We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and good location”

Pamoja Expedition Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pamoja Expedition Lodge
Ranked #74 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Quiet and good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed here on an off a couple of times in between trips. Room was relatively clean and very quiet. Beds were comfortable and there was a tv with satellite dish. However, the bathrooms were almost always dirty (toilet bowls, floors, sink). The shower's hot water worked sporadically and pressure was pretty weak.

The grounds were kept very clean and there is a swimming pool. The chef was outstanding and the complimentary breakfast was vast and delicious. The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinktulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    10
    12
    2
See reviews for
7
12
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boulder, co
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Pamoja was a great place to stay for our adventures, before and after trekking Kilimanjaro, and after safari. Boniface and George and the entire staff, were helpful, kind, pleasant, and knowledgeable of the area. always ready to help with directions, advice on where to go, where to eat, get us rides and cabs, gave us a map. The food was very good there, a pool for keeping cool, computers to use, and lots of people sharing the same or similar adventures. They stashed all of our things for us while we were gone and i felt secure. the place was spotless, thanks Rose.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lopakapaka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

The Pamoja is situated on a beautiful, quiet road and is walking distance from town. Rooms are simple with fairly comfy beds and big en suite shower rooms (though, be warned, hot water is not always forthcoming). Food is simple but reasonable (and the Serengeti Lodge just over the road is much better for eating anyway) and staff are friendly.

We stayed here last year and came back again this year - most of the staff are the same and the place still provides good value accommodation as a base for exploring Arusha and the surrounding area.

There is a persistent background smell at the hotel which smells remarkably similar to marijuana, though there is no other evidence of its use. This never interfered with our enjoyment of the hotel (maybe it's an insect repellent???).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floopert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

After having read no reviews on this place, I left seriously apprehensive... no need! This hotel is great value in Arusha, and a bit of an insider's secret. Our travel agent recommended it, and we are so glad we did!

PROS
1. Rooms. Large, spacious, clean, equipped with mosquitto nets.
2. Hotel. Great atmosphere, open, airy, spacious, chilled out vibes... feels authentically Tanzanian.
3. Hot water at all hours of the day. No small luxury round these parts.
4. Location. This hotel is in a very safe street with no rumoured crime that we heard of. You are unlikely to experience any of the horror stories of Arusha here.
5. Service. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
6. Breakfast. Very decent...eggs, potatoes, sausage, toast, cereal, etc

CONS
1. Noise. The room walls are pretty thin and the bathroom ceilings are tin, so if it rains or if you have noisy neighbors, you might need earplugs.

Hope you enjoy this local speciality as much as we did....

Best!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.6 mi away
Outpost Lodge
Outpost Lodge
#5 of 100 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
5.3 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 150 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pamoja Expedition Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pamoja Expedition Lodge

Property: Pamoja Expedition Lodge
Address: Old Moshi Road | P.O. Box 11937, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
pamoja expeditions lodge is considered a home away from home where comfort warmth and sheer hospitality apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Pamoja Expedition Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing