We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice lodging in Arusha” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ahadi Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ahadi Lodge
Ranked #12 of 98 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, Mo
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“nice lodging in Arusha”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed at Ahadi Lodge at the start of our safari. Lovely place, clean rooms, nice pool, very secure. Owner Erica makes you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Pay in Tanzanian shillings; conversion rate to USD is bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjce717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    48
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
45
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

The lodge has well appointed rooms, great food, a nice pool - all behind a wall off a market road in Arusha. Once at the lodge you are isolated from the sounds etc of the town. You can see the top of Mt Meru from the pool. The rooms are lovely and well appointed. The bath area of our room was very nice. The lounge area would have been a relaxing spot to sit if the owner's grandchildren were not running everywhere. They were cute for a bit but after more than an hour it was too much. The food was very good and served perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raf123fgtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Erica couldn't have made us feel more at home. Being a group of fellow Aussies we had a lot to share. We loved the homeliness and cleanliness of Ahadi. The neighbouring village was a great local experience. Food and wine was awesome and the pool a nice place to kick back and relax. No hesitation on recommending this place.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivaTravelcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed at Ahadi both before and after safari and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The food was excellent, especially the breakfasts and they have a reasonable bar. Arusha itself is interesting. We had a half day tour with a driver and went to the relatively new Cultural Centre, and Shanga Shanga, a project which employs disabled people. Both these are worth a trip, especially if you're looking for souvenirs. Shanga especially has some great jewellery and other knick-knacks as well as a cafe/restaurant. The trip was suggested by and arranged through Erica, who is, as everyone else says here, a great hostess. The staff are all extremely friendly and welcoming, it has a small pool to chill out in and you're made to feel really at home. And they manage all this in the face of major powercuuts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charnick0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the Ahadi Lodge, the night before our safari began. We were very pleased with the accomodations, staff, and food.

When arriving there, you have already travelled up a bumpy road. You come to a closed gate, but when it opens, you find a small paradise in the middle of Arusha. Erica, the owner, was so sweet and enjoyable to talk with. Very nice to learn her story of how the lodge came to be for her. Her staff was very friendly and the food was fantastic!

The rooms were very clean, and comfortable. The pool area was very relaxing on a lazy afternoon.

It is a quaint, cozy, and memorable B&B. I recommend if you are ever in Arusha.

Room Tip: Very clean, well maintained, and cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJLee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We booked a 7-day safar with Access2Tanzania and stayed here the first night. Lovely rooms, clean and comfortable with all the basic amenities including nice bathroom and mosquito netting. The pool looked inviting and the proprietress made us feel like family. They had a dining / lounge room and bar adjoining the pool.

Additionally, since I can't find a place to post a review on our safari company in Tanzania, I can't wait to say what a wonderful trip we just had with Access2Tanzania. We returned a week ago from a 7-day safari. Here's one amazing example: We originally planned to spend 1 nights in the Serengeti (mobile camp) and 2 nights in the Western Corridor hoping to hit the tail end of the wildebeest migration. However, due to a recent rain, the migration was still in the Serenget and NO animals were in the Western Corridor to speak of. We didn't know this but Access2Tanzania did and changed our mobile camp sites for the last 2 nights to the Serengeti so we could enjoy the wonderful animals a little longer. The accomodations were wonderful -- all with en suite toilets -- and mobile camp sites in the Serengeti helped us become more a part of Africa -- sitting around the campfire and listening to the lions roar at night. The food was delicious, the service impeccable and our guide, Rogathe, made our visit a "once in a lifetime". He seemed to know where the "unusual" animals were and we experienced animal adventures that were once in a lifetime -- including escorting two lioness and their 5 small kittens to a local watering hole. We could have reached down and petted them. All this at a value price -- I know because I spent one month researching site and contacting safari companies before I decided to go with Access2Tanzania. A brilliant choice ... if I do say!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terriAndkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We found Ahadi Lodge to be far more than we expected. It is very clean and has a ton of charm. It was very quiet and comfortable. The staff was great-personable and attentive. The food was outstanding and very fresh as well. I will definitely stay at the Ahadi Lodge again if I ever travel through Arusha!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LPhil617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
5.1 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#6 of 98 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.1 mi away
L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahadi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahadi Lodge

Property: Ahadi Lodge
Address: Moravian Village | Mianzini, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahadi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ahadi Lodge comprises 5 Rondavel style cottages. Each room features television, telephone, internet connection, tea/coffee making facilities; enjoy the delicious cookies baked fresh daily by our talented chefs. We have a fully equipped restaurant and bar offering the services of three qualified chefs and very attentive wait staff. The Lodge is set amidst beautifully landscaped gardens. There is a swimming pool for your pleasure - enjoy a refreshing swim at the end of your long journey, or after a day of sightseeing. Relax by the pool and sip an ice cold drink from our bar under the African sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Ahadi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ahadi Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing