We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment, don't let the pictures fool you!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ahadi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ahadi Lodge
Ranked #11 of 100 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Big disappointment, don't let the pictures fool you!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Ahadi Lodge was our first stop in Tanzania, and it was arranged by our tour agent. It gave us the first disappoint of the trip. The lodge has a fancy exterior (as shown on their advertisement) and the room was extremely simple (very primitive!). The room was so small that it's hard not to hit some thing while walking to the other side of the bed. It had a metal bed and metal shelves, not even a single chair or stool. The metal bed had a cheap thin foam matrix and a cheap thin blanket. The floor was stone and concrete just like the outside walk way. (So it just had no real floor.) The bathroom was small and smelly. The electricity stops at 9:30. (they kindly provided a flash light) The biggest "surprise" came at night when we try to close the curtain before going to bed: the curtain and the rod fell down...

I figure the business source of the lodge is mainly from tour agents. The manager had big diamonds on her figures, which makes me wonder how big the profit they make by running such a shabby motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nianchen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahadi L, Owner at Ahadi Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear nianchen99,

The management were sorry to read of your disappointment with your stay at Ahadi Lodge. Please advise us on our private email: ahadilodge@gmail.com your thoughts for improvement.

Hoping to hear from you.

Regards

The Ahadi Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    48
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
45
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed here 5 nites in all, both pre and post safari, and Erica the hostess made me feel welcomed and relaxed from the moment I arrived.
The food is great (especially after being on safari), and drinks are reasonably priced.

The rooms are well appointed and comfortable and the extra touches are much appreciated.
The garden and pool area provide a nice place to relax if you don't want to venture into downtown Arusha, or surrounding areas.

There was also great suggestions on day trips, a safe and secure luggage room and private transport can be arranged.

After travelling for 4 weeks in tanzania, and having stayed at beach huts to 4 star hotels, this was the best value accom I've been in. And it was backed up by friendly and uncompromising service.

Room Tip: Due to the size of this lodge, all rooms are nicely located
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed several nights at Ahadi before and after safari and during some medical mission work in June 2012. Our whole team loved the place and the people. Erica is a lovely hostess and her staff are friendly, efficient and well-trained. We ate several meals and found the food quite good. We appreciated rooms and beds that were clean and comfortable; we stayed at other lodges that offered neither! I would certainly stay at Ahadi again. MGL

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MGL915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night at the start if our safari. It is a lovely property with nice rooms and a friendly staff. The dinner food was ok but the breakfast was great! Thank you for a lovely (short) stay!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOkoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT ST JOHN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night right after our climb, when we arrived (exausted and filthy) Erica met us and proceeded to tell us that we may or may not have hot water, not to use much water and serveral other do and don'ts.

All the rooms needed to have the hot water tanks turned on for 1/2 hour prior to using it, it would have been a really nice touch to have had someone turn them on for us as soon as we arrived. We also had asked to have laundry done (prior to arrival) as we were going on Safari the next day. We did arrive late in the afternoon but it would have been nice to have someone there to do it - some of our group paid well and did get a load done so I'm not sure why we all couldn't get a few things done.

The hotel itself is an oasis and as others have said the trip into it is rough and perhaps even a little sketchy but it is beautiful once you get thru the gates. The rooms were nice and clean, beds were comfortable.

Overall a nice clean quiet place to stay, and it would have been made better with a little more customer service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northerngirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US resident living in Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at the Ahadi in Arusha one night upon arrival in Tanzania for our safari and one the night before departure home. Meeting Erika, the owner, was like meeting a lifetime friend. Her lodge is an oasis. (Not to dissuade but to prepare you, I must note the bumpy path into the lodge passes the harsh realities of a poorer population in Arusha which pulls at your heartstrings). The security gate opens to a beautiful walled-in property where a friendly staff takes great care of you. The dinner we had was delicious and Lucy took great care of us during our meal. The room was clean and comfortable and we never felt unsafe. We had everything we needed and enjoyed our stay. Thanks Erika!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this family run place in Feb 2012, at the start and end of an organized safari. It was a home away from home! We hadn't searched for this, but chose instead to stay based on the recommendation of the tour company. Erica, the Aussie owner/manager, was very warm and welcoming. The food was fantastic... Such a treat to sit down to a mouthwatering 3 course meal each evening! And the service and friendliness displayed by Lucy was great. The rooms have everything you need, including plenty of storage. The gardens are immaculately kept and very relaxing, and there's a pool (a bit chilly). They do laundry. Erica also provided us with an interesting itinerary for a day out in Arusha. As we had limited time, we found this to be invaluable. We found the price to be reasonable, and would definitely recommend a stay here if you are going to Arusha!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare_rohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.6 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
5.1 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#7 of 100 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahadi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahadi Lodge

Property: Ahadi Lodge
Address: Moravian Village | Mianzini, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahadi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ahadi Lodge comprises 5 Rondavel style cottages. Each room features television, telephone, internet connection, tea/coffee making facilities; enjoy the delicious cookies baked fresh daily by our talented chefs. We have a fully equipped restaurant and bar offering the services of three qualified chefs and very attentive wait staff. The Lodge is set amidst beautifully landscaped gardens. There is a swimming pool for your pleasure - enjoy a refreshing swim at the end of your long journey, or after a day of sightseeing. Relax by the pool and sip an ice cold drink from our bar under the African sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ahadi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ahadi Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing