We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect quiet place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel
Ranked #24 of 101 Arusha B&B and Inns
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We've stayed in The Bay Leaf 2 nights – before and after our safari. This is an amazing, quiet place, perfect to rest, with very comfortable, beautifully furnished rooms /every in a different style but with the same elegance and comfort/. Surrounded by a very nice garden, with possibility to eat outside. The food is amazing and in a good price! I recommend this place, if some day I'll be in Arusha, definitely will stay there again. Many thanks to the staff and manager.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    8
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
38
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at the Bay leaf twice during our Tanzanian adventure, and would have gone for a third visit but we wanted a pool to soak in after our Mount Kilimanjaro trek. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant is great too. Twice we had quick turn around laundry to be done the staff was extra prompt with it. We were able to walk to the center of town to take care of stuff. We felt safe the whole time. he only problem we experienced is the second visit we could not get the hot water in the shower to turn off. The staff couldn't either. So we ad to open the wind and shut the door to keep the room from steaming up.
The final two nights of our stay in Arusha we had booked a different hotel with a swimming pool, but we all agreed we would have rather stayed in the Bay Leaf instead. The other hotel was okay, but the Bay Leaf is safe, cozy and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillVacation4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a lovely place to start my African adventure. I chose the Regent suite with the tub and arranged for a massage in the room. My stay was the start of my climb to Kilimanjaro and I awoke to the call to prayer and the voices of men singing. It was a beautiful sound in this quite neighbourhood.

The food was wonderful ,the décor elegant, the staff very helpful and accommodating, and the manager was very professional.

I arranged to stay an additional night after finishing my climb to Kilimanjaro--it was the perfect place to enjoy a soak in the magnificent tub! The manager was happy to store my belongings until I returned after my Safari. The Bay Leaf is definitely the place to be for a Diva!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowy1466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayur M, Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the bay leaf boutique hotel on TripAdvisor and for your feedback.

At the bay leaf, we take great pride in the services we offer and it is feedback from our guests, which assist us to strive for excellence.

We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the bay leaf boutique hotel.

Thank you,
Mayur Margamwar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

- Very friendly and helpfull staff
- Rooms spacious and clean, with everything you might need (good & clean showers, fly screen
in front of the windows)
- EXCELLENT food (don't miss to try out the pancakes in the morning !!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayur M, Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the bay leaf boutique hotel on TripAdvisor and for your feedback.

At the bay leaf, we take great pride in the services we offer and it is feedback from our guests, which assist us to strive for excellence.

We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the bay leaf boutique hotel.

Thank you,
Mayur Margamwar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights, and it was an excellent hotel. Very good food, awesome shower, very clean rooms. The employees were very polite and friendly. Our safari guide likes their box lunch the best! You can walk to the Maasai market, but it is a bit of a hike.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy072260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayur M, Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the bay leaf boutique hotel on TripAdvisor and for your feedback.

At the bay leaf, we take great pride in the services we offer and it is feedback from our guests, which assist us to strive for excellence.

We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the bay leaf boutique hotel.

Thank you,
Mayur Margamwar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked to stay at the Bay Leaf for two nights at the beginning and end of our safari in the Serengeti. From the moment we sent the first email enquiring about the hotel we received an immediate reply. The quick responses to all our emails continued in a very professional and friendly manner.

Arriving at the hotel just in time for lunch we dined outside on the patio which is a real sun-trap especially nice as the weather in Arusha was pretty cool during July. The food is lovely with the Chef preparing a special Indian starter for my partner as he just loves Indian cuisine. The Bay Leaf also has a good wine list at very reasonable prices.

The rooms are chic and stylish with each room design carefully thought-out. They are spacious with large double beds, all mod-cons and more than adequate bathrooms. We stayed in the Open suite with its own private balcony on our first night and to our delight on our return we were upgraded to the Sydney suite which was just wonderful. Dinner that evening was fantastic and we made the most of the late checkout allowing us to have a very relaxing breakfast.

The food has great flavours and is very tasty, all the staff are friendly and Mayur is an extremely helpful and welcoming manager. Even looked after a few of our belongings which did not want to take on safari with us. The little departure gift we received was a very nice touch. We would highly recommend staying and dining at the Bay Leaf. We hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZozsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayur M, Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the bay leaf and for your kind recommendation.

We believe that it is delighted guests, such as yourself, who are our best ambassadors. I am glad that you have taken back such pleasant memories of the hotel, particularly the rooms, the food and service.

It is our constant endeavour to create a truly memorable experience for our guests and I hope that our distinctive product and service will tempt you to return and experience more.

Thank you.
Mayur Margamwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just wanted to add to all the other excellent reviews.
The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Large bathrooms and showers always had plenty of hot water.
Mayur the manager is really friendly and so accommodating, going out of his way to help. All the staff are friendly and very welcoming.

As has been mentioned, the food is delicious. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DUBinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayur M, Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Cairan,

Greetings from Bay leaf boutique hotel!!!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your visit at Bay leaf boutique hotel.

We are delighted to read your review following your stay with us. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed the facilities, décor and the service provided by our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Mayur Margamwar
General Manager
Bay leaf boutique hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gold Crest Hotel
Gold Crest Hotel
#21 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#16 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
11.1 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#7 of 101 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel

Property: The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel
Address: 102 Vijana Road | PO Box 409, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of the majestic Mount Meru, The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel is nestled in the tranquil leafy ‘corridor’ area of Arusha, Tanzania. Exquisitely decorated rooms with finely appointed bathrooms ensure comfort with style. Gourmet breakfasts are served in immaculate lush gardens and The Bay Leaf boasts a Fine Dining Restaurant, where one can sample a fusion of international & local cuisine. The Bay Leaf is ideally situated; walking distance to banks & all the main attractions that Arusha has to offer. Massage & extensive beauty treatments will be offered from December 2009 after the completion of the Spa. The Bay Leaf aims to be the best small luxury hotel in Arusha, with unmatched personalized service, and attention to detail. Personalized service tailored to individual needs will certainly please both the discerning traveler and dining connoisseur alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing