We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and friendly place”

Pamoja Expedition Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pamoja Expedition Lodge
Ranked #96 of 208 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Reviewed October 14, 2011

+ Good value. Its a good budget alternative.
+ Very friendly, good service
+ Pool and free WiFi

- Some holes in the mosquito net but on a trip to Africa it make sense to bring your own.
- Very good soup but except that meny isnt very good. Breakfast is OK-
- you can easily hear your people outside your room as there is only mosquito net covering top part of the wall.

Me and my girlfriend stayed here one night only. Was walking distance into town. Hotel has a nice area and pool. Room felt clean and was big. Bed was nice but when people walk by you can easily here this. However, we only stayed one night and then went to safari for 7 full days but it was no problem to leave our bags here. We are now here another night, and bags was still here and no cost at all. Gave them tip and seems like they are not used to it, was very happy and its nice to see.

About breakfast in dark room, yes its not too bright, but if u dont like it, you can eat outside or even take it to your room. you have some furniture outside the room and its a nice spot to eat as well.

All in all im very happy with this place considering the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudda_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 44 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

Mosquito nets are broken, breakfast is horrible and poor and being served in a dark room. Room is not clean, bathroom looks terrible and is really dirty. Furniture is a weird mix.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Pamoja is the perfect place when you want to visit also the city. It's only 2 km from the city. The pool and WIFI are another two assets. The kitchen is poor.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here before en after the safari :
Very relaxing, the swimming pool ( very clean ) , nice garden ( see picture)
Frendly , clean ( don't forge:t this is budget & Afrika)
The food was very good for reasonable prices ( see picture)
The rooms garden - swimpool side: quite, OK
( a bed is a bed is a bed - a rose is a rose is a rose)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita188650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We spent several nights at Pamoja Expeditions Lodge and enjoyed the homey feel and hospitality of the friendly and attentive staff. Our family's two rooms were very clean with comfortable beds, mosquito nets and good showers that delivered hot water all of the time we needed it. The wireless Internet was for the most part quite fast and reliable, though sometimes it would cut out and then come back after a few minutes. The buffet breakfast that comes with the room price included fried eggs, seasoned potatoes, toast with various spreads, cereal, fresh fruit, juice, tea and instant coffee. The restaurant on site also serves dinner, but service was extremely slow and the food quality was mediocre--I'd suggest going elsewhere for an evening meal. There's also a pleasant swimming pool and shaded outdoor sitting areas, nice for unwinding in the afternoons. Personally, I'd choose a guest house like Pamoja over a higher-end hotel, even if the significantly greater cost of the latter weren't an issue. For travelers who enjoy simple, authentic accommodations, a place like Pamoja is just great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardentadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights before and after a safari and climbing mt Meru. It’s a basic and affordable place. The rooms are clean and there is hot water in shower the most of the time. The staff is helpful, so actually it’s all you need. Not the best place ever, not the worst either... And a tip: take a room in the new wing (in front): better mattresses there.
Breakfast and dinner: the same, it’s all right if you’re just looking for food. If you really want something special, you will have to look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeemP072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed at Pamoja Expedition Lodge for 4 nights before and after we went on our safari trip and we liked the place cause it wasn't so expensive than the other hotel. The bathroom was a little bit dirty.We liked the place cause there was no hassle and we slept pretty good at the place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMstravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.6 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 45 in Arusha
647 reviews
10.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Usa River
528 reviews
3.7 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#5 of 148 in Arusha
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 45 in Arusha
111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
487 reviews
1.9 mi away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#18 of 45 in Arusha
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pamoja Expedition Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pamoja Expedition Lodge

Address: Old Moshi Road | P.O. Box 11937, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 208 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $34 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamoja Expeditions Lodge Is Considered A Home Away From Home Where Comfort Warmth And Sheer Hospitality Apply ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing