We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base.”

Pamoja Expedition Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pamoja Expedition Lodge
Ranked #89 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The Pamoja is situated on a beautiful, quiet road and is walking distance from town. Rooms are simple with fairly comfy beds and big en suite shower rooms (though, be warned, hot water is not always forthcoming). Food is simple but reasonable (and the Serengeti Lodge just over the road is much better for eating anyway) and staff are friendly.

We stayed here last year and came back again this year - most of the staff are the same and the place still provides good value accommodation as a base for exploring Arusha and the surrounding area.

There is a persistent background smell at the hotel which smells remarkably similar to marijuana, though there is no other evidence of its use. This never interfered with our enjoyment of the hotel (maybe it's an insect repellent???).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floopert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 44 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2009

After having read no reviews on this place, I left seriously apprehensive... no need! This hotel is great value in Arusha, and a bit of an insider's secret. Our travel agent recommended it, and we are so glad we did!

PROS
1. Rooms. Large, spacious, clean, equipped with mosquitto nets.
2. Hotel. Great atmosphere, open, airy, spacious, chilled out vibes... feels authentically Tanzanian.
3. Hot water at all hours of the day. No small luxury round these parts.
4. Location. This hotel is in a very safe street with no rumoured crime that we heard of. You are unlikely to experience any of the horror stories of Arusha here.
5. Service. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
6. Breakfast. Very decent...eggs, potatoes, sausage, toast, cereal, etc

CONS
1. Noise. The room walls are pretty thin and the bathroom ceilings are tin, so if it rains or if you have noisy neighbors, you might need earplugs.

Hope you enjoy this local speciality as much as we did....

Best!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda Schulz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ULKa_Mukhina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joost_bonekamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enzo67Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.6 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 42 in Arusha
619 reviews
10.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
505 reviews
3.7 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#8 of 134 in Arusha
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 42 in Arusha
103 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pamoja Expedition Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pamoja Expedition Lodge

Address: Old Moshi Road | P.O. Box 11937, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $40 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamoja Expeditions Lodge Is Considered A Home Away From Home Where Comfort Warmth And Sheer Hospitality Apply ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing