We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel
Ranked #24 of 101 Arusha B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Arusha is a fast developing town and hotels, lodges and self catering inns springing up everywhere, the bay leaf was recommended by a friend, it's a small little lodge with about 6 or 8 rooms, very well furnished and well decorated, great restaurant , exceptional food, well stocked bar, it's a non smoking hotel but they've got a balcony for us smokers, the breakfast you can pre order so u don't have to wait the next morning, free wifi.. Priced at about 250 Usd is a bit steep but very well worth it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dax C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    8
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
38
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed three guy's in three beautifull suites before climbing Kilimanjaro. The Hotel is small and beautifull and the suites are SO beautifull. We experienced a service level beyond what you could ever dream of. The food was excellent, and we were taken so well care of by every person in the Hotel. When we wanted to return for an extra night (after climbing Kilimanjaro) that was unfortunately not possible. While we were at Kilimanjaro the Hotel manager worked hard to get us another room in another Hotel an succeded. :)
We have stayed at many luxury Hotels, and many very beautifull botique Hotels all around the world. We agree that we have never experienced such a high level of service, entusiasm and professionalism. :)

Room Tip: Any one ogf the suites are beautifull - but the one with the bathtop in the midle og the bathroom wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterkjelst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We've stayed in The Bay Leaf 2 nights – before and after our safari. This is an amazing, quiet place, perfect to rest, with very comfortable, beautifully furnished rooms /every in a different style but with the same elegance and comfort/. Surrounded by a very nice garden, with possibility to eat outside. The food is amazing and in a good price! I recommend this place, if some day I'll be in Arusha, definitely will stay there again. Many thanks to the staff and manager.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at the Bay leaf twice during our Tanzanian adventure, and would have gone for a third visit but we wanted a pool to soak in after our Mount Kilimanjaro trek. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant is great too. Twice we had quick turn around laundry to be done the staff was extra prompt with it. We were able to walk to the center of town to take care of stuff. We felt safe the whole time. he only problem we experienced is the second visit we could not get the hot water in the shower to turn off. The staff couldn't either. So we ad to open the wind and shut the door to keep the room from steaming up.
The final two nights of our stay in Arusha we had booked a different hotel with a swimming pool, but we all agreed we would have rather stayed in the Bay Leaf instead. The other hotel was okay, but the Bay Leaf is safe, cozy and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillVacation4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a lovely place to start my African adventure. I chose the Regent suite with the tub and arranged for a massage in the room. My stay was the start of my climb to Kilimanjaro and I awoke to the call to prayer and the voices of men singing. It was a beautiful sound in this quite neighbourhood.

The food was wonderful ,the décor elegant, the staff very helpful and accommodating, and the manager was very professional.

I arranged to stay an additional night after finishing my climb to Kilimanjaro--it was the perfect place to enjoy a soak in the magnificent tub! The manager was happy to store my belongings until I returned after my Safari. The Bay Leaf is definitely the place to be for a Diva!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowy1466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayur M, Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the bay leaf boutique hotel on TripAdvisor and for your feedback.

At the bay leaf, we take great pride in the services we offer and it is feedback from our guests, which assist us to strive for excellence.

We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the bay leaf boutique hotel.

Thank you,
Mayur Margamwar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

- Very friendly and helpfull staff
- Rooms spacious and clean, with everything you might need (good & clean showers, fly screen
in front of the windows)
- EXCELLENT food (don't miss to try out the pancakes in the morning !!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayur M, Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the bay leaf boutique hotel on TripAdvisor and for your feedback.

At the bay leaf, we take great pride in the services we offer and it is feedback from our guests, which assist us to strive for excellence.

We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the bay leaf boutique hotel.

Thank you,
Mayur Margamwar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights, and it was an excellent hotel. Very good food, awesome shower, very clean rooms. The employees were very polite and friendly. Our safari guide likes their box lunch the best! You can walk to the Maasai market, but it is a bit of a hike.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy072260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayur M, Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the bay leaf boutique hotel on TripAdvisor and for your feedback.

At the bay leaf, we take great pride in the services we offer and it is feedback from our guests, which assist us to strive for excellence.

We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the bay leaf boutique hotel.

Thank you,
Mayur Margamwar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gold Crest Hotel
Gold Crest Hotel
#20 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#16 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
11.1 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#7 of 101 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel

Property: The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel
Address: 102 Vijana Road | PO Box 409, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of the majestic Mount Meru, The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel is nestled in the tranquil leafy ‘corridor’ area of Arusha, Tanzania. Exquisitely decorated rooms with finely appointed bathrooms ensure comfort with style. Gourmet breakfasts are served in immaculate lush gardens and The Bay Leaf boasts a Fine Dining Restaurant, where one can sample a fusion of international & local cuisine. The Bay Leaf is ideally situated; walking distance to banks & all the main attractions that Arusha has to offer. Massage & extensive beauty treatments will be offered from December 2009 after the completion of the Spa. The Bay Leaf aims to be the best small luxury hotel in Arusha, with unmatched personalized service, and attention to detail. Personalized service tailored to individual needs will certainly please both the discerning traveler and dining connoisseur alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing