We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place, which I didn't want to leave.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Ranked #7 of 156 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The place, which I didn't want to leave.”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

In Ngare Sero I had the best relaxing rest for the last 3-4 years.
We Arrived on 30th of December and achieved a fast relaxation after 18-hours trip from Moscow to Arusha (Thanks to swimming pool, wonderful massage and a plenty of highquality sparkling wine). The fresh air, proveded by a piece of jungle around th lodge, frogs's songs in the lake and perfect beds allow to have a very good sleep.
The kitchen in the lodge consists of simple, but organic an tasty dishes. Some ingredients grow in the lodge's garden. The staff is very attentive and trys to do their best.
The selebration of the New Year 2012 combined the performance of local Christian chorus and a dj set of one of the world-known Djs. The party took place in the main building, but in the distanced apartments there was quiet.
Additionally I'd like to mention the few bonuses:
1) the horses, which one can ride around the lodge (the white one with the black spots is very friendly, and the white male should be influenced with more power to move faster);
2) the boat to float the lake and to watch birds;
3) the monkeys, which can be found in the trees near the swiming pool (oh! I'm still thinking about this pool and +28C).
4) I hadn't an allergy on the home dust in the rooms. It's a rear chance!!!!

We returned to Ngare Sero after safari on 9th of January for three more days and got the same impressions. We call such a stability by the word "quality".
It was the first time for the last 3-4 years, when I did not want to go home in two weeks of having the rest (only in 2011 I had 21 flights to the places of having rest).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorjik99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
48
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Ask any of the best safari guides! The combination of forest, lake and homely atmosphere, together with superb rooms that are styled to be timeless make this lodge unique . Don't stay in a lodge that could be anywhere in the world. Start and end your safari in Africa at Ngare Sero Mountain lodge. I always do!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Olivertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My stay at Ngare sero was undoubtedly one of my best experiences while traveling in Tanzania, with beautiful forests surrounding a cristal clear lake with an abundance of bird life and a miriad of flora and fauna which made my wonderings though out the grounds very calming and interesting- would definatly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This mountain lodge rebuilt by a civil engineer after the war is an eco haven, water power from the volcanic spring with a turbine hall irrigating the trout lakes and local farms down the mountainside. Food grown in the lodges own gardens, beautiful secluded rooms of cool earthen materials with fresh water showers, baths, and big four poster beds. Surrounded by lakes that are home to four types of frog, red and black colobus monkeys, and numerous other water birds makes this the most magical place to sleep with the constant droan of cicadas replaced by a symphony of frog chorus each night that is a truly unique experience to this resort. Delicious organic food, fresh mountain water, delightful English gardens with a long pool, and hours of punting on the lakes surrounding this 19th century lodge make for a peaceful week in anyone's book.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good as far as I could tell, we had the third one along from the lodge which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigland55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This lodge is situated in Usa River just outside Arusha. It is an extremely pretty spot in huge ground that include a trout farm. The rooms are simple but provide everything one needs for a nights stayover. The food is simple wholesome and very good value. Staff well trained and friendly. To be honest I cant think of a better place to stay in the Arusha area

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBanditt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This wonderful, spa-like reserve is built by an Englishman engineer who has been in Tanzania for over 40 years. It is a beautiful property, with all the necessary amenities including modern, great internet, pool, delicious food, horseback riding, extensive property for walks & hikes, great service. It is a crossover of English countryside feeling with secluded Africa coffee plantation, and local color. It is the perfect place to recuperate from long air travel, either before climbing the mountain or going on safari. Closer to the airport than Arusha--but a taxi ride from the unattractive city of Arusha should one need to buy specialized products such as camera accessories (we forgot some critical components).
A truly special place --which we appreciated even more in retropspect in comparison to other very nice lodges we stayed at later in the trip. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nyc20cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I spent 3 days//3 nights at charming and cozy Ngare Sero, not realizing what a true little gem I had stumbled upon! The property was lovely and well kept while lush in pockets of nature, with amazing birdlife and monkey viewing up close! Food was simple and delicious, easy to be a vegetarian. I also appreciated their environmentally friendly components and the fact that they work with the community and have established a respectful and positive relationship with the community members. Whether you plan it or not, take up the chance to enjoy a massage by Stacia, so relaxing and soothing. Horseback riding through the village was also a nice way to get perspective of the surrounds. While I went specifically for yoga and peaceful get-away, I will be going back in December as my base for safari and Mt. Kilimanjaro. Go there if you want something special in the Arusha or Moshi area!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arusha
2.1 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
7.3 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
13.4 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 156 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumeru River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge

Property: Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Address: Nshupu Village | Meru District, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 156 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lush gardens amid forest and crystal clear waters on the slopes of Mount Meru, Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge is a wonderful place to relax and simmer in the immense beauty of East Africa. The Lodge has been adapted from an early colonial farmhouse built in the early 20th century and it is one of the oldest family lodges in Arusha.It offers only 10 garden rooms, 2 main house suites and pool cottage with 2 bedrooms, and provides personal service for its residents since 1974. Here you can spend the days amid nature, watching the changing colors of the Kilimanjaro glaciers while sipping drinks on the verandah or hiking in the forest inhabited by colobus and Sykes monkeys as well as hundreds of small animal and bird species. The Lodge is located only 30 minutes away from Kilimanjaro International Airport and Arusha town center and it is a perfect base while on safari in the northern circuit Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing