We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous surrounds and delicious”
Review of The River House - CLOSED

The River House
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Arusha T
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“gorgeous surrounds and delicious”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

worth making the reservations and sitting in traffic to get there. The surroundings are green, grassy and huge trees with a little stream - perfect. The restaurant is a gorgeous banda that is airy and tastefully decorated for all special lunch occassions. You can enjoy a wonderful guided tour of the property before being seated as this is on the grounds of Shanga an project that helps special needs members of the community and gives them work making glass beads, jewellry and home wares. great little gift store inside too. Lunch is devine with a selection of juicy meats on the barbeque, some yummy salads and the dessert which has declined of late. Beautiful spot must go!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gypsy_traveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Unique Restaurant”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Six of us had lunch at this restaurant. It was combined with a tour of the Shanga workshop. We were welcomed warmly by one of the staff members. We were led to a seating area in middle of a lovely garden-an oasis of peace and tranquility. While we enjoyed our surroundings, we were offered juice and champagne and were informed that our table will be ready shortly. After a very short wait, we were led to our table in this wonderful restaurant. The restaurant is open on three sides and had a great ambience. The food and service was excellent. Salads, soups, barbecued meats and several other entries as well as desserts made up the lunch menu. It was obvious that the kitchen was using fresh ingredients. All of us enjoyed our entire meal as everything was cooked well and the service was excellent.
After lunch we sat in the garden for a little longer to enjoy some excellent coffee (made from the coffee beans grown in the Shanga farm).
We ended our afternoon with a tour of the Shanga workshop, where handicapped artists were making articles from recycled materials. A really uplifting experience to see these folks at work. This is a place which offers the handicapped artists an opportunity to earn a living and maintain their self respect and pride. Well done!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curiousrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pleasant and interesting spot for lunch”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The buffet is ample and appetizing, and the restaurant is adjacent to a remarkable collection of craft workshops, all staffed by people with various disabilities. Their work is sold in an adjacent shop, and some of the quality is good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank WLG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect oasis on the outskirts of Arusha”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our meal at River House was the best we had during our three week stay in Tanzania. The location is serene, and we ended up staying for several hours enjoying the grounds.

Following our lunch, we explored Shanga, a workshop that employs disabled artisans. The items made from recycled materials are lovely, and we all left with treasures from the shop.

A visit to River House would be at the top of my list if I returned to Arusha!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBlue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
763 reviews
470 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Probably One of the Best Meals We Had in Tanzania!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We came here at the end of our Thomson Safari and ate so, so well. They start with a soup (ours was either spinach or carrot-ginger) along with some mildly spicy vegetarian samosas with some dipping sauce (those were maybe the highlight of the lunch!) Then they turn you loose on the salad bars and grill station. All the salads were phenomenal. The grilled items were delicious too, but I really loved the coconut curried lentils more than anything. Finally, they give you some fruit salad and three little tiny desserts (a meringue, a honey-sesame ball, and a tiny toffee bar for us).

Plus, some of the profit goes to the Shanga Shangaa workshop next to it, which employs disabled Tanzanians, especially women, as craftsworkers. Eat a lot for a good cause!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ajhorse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River House also viewed

 
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing