Tim and Katya know how to make us feel right at home and the service is flawless. One thing I think about when traveling in third world countries is "how safe is the food" (what a drag to get really sick so far from home). Ngare Sero Lodge has very high standards and wonderful organic gardens which provides terrific food served family style. I will return many times in the future. It is so peaceful, relaxing and interesting to be there . . . can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in the garden are sensational . . . cleaned every day and totally safe.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Was celebrating 2012 New Year in this place. Very tasty food, amazing territory with lakes, salmon farm and forest. Lodge has view to Kilimanjaro and has everything that its needed (including good quality massage!) to relax after climbing and safari.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YuliaKnopka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Unlike most lodges in Arusha which were built in a past decade or so, Ngare
Sero is a place with a 100-year-long history. The main house of the lodge
was built in 1905 by Germans who started coffee and rubber plantations in
the area. After the 1st world war the place changed hands to English
Government, and after the 50¹s it was a ³haunted ghost house². 40 years ago
Mike and Gisella Leach restored the property and turned it into one of the
first lodges in Arusha area. Their son Timothy is now running the lodge and
together with his Russian fiancée Katya is helping to make sure that guests
who come to stay here feel like home.
Me and my girlfriends stayed at the pool suites and spent most of our time
chilling in a 30 meter swimming pool surrounded by the garden with flowers,
aloe cactus and ginger. There are beautiful horses to ride, lake for boating
and forests with rare black-n-white colobus and Sykes monkeys and lots of
birds.
Some of the Tanzanian staff have worked here for more than 15 years, and
they all were very helpful and nice. The food was great ­ fresh and
delicious from organic vegetable gardens. Our favorite dish was rainbow
trout which comes from their own fish farm.
At sunset you can see the spectacular snow cap of Kilimanjaro from the
balcony of the main building. And after dark the best thing to do is sip
wine next to the fireplace in the cozy living room downstairs.
There is a nice shop at the reception where you can buy hand-picked local
crafts ­ Masai jewelry, wood carvings and simple clothes made from African
fabrics by local charity organizations. We didn¹t want to go to town, and we
bought all our souvenirs here.
For us it was a perfect place to stay before and after our safari, were we
could rest, relax and enjoy being in nature. I felt like home when I was
here and I hope to be back some day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I have been leading a group of 10 Russian clients on safari in Northern Safari circuit this January. Most people rush in an out of Arusha spending only one night there before and after the flight. We spent 3 days in Ngare Sero before and 3 days after our safari and it turned out to be the best thing to do.
People had time to rest, enjoy massages in the garden spa, ride lodge horses, fish and enjoy boat rides on the trout lake, walk in the forest with colobus and sykes monkeys and numerous species of birds. We also went on a culture tour organized by the lodge to a local Wameru village and a school and gave presents to the local orphanage. We had a new year's eve party dancing and singing with a local church choir and a drum-n-bass singer from NYC.

The staff, from directors and reception managers to housekeeping mamas, were taking very good care of us and the quality of food was very good - even my high-end clients who stayed in most expensive lodges in Ngorongoro and Serengeti (700-1500$ a night) remarked that nowhere on their safari did they eat so well as in Ngare Sero. The food was healthy and wholesome served as a family style buffet, bringing people together at every meal in a cozy dining room. In the evenings we all gathered for wildlife documentaries in the Home Theater located in the living room of the main building. And we never had a shortage of things to do - the 30 meter pool with a view on Mt Meru on a clear day, bubbly drinks on the veranda with a Kili view, comfortable rooms for midday rest - it was a really beautiful experience.

By the time we got back after our safari, it felt like we were coming back home. We were so tired after spending 8-10 hours a day in the car, that it was a joy to not have to immediately travel home. Some people had time to go to town for souvenir shopping, others decided to buy everything they need in a lodge shop which has reasonable prices. We were offered to do day activities like hiking in Arusha National Park in Mount Meru Crater or swim in a Hot Springs nearby, but we felt so good to just stay in the lodge for 3 days, rest and just enjoy being there surrounded by sounds of the forest and the lake.

I would highly recommend Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge if you are looking for a safari base in Northern Tanzania. It has the best view of Kilimanjaro in the area, a unique location and it's own little eco-system which keeps you cool while the rest of Arusha is dry and dusty, and with its 100-year long history and eco-friendly practices - it is a destination in itself. I hope you will enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RadaRaduga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.1 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 44 in Arusha
462 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
4.7 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 44 in Arusha
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 44 in Arusha
985 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 44 in Arusha
594 reviews
7.3 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 44 in Arusha
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge

Address: Nshupu Village | Meru District, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $249 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lush gardens amid forest and crystal clear waters on the slopes of Mount Meru, Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge is a wonderful place to relax and simmer in the immense beauty of East Africa. The Lodge has been adapted from an early colonial farmhouse built in the early 20th century and it is one of the oldest family lodges in Arusha.It offers only 10 garden rooms, 2 main house suites and pool cottage with 2 bedrooms, and provides personal service for its residents since 1974. Here you can spend the days amid nature, watching the changing colors of the Kilimanjaro glaciers while sipping drinks on the verandah or hiking in the forest inhabited by colobus and Sykes monkeys as well as hundreds of small animal and bird species. The Lodge is located only 30 minutes away from Kilimanjaro International Airport and Arusha town center and it is a perfect base while on safari in the northern circuit Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing