We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic start to our safari”
Review of Twiga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twiga Lodge
Ranked #12 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spend our first 2 nights of safari at Twiga Lodge. Our tour operator suggested this lodge as our first full day was to be at Arusha National Park. We were so very happy with this suggestion. Beds were so comfortable that I did not even hear the commotion from the dogs and rangers when the elephants made their way into the farm next door the first night.

All meals were delicious, we were the only guests there for both nights and Paul and Erika joined us for meals, much more food than we could have ever finished. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals with them, they gave us lots of insight as to what to expect on our safari for the next 2 weeks as we travelled the Northern Circuit. BEST box lunches of our safari!

Arusha National Park is not more than a 3 minute drive from the lodge and a great park to start your safari. Only regret was we didn't have more time to do a walking tour with Paul.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBlobsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 110 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

I just stayed at Twiga for one night before heading off on safari in northern Tanzania but it was a wonderfully relaxed place to begin my trip. Paul and Erika are lovely hosts who create a super homely atmosphere while giving you time and space to do your own thing. Instead of a family dog the very impressive cockrel will come and say hello before popping into the kitchen or out to the neighbouring small farms to meet his girlfriends!

The meals were delicious and I loved the garden (and biggest blue agapanthas flowers I've ever seen) with hammock and the viewing platform for spotting wildlife in the forests beyond but sometimes giraffe and elephants come right to the property! I'll stay longer next time to make sure I explore Arusha NP with Paul too

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early October 2013 at the start of our time in Tanzania. The Lodge is only 40 minutes drive from Kilimanjaro Airport. We had a warm welcome from owners Paul and Erika. It was a perfect introduction to Tanzania and gave us time to adjust from jetlag. It is home like setting with plenty of sitting areas and books to enjoy. We spent one full day relaxing at the Lodge, wandering around the garden, bird watching and talking to the owners. Erika prepares the best gin and tonic! Meanwhile Paul and staff were meticulous in getting ready 4 self-drive safari vehicles for a large NZ group. Our second day we spent in Arusha National Park whose main gate is only minutes away from Twiga Lodge. This park gave us our first views of giraffes, zebras, black-and- white colubus monkeys and much more. The bird life was excellent with very close views of flamingos in both the Momela Lakes, much closer than was possible at Lake Natron

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebird K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Excellent Service in an absolutely beautiful location, could not possibly be closer to Arusha national Park--literally a two minute drive to get in. Gorgeous views of Mt. Meru, Erica and Paul are extremely nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My dad and I recently stayed at Twiga Lodge, Arusha. On arrival we were welcomed by the owners Erica and Paul, along with big smiles we were offered drinks and our bags taken for us to our room. Paul & Erica are just lovely and made my dad & I feel very welcome and well looked after. Once we had settled in and freshened up from our flight, Paul took us out on safari around the Arusha National park. You can tell straight away that Paul has a passion for what he does, giving us a wealth of information on the animals we got to see. It wasn't long until we had seen baboons, colobus monkeys, giraffe, water buffalo, warthog and zebra. For our very first day seeing all of these animals along with many beautiful birds was a real treat. That evening Erica prepared a beautiful meal for us, which we ate along with plenty of red wine beside the roaring fire inside their beautiful lodge dinning area. By the end of the evening I felt as if I was dinning with friends and felt totally relaxed and pampered. We slept very well that night in our room, which was cosy, homely and had all we needed.
We were sad to leave the next morning and plan that next time we visit here we must stay longer! Truly a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This lodge is quite a splurge, even by European prices, and unfortunately is not worth the bucks. It is quite a drive from Arusha, about half way between Arusha and Moshi actually, so transport to and from will be at least $50US one way on top of the hefty room price. Of course you don't have to take their meal option, but being so far removed from everything else, you will have little choice. The power frequently runs out (meaning no hot water for showering) and there were BIG spiders in my room (eek!). Although the lodge itself is beautiful, it is run as a bed and breakfast an you will find yourself eating every meal with the owners which might not be your cup of tea if you're looking for a little luxury relaxation. Left with a bit of a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank worldtravel9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were offered a hotel in the town by a tour agent for one night in Arusha while on the way to Serengeti. As I was planning to rent a self-drive Land Rover for camping from Shaw Safaris, I thought it would be practical to spend the night at Twiga. I was not expecting anything special and was prepared for basic facilities. However, from the moment we arrived at Twiga till the time we departed the following day, it was a very beautiful experience. The lodge and its huge green surroundings were fantastic, and in Erika and Paul, we had perfect hosts. We were a group of 9, with majority being strict vegetarians. The food was very nice while satisfying all our dietary requirements. The fatigue and pain of a long journey vanished within few minutes of putting arriving at the lodge. Sighting of Giraffe, Elephants and Bushbaby was a bonus. Following our experience of first day, we all ended up staying a further night at Twiga on the return leg.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NimP0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
505 reviews
0 mi away
Twiga Campsite and Lodge
Twiga Campsite and Lodge
#43 of 191 in Arusha
82 reviews
0 mi away
Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 191 in Arusha
790 reviews
0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 42 in Arusha
617 reviews
0 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#8 of 131 in Arusha
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twiga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twiga Lodge

Address: Far Plot no 2320, Ngongongare Village | Arumeru District, Usa River, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Twiga Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing